We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not go back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Show

Pho Show
4349 Sepulveda Blvd, Culver City, CA 90230-4715
310-398-5200
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 264 Restaurants in Culver City
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My friend told me she had read some really great reviews and Pho Show was highly recommended somewhere or via some google search.

True enough there was a line waiting when we got there for lunch one day. Took a good 20 minutes to get a table only to find that there were many empty tables inside which was just slow in clearing. First thought that came to mind was "huh, what the heck???!!".

Our appetiser, the calamari, was good. Very good in fact. But maybe we ordered the wrong Pho because it was awfully tasteless. My friend ordered mixed seafood and I ordered chicken. I think it was missing all the lovely fresh herbs and usual fresh veggies that come with them (as they do at other Pho places). The soup was bland. Everything was bland and tasteless. It felt like the rice noodles were just thrown into a bowl of hot water. Despite trying to fix the taste with all the sauces and chilli paste etc etc .... it was fruitless.

A real disappointment.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    11
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Vietnamese craze”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Culver City neighborhood is an upcoming restaurant row! Everywhere you look new restaurants are popping up, some very trendy and pricy. Many cater to Sony Studio crowd, especially for lunch.
Tried Pho Show, after it was featured in LA Times Saturday Food Section.
We had Pho noodle and their chicken wings for lunch, it did not meet our expectation. 7 pieces of tasteless chicken wings for $8? Pho noodle was average bland broth and tons of vegetable, but absent usual fresh herbs? Pho I am used to is accompanied by fresh plate of herbs. Chicken wings missing good marinade, so bland with sprinkle of green onions which was put on as garnish. I suppose we have to look southward to Little Saigon for Vietnam food. Will not return.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pho Show is for sure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very good pho! I had the basic, no bells and whistles but very tasty. My hubby had the chicken pho which seemed to be a waste of pho. Pho in my humble opinion should be with the beef, tripe and all the yummy stuff. Oh well, he's trying to eat healthier. Next time, I want to try their other dishes. Music kinda loud for my taste but they did pour a healthy glass of wine.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not a Place For Vegetarians”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Tried this highly recommended Vietnamese Restaurant. After reviewing the extensive menu, my family settled on soup with fish and a few tofu dishes. At that point we were informed that all the broth they use is a beef broth! Horror!!!! we do not eat any meat!!! Waitress, who was really nice told us they would make us a vegie broth. Well the food took a while to come. The tofu and vegies was cold! The soup was hot but utterly tasteless. We were told that the beef broth adds all the flavor to the soup.
WARNING! If you are a vegetarian.....stay away from this place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Phantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The best Pho around. Absolutely delicious. Also try their calamari! Equally delicious. Friendly service. One of my favorite hidden gems.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Show also viewed

 

Been to Pho Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Show, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.