We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Birthday EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Culver Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Culver Hotel to your Saves list
The Culver Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9400 Culver Blvd, Culver City, CA 90232   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Best Birthday EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I recently stayed at the Culver and had a little party in the lounge area one rainy day in November. The staff was excellent and very professional. The suite I stayed in was just right for my needs and I love this location. I live in Los Angeles and I treated myself to this evening. It was money well spent and I would do it again in a heartbeat! So many cool places to visit within walking distance and music almost every night.
I love this place.
Gina
LA CA

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you Gina and Happy Birthday.
Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    47
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
50
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Great value, central location, nice atmosphere, and free breakfast. The staff were highly trained and service-oriented. The GM is friendly and sets the tone at the hotel. I was impressed and recommend without hesitation...way better than any chain option-

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for this wonderful review and for recognizing the efforts or our staff.

The Expo Line light rail is a great addition to our Downtown Culver City, giving us access to USC and Staples Center with ease.

By the way, there is an Ice Rink opening for the Holidays immediately adjacent to us, come back and skate with us.

Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Culver Hotel for two separate nights. It is a delightful slice of old Hollywood (near SONY Studios) but is a magnet for those in the business...not tourists. The beautiful lobby bar was filled with locals, all of whom have some relationship to the entertainment world. The staff is excellent and the food in the restaurant was light and flavorful. If you really want a true Hollywood vacation, it should start at the Culver Hotel.

Room Tip: We purchased via Expedia but the room overlooked SONY Studios. We were not disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Most people do not realize that the movie industry started in Culver City. Before Sony it was MGM and the Silent Movie Studio's were all here. Wizard of Oz, Gone with the Wind, all shot on the lots in Culver City.
We pride ourselves as being very much a part of our community, and the local have responded beautifully. Culver City as a whole is a wonderful place to live and work and play.
Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Lovely hotel - nice rooms - well decorated and quiet. Really welcoming staff - good bar downstairs. Handy location with good restaurants and bars on the same street. The Concierge even arranged our restaurant reservations for us before we arrived as requested by email.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you. Lovely to see more and more visitors from Europe discovering our wonderful litlte hotel.
We truly are a 4 Star Hotel and love the fact you enjoyed your stay.
Come again.
Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in October. Got the unique end room on the fifth floor. The room, while small, was very bright and cheerful - lots of windows (that actually opened - a nice plus!) with beautiful drapes. Very clean new bathroom with old style fixtures. Used the workout room on the second floor - also nice with windows - and enjoyed the lobby with its soft classical music during the day and live entertainment at night. Truly a unique place close to lots of good places to eat in Culver City. Only issues were the fountain outside the window - which made a lot of noise - and the flash mob drum group that showed up on Saturday night for a while - although neither of those are the fault of the hotel. Am going to stay here again in December and am looking forward to it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
We are so happy our guests are using the "BRAND NEW" Fitness Room that was built just last month. A great new facility which is right across the corridor from our new Private Event space that we created that can accomodate up to 50 people. We continue to upgrade our wonderful, little, Historic hotel and are proud you are enjoying it as much as we are.
See you in December.
Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here on a last minute business trip and was so very pleasantly surprised by this old, but so well maintained and modernized gem of a boutique hotel. The decor is in keeping with old Hollywood, but in fresh, modern colors and fabrics and textures. The staff was helpful, friendly and seemed to really enjoy their job working there. The food in the lobby in the morning is excellent and well worth making time to stop by ... plus the ambiance is just relaxing and simple in it's elegance. I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to anyone making a trip out to Culver City.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Carrie,
It is fortunate you happened upon us. Built in 1924, renovatiion finished at the end of 2011, nice combination!
Look forward to your next visit.
Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I found this hotel extremely comfortable and luxurious. My room was excellent and all the staff friendly and helpful. The central location, near to shops and restaurants, was great, as I was on my own. Loved its ambiance and history.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seth H, General Manager at The Culver Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Loved your concise and possitive reveiw, Come and visit us again.
Thank you.
Seth
GM
The Culver Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Culver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Culver Hotel

Address: 9400 Culver Blvd, Culver City, CA 90232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Culver City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Culver City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Culver Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Culver Hotel is "THE" hotel of Culver City, in the heart of the wonderfully active Downtown. Within walking distance of a multitude of gastronomic options and Sony Studios and The Culver Studios. The renovation, completed in December of 2011, brings a modern touch to the classic beauty of this 1924 building. High cielings, large windows and service to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Culver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culver City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Culver Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.