We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a treat just to meet the owners Rick and Debbie who are the friendliest and most helpful people u will come across anywhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Cottage Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coulterville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Cottage Bed and Breakfast
5004 Main St, Junction of State Highways 49 and 132, Coulterville, CA 95311   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Coulterville B&B and Inns
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's a treat just to meet the owners Rick and Debbie who are the friendliest and most helpful people u will come across anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

II absolutely LOVE the Rose Cottage. The rooms are are so adorable, comfortable and meticulously clean. It's difficult to choose which one to stay in. Rick and Debbie go out of their way to make your stay one u will remember. They make sure u have everything u need and will accomadate you even if you arrive late or don't have a reservation. Having a comfortable bed and a room that makes me feel at home is a priority to me and the Rose Cottage certainly makes me feel like I could sleep in and feel refreshed and relaxed which is what a vacation away from home should feel like. Rick and Debbie are great hosts,the best I have come across in a very long time. The Rose Cottage is one of a kind with their antique store below the B&B, which makes your stay even more fun. I loved shopping in the store as its as adorable as the rooms above it. To me, this is a 5 star B&B nestled in the unique little town of Coulterville in California's Gold Country.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greeley Hill Ca
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We just had the most wonderful experience staying at the Rose Cottage in Coulterville,CA in late October. We were traveling out of Yosemite National Park toward Groveland on Highway 120 and to our surprise we saw a sigh that said Historic John Muir Route. So we took the historic roadway. On the route we experienced the turning of leaf colors in the oaks and the historic Jordon Oak. Within a few miles we arrived in Coulterville, CA. This historic gold rush town has the most quaint,unique, and adorable Rose Cottage B &B and Antique shop. In the B&B each room has a theme. There are four rooms in this B&B. We really wanted to stay in each room because eachroom was so unique. However, we had to make a choice so we decided to stay in the Rustic Rose room. The inn keepers Rick and Debbie went out of their way to make our stay perfect. We enjoyed our first night so much we actually stayed a second night in this quiet and very relaxing B&B. Debbie and Rick are the most gracious inn keepers that anyone would want to meet. We are planning a trip for our entire family in the future and we are going to rent all the rooms at this memorable Rose Cottage B&B. In the antique shop we purchased some one of a kind antiques that you don't see every day. This is a must do on anyone's travel bucket list.
Thank you Rick and Debbie for the memorable experience.
The Cupps from TN

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

When we planned a trip to Yosemite, we used TripAdvisor and trusted the great rating of this place. We looked forward to going. Unfortunately, our experience was very disappointing and needs to be shared so others can be ready.

We made a reservation over the phone, and our credit card was charged. The inn said they did not do confirmations by email or snail mail, so it was all over the phone. Coming across the country, we counted on having this place to stay while in Yosemite. We arrived at the inn around dinner time to find the owners nowhere to be found. Others staying at the inn said they were with friends and should be back soon. We called the inn's number and left a voice mail, called the cell phone given in the answering machine - still no answer and we left a message there. Also, there was another number posted on the inn's door - tried that, no answer, left another voicemail.

By this time about an hour had gone by so we went across the street to grab dinner and wait. By 9 PM they still weren't back. The other people staying at the inn said there was only one room open anyway, so it must be ours. The room left shared a bathroom however, and was definitely NOT the room we had requested and had been guaranteed over the phone, so we didn't bring our things in. Tired, 3000 miles from home, and frustrated, we gave one last effort to try the cell phone number. The female owner answered, having no clue that we had been leaving voice mails on 3 different numbers for the last 2 hours. She apologized profusely and said she would be right there. She said that they must have "gotten their dates mixed up"....but out credit card had promptly been charged days after making the reservation. Our belief from subsequent conversations is that they simply had forgotten about us period. About 20 minutes later her husband arrived, seeming quite confused that we had chosen to NOT spend the night there and had found another inn across the street to stay at instead. He appeared to not understand why we wanted a refund, and eventually his wife came by around 11 PM, catching us as we stopped by the car to ask for our credit card to issue the refund. She told me how wonderful the inn is and how everyone loves it there. She also explained that they would let us stay, but they have good friends staying with them who are already in the room that we had reserved...which seemed quite strange to explain to a customer who is unable to stay at your inn because of the mistake you made with their reservation.

Overall, we would strongly not recommend this place to anyone traveling to Yosemite due to the poor communication and disorganization. Although people who have actually gotten in the door have enjoyed it, it was a terribly irritating way to begin our trip - being across the country and finding out that we had nowhere to sleep that night, having to make quick new plans....not something we'd want anyone else to experience. If you want to stay in Coulterville, which was a very charming town, look across the street at Hotel Jeffrey - they saved us and made sure we had a clean, reasonably priced room at 11 PM - the owner was very professional and organized.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

For a true Friendly, Hometown, Historical experience the Rose Cottage B & B- Antique Store is a must do in Coulterville. The owners, Rick & Debbie have created the most charming and comfortable B & B ever. The rooms range from a Romantic Countryside look and feel to manly hunting type decor. Each room is different, but reflects the authentic Coulterville experience. It is very comfortable and they have a fantastic Breakfast/snack area complete with snacks-YUM)- all the comforts of home. Downstairs is the antique / memories part of your Cottage Rose experience. I can't seem to spend enough money there!!!! Rick makes the absolute best potting benches, incredilbe rustic standing shelves with great antiwue fam trim and birdhouses - BIG birdhouses- one of a kind- kind you have NEVER seen before!! A must have for the barn wood collector. I LOVE this place and the sweet, sweet people who run it. This building was the original E.E. Warne Store built in the 1870's-1880's. After you are done there take a short walk to see the Coulterville Museum, then on to the local coffee house to see Christopher Robin (yep- thats his real name) then on to Gold Tooth Lil's for local crafts and period costuming. There are 2 wonderful, original Saloons that deserve a visit. The perfect day in one of the REAL 49er Ghost Towns.

Room Tip: There is no bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

When we missed our open window to get a room at the Jeffrey's Hotel, we felt that we'd have to search all over for accommodation. My girlfriend was referred by the hotel to check on the Rose Cottage B&B across the street. It was a delightful find, and the new owners, Rick and Debbie are absolutely wonderful, the place was spotless and the pantry was chock full of treats and goodies. Everything we experienced was top notch, we'll be sure to recommend this place to all our friends. We hope to come back during the Summer, and we hope to find a vacancy, as we know the rooms will go fast if their service continues at this level. Do not hope to get WiFi or Cable TV (we suggested they NEVER get it) This place is quiet and a couple's retreat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Very nice place ,quaint rooms,even put up a airbed to help accomadate a extra person in room for another $10.And check out bar opposite if youn dare for a real USA experience(they don't bite!)

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclesfield
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Great value for money if you're looking for somewhere in the Yosemite area - Elaine was very welcoming and our breakfast included homemade muffins straight from the oven! Try the saloon opposite for a slice of local bar life!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rose Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5004 Main St, Junction of State Highways 49 and 132, Coulterville, CA 95311
Location: United States > California > Coulterville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coulterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite bound travelers can stay at this unique Historic Building dating back to 1899, restored with modern amenities, all rooms are themed, Wild West Room, Victorian room, John Muir Room and Rose Room. One of the few remaining buildings of the Historic mining town on Coulterville. Lake McClure and Lake Don Pedro near by, explore this beautiful recreational area while you enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Cottage Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rose Cottage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list