We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cozy hotel, the best in this area, perfect location to stay for whale shark watching” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Resort to your Saves list
Eden Resort
Liloan, Santander, Oslob 6026, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oslob
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice cozy hotel, the best in this area, perfect location to stay for whale shark watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I highly recommend the Eden Resort for anyone who visit Oslob for whale shark watching. It's in close proximity and probably the nicest hotel around this area and good value.

The staff are helpful and friendly. Food is great and affordable. But it is a fair bit to travel from mactan airport. It probably took me 4.5 hour by the Ceres liner. But it is the cheapest way to get to Eden. The bus stop right in front of the hotel and cost you only 169 peso. You can take a taxi from mactan airport to the south bus terminal, took about 30 mins and 475 peso. It's pretty confusing once you get to the bus station. You need to pay 5 peso to get inside the terminal building and then you need to quickly locate the Ceres liner that go to Lilaon. You will need to queue. But the queue is not obvious and people are sitting in the waiting area. I have no cue who is waiting for what. Being a foreigner, I just kind of jump the queue and rush to the bus that I need to get on. Manage to get away with it. You tell the driver where you need to get off and they will take care of you. No sweat.

I love the Hugh balcony of the Eden hotel. It's facing the sea and right on top of it. Beautiful view. Don't be scare by the look of the beach. It is rocky (full of coral stones) but once you get into the sea, you see beautiful, healthy coral reef. There are starfish everywhere. The fishes are small but plenty and they are beautiful tropical fishes.

You can ask the hotel staff to arrange a tricycle to take you to whale shark watching. Only cost 440peso 2 ways. The price for whale shark watching has gone up so much. 1000 peso for snorkeling and 1500 peso for diving.

The massage is great, again all you need is ask. Only 350 peso per hour.

There isn't much to do around this area. So, I could recommend a day trip to the Sumilon island bluewater hotel. 1500 peso per person for day trip including lunch and use of facilities like swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, Owner at Eden Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thanks for you positive respond.
You are right, the bus could be a mess. A recommendation for anyone taking the bus is to take the air conditioned one, and put on a long sleeve shirt or something as they always run the A/C on full. It's not the temperature but the air quality that is the concern. In the city air could be really polluted during rush hours and the air conditioned bus run with closed windows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    40
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
45
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

good place for a short relaxing escape. For longer stay TV missing. Internet only at restaurant, even at the terrace of the room closest to restaurant weak and unstable signal, alternativ Smart Bro signal very slow and unstable too. So if the weather is bad and you cannot enjoy your terrace its getting a bit boring.
But in my opinion still best place in Liloan. With TV and WIFI in room it would be perfect

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, Owner at Eden Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thanks for your positive response.
We have taken note of your wish for TV and WiFi in the rooms and will improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at Eden resort for four nghts. It is a four hour drive from Cebu City. We hired a van- Dannys- through TA for 2700PHP, but were were very cramped. Dannys van really is for two adults not four. On the return trip we took the Edens van for 4500PHP and we had a more comfortable trip.The view from the balcony is terrific. Looking across to Negros Oriental and those beautiful mountains is very special. We requested that we swap the dining setting which was on our verandah for the nice tub chairs on the other verandah. No problem the staff happily changed them for us. I would strongly suggest that tub chairs be on all verandahs as they are so much more relaxing than the dining setting.The bed was very comfortable but the pillows could do with an update and the sheets were inadequate as we ended up sleeping on the mattress. A nice bed cover would have been good as one top sheet was not warm enough. A TV would have been a great idea too.The food was very good and very reasonably priced. We were disappointed that the staff did not inform us of things to do there and we did ask but all we were told is there is a dive master available. No brochures either.We do not dive just snorkel.. If you were asleep when you past the Whale Shark signs on the way there you would not have known there was any. Unfortunately the weather turned wet and overcast so we could not do this. Very disappointed. We hired their motorbikes and took off for the day. We did go to Sumilon Isl. Expensive day trip but we got lunch. When you come out of the gate at Eden, turn right and the ferry to Negros is at the bottom of the road. The bus to Cebu is there also. Dumargete (on Negros where the ferry docks) is worth a day trip. A bit of imagination as to the decor here would be a good idea .Maybe some typically Filipino things as it is rather bland. This is a real chill out place to stay so if you want to get away from the city then this is for you. Oh and the pool is great too. The staff are friendly and efficient. My brother in law is Swedish and we were disappointed that we did not get to meet Dennis the owner. Overall we did enjoy our stay and would highly recommend Eden resort.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10 are on the quiet end. Furthest from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, Owner at Eden Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Glad to see you enjoyed your stay.
I will make sure we improve on the bed sheets and pillows.
Brochures and info of things to do will be prepared.
TV's we have thought of, as well as private safety boxes in the rooms.
As for the whale shark watching, there has been a lot of controversy recently about the practice of hand feeding them as they do in Oslob, which has proved to cause injuries to the animals. Because of this it's a decision we made to not promote the site until these issues has been addressed properly and the hand feeding stops. We are sorry if this cause any inconvenience to you.
Also sorry we failed to meet you. We are not yet back from our summer vacation to Sweden.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have just returned from a wonderful weekend here, the pictures say it all and for once they reflect the place completely.

If you want to relax or tour around this is the ideal spot, take a motorbike or tricycle to watch the whale sharks, or spend time at the local market/town, visit the waterfalls or just watch the world go by from the pool and what a view the mountains of the Negro islands as the sun goes down, cocktail in hand.

You can arrive by bus (right to the door) from Cebu or by Ferry as i did from the Negro Islands which gave me my first gimpse of my home for the weekend and from the moment i arrived it did feel like home, as there are only 10 rooms this hotel has the feel of a private villa, the food and service was great, no one bothers you, as soon as you ask for anything its right there and nothing is to much trouble, the gardens beautiful and the rooms all have big balconies and comfortable furniture with minibar at hand you can really not want for anything.

Having access to a private beach, although this is not sand but made of solid coral reef, make sure you take your rubber shoes (or you can borrow fins from the dive centre) so you can access the water, you really do not want to miss what is waiting just metres inside, a true garden under the sea is right there for all to see and if you need sand you can find it just around the corner less than a 5 min walk by road.

Under new management for the last 5mths improvements and suggestions are all being taken onboard, for me i'm not sure how much better it could get.

Massage, snorkelling, diving - just ask and anything is possible.

If you want to feel pampered its a must.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, Owner at Eden Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thanks for you positive review Mandy.
It's always nice when we here guests who have enjoyed there stay.
We hope to see you back at Eden in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormoc, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

If you need to escape from all that stress and all the hassles of city living then this is the perfect place for you.

You can get all the peace and quiet that you need in their comfortable rooms that each has its own terrace. Whether you stay inside the room or at the terrace does not matter because it is overlooking the sea and facing towards the Negros Island. You can sleep all you wan't and nobody will bother you - not even the noise of vehicles which are ever present in the cities.

Despite all these, the place is not without the amenities that a city escapee might need. If you wish to 'connect' with the rest of the world again then you can simply go to their lobby area for the Wi-Fi. You may also want to try their pool which is overlooking the sea and try the food at the restaurant and experience the quality of their cuisine and the hospitality and professionalism of their staff.

On top of that, this hideaway is also near the Whale Watching spots of Southern Cebu and this should make your 'relaxation' complete.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, Owner at Eden Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks Joselito. I warms our hearts to hear you were pleased with your stay.
The confirmation from guests that ones hard work has paid of in pleased customers is the best reward one can get.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

When I first came to the Philippines, I stayed at this establishment and fell in love with it.
I got engaged at the hotel. I have stayed there numerous times since then.

The setting is beautiful, rooms comfortable, but the overall service needs a tweak!
I met the owner 'Dennis' and said that I would like to go over some improvements with him and he replied that he does not care if service is not 100% because if it was better, he would have more guests and that he would then lose his private hideaway !!! WHY does he advertise the property then?

Sadly if that is his attitude, then I shall no longer be returning!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, Owner at Eden Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
First I like to apologies for the things I said during your stay, and ensure that everyone is welcome to Eden. Anytime.
What you describe is something I sometimes say to my friends as an ironic joke.
Maybe I saw you more as a friend than a customer during your stay. Something I sometimes do ;-)
I hope I will see you there again to make it up for you.

Kind regards
/Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

stay here 1 night so that we can do whale shark snorkeling the next day at 7am.
eden arranged transport for us the next day.
the driver is nice and friendly, transferred us to the bus terminal at no charge.
the room is beautiful, cozy and pretty new, love the bathroom fixtures and of course the sea view!
breakfast is yummy and portion is huge. however, dinner (own expense) is pretty expensive.
i had chilli prawns, pretty nice but the rice is too little! you have to pay for extra rice.
cocktail is not up to standard too.
love the pool and jacuzzi.
did not sleep well, as some guest were dunk at 3-4am! purely bad luck. nothing to do with the hotel actually. :)
i would definitely go back if i ever want to do the whale shark snorkeling again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis P, Owner at Eden Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks for your nice review and the point of improvements you pointed out.
Will inform the staff to include free extra rice and hire a professional bartender to train them to improve their drink mixing skills.

Kind regards
/Dennis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Resort

Address: Liloan, Santander, Oslob 6026, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Oslob
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oslob
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, T4B, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Eden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Resort, Sumilon Island Hotel Sumilon Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.