We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the idea but needs environmental control” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oslob Whale Shark Watching

Oslob Whale Shark Watching
| Tan-awan, Oslob 6025, Philippines
+63 925 897 8687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Oslob
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whale sharks can be seen in a small barangay Tan-awan, which is 10 km away from the center town of Oslob. Whale shark watching in Cebu started last September 2011 and it became popular all over the world when the news hit in the internet last November 2011. By December 2011, local fishermen's interact with the whale sharks by feeding them that result to flocking of tourist to the beach of Tan-awan. Large numbers of tourists began arriving in Oslob not just to see the whale sharks being fed but also to snorkel or dive with them.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Loved the idea but needs environmental control”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Initially I thought we will be taken to the very deep part of the sea to witness them. We were surprised that we were just brought very near the shores and we can snorkel there and be that close with the sharks. It was awesome! A very unique experience!

On the other hand, this activity should be controlled at a certain level that the sharks won't be too dependent on the boats for food. Maybe just do the activity 3 times a week? I am no expert but I think if this is done on a daily basis then it will be disruptive for the sharks' nature on searching for food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    159
    37
    12
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Now this is a fantastic experience if you want to get up close and personal with these graceful giants. The briefing specifies maintaining a 4m distance, but the sharks haven't attended the briefing and we both got bumped by passing sharks! It was a common experience to be framing a nearby shark for a photo only to have another one appear right beside us much closer than the one we were trying to photograph.

Tips: 1. Get there early (before 7am ) to avoid the crowds. 2. Fly to Dumaguete on Negros and catch the 20 minute ferry across to Puerto del Sur on Cebu - it's much faster than flying into Cebu City and enduring the 4 hour drive south. 3. Before you duck dive check below you; more than once I discovered a shark had glided in underneath me! 4. Best to take your own camera that can go to at least 3m, but if you don't have one they do have some to hire. 5. Try a side trip to the nearby waterfall. Very pretty.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“highlight of trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

we had a spare morning at our meeting in cebu city and decided to take a chance on the weather (there was a typhoon hitting manila) and to wake up at 3.30am so that we could reach oslob by 6am. it turned out to be a great decision as the day dawned brightly and we were among the first to enjoy these beautiful animals - half an hour does not seem like a lot of time but we were tired out after that time. caught up with out sleep on the 3 hour drive back and managed to make our 11am meeting! however, the south of cebu looked really lovely and i wish we could have lingered on.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

An experince one certainly can't miss when in this area. It took us a good 2 1/2 hours from our hotel but it was well worth it. Not sure how "correct" it is to feed those whale sharks by the local fishermen but I think they have sufficient rules in place to protect those great creatures from all the tourists.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Must see and do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Definitely worth doing and quite amazing. Early start to the day but worth it. Saw about 10 and you could touch them and swim with them young children can watch from the boats as they come very close Both snorkeling and diving available. All fees and transportation provided. Club Paradiso organised ours.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oslob Whale Shark Watching also viewed

 
Moalboal, Cebu Island
Malapascua Island, Cebu Island
 

Been to Oslob Whale Shark Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oslob Whale Shark Watching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.