We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whimsy and Strangeness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Jurassic Technology

Museum of Jurassic Technology
9341 Venice Blvd., Culver City, CA 90232
310-836-6131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 attractions in Culver City
Type: Natural History Museums
Attraction Details
Seattle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Whimsy and Strangeness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I drop by the museum a couple times a year just to have my perspective reset. While more of a house of lost ideas than a regular museum, the exhibits are thought provoking and dazzling. It is really hard to describe the topics covered, but suffice to say the exhibits are not attempting to tread any worn path but to push you into seeing and experiencing things differently. Have tea in the aviary upstairs if you get the chance. Well worth a visit if you want to expand how you perceive the world.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    11
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Defies easy categorization - Might blow your mind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It's hard to explain - it's an experience. Genius. One thing to keep in mind as you enter - museum curators and administrators love this place. Don't miss the stink ant, or the bat exhibits. The first time I went, the Cone of Oblisence had us rolling. Don't miss the letters to the astronomers at Mt. Wilson - "No one may ever have this knowledge again" - get the T-shirt. If it still mystifies after you've been there - check out Mr. Wilson's Cabinet of Wonders. Great book! The whole thing got my synapses firing along new paths, for sure. (No doubt, it's weird - just go with it.) I tell people that once they've been, they are officially artsy. This reminds me -it's been a while - time to go back for a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Worth going to, but not what I hoped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The sheer strangeness of this place makes it worth a visit but it wasn't as interesting as I had hoped. It's a weird destination and defies straightforward description. To me, it's an art installation about museums--but this doesn't sum it up entirely. Another reviewer called it a 'cabinet of curiosities' and I'd definitely agree. There are exhibits on superstitions (my favorite, probably), 1930s trailer culture, and the dogs of Soviet space exploration, among many others. Some of the exhibits are more straightforward and some seem to be primarily about subverting patrons' expectations about museums--for instance, at least one exhibit appears to be deliberately "out of order." This is becoming a rambling review, but it's a rambling place.

On a practical level, be aware that it can get crowded on weekends and it's very dark, cramped, and labyrinthine. Some of the lighting is so dim I literally could not read the exhibit captions (and, paranoid that I am, I wondered if this is just part of the museum's schtick as a critical meditation on the museum-as-social-construct.) It's not well marked but if you go to the very back of the first floor, you will find stairs leading you to more exhibits and the tea room, where tea is served rather randomly and cookies are available. Go through a mysterious doorway, and there are more stairs to a lovely little courtyard on the top of the building, with lots of finches and doves.

I felt kind of guilty for not enjoying this place more. It's worth seeing once and I think it's culturally important as an examination of how we think about museums, but it just wasn't that interesting, in the end. There was also a strong, self-conscious hipster vibe the day I was there, so it didn't feel particularly welcoming.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quirky and fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We loved our visit to this quirky gem. You will see things you've probably never seen and learn things you never realised you wanted to know, all in this wonderfully designed and set out museum. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Get your head turned around...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A truly unique experience - more like a cabinet of curiosities than a regular museum, with very particular whimsical and artistic exhibits. My favorite - a display of telegrams, letters, and missives sent to the scientists of Wilson Observatory, since the opened in the thirties, claiming special insights only worth sharing with them - aka the secrets of the universe. Stop by the cafe and visit the roof meditation garden. Delightful!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Jurassic Technology also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Jurassic Technology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Jurassic Technology, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museum of Jurassic Technology to your Saves list