We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Little B & B in the Coulterville Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Cottage Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coulterville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Cottage Bed and Breakfast
5004 Main St, Junction of State Highways 49 and 132, Coulterville, CA 95311   |  
Hotel amenities
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“One of the Best Little B & B in the Coulterville Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

For a true Friendly, Hometown, Historical experience the Rose Cottage B & B- Antique Store is a must do in Coulterville. The owners, Rick & Debbie have created the most charming and comfortable B & B ever. The rooms range from a Romantic Countryside look and feel to manly hunting type decor. Each room is different, but reflects the authentic Coulterville experience. It is very comfortable and they have a fantastic Breakfast/snack area complete with snacks-YUM)- all the comforts of home. Downstairs is the antique / memories part of your Cottage Rose experience. I can't seem to spend enough money there!!!! Rick makes the absolute best potting benches, incredilbe rustic standing shelves with great antiwue fam trim and birdhouses - BIG birdhouses- one of a kind- kind you have NEVER seen before!! A must have for the barn wood collector. I LOVE this place and the sweet, sweet people who run it. This building was the original E.E. Warne Store built in the 1870's-1880's. After you are done there take a short walk to see the Coulterville Museum, then on to the local coffee house to see Christopher Robin (yep- thats his real name) then on to Gold Tooth Lil's for local crafts and period costuming. There are 2 wonderful, original Saloons that deserve a visit. The perfect day in one of the REAL 49er Ghost Towns.

Room Tip: There is no bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

When we missed our open window to get a room at the Jeffrey's Hotel, we felt that we'd have to search all over for accommodation. My girlfriend was referred by the hotel to check on the Rose Cottage B&B across the street. It was a delightful find, and the new owners, Rick and Debbie are absolutely wonderful, the place was spotless and the pantry was chock full of treats and goodies. Everything we experienced was top notch, we'll be sure to recommend this place to all our friends. We hope to come back during the Summer, and we hope to find a vacancy, as we know the rooms will go fast if their service continues at this level. Do not hope to get WiFi or Cable TV (we suggested they NEVER get it) This place is quiet and a couple's retreat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Very nice place ,quaint rooms,even put up a airbed to help accomadate a extra person in room for another $10.And check out bar opposite if youn dare for a real USA experience(they don't bite!)

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclesfield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Great value for money if you're looking for somewhere in the Yosemite area - Elaine was very welcoming and our breakfast included homemade muffins straight from the oven! Try the saloon opposite for a slice of local bar life!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. Calif.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Coulterville is a very laid back quaint little town. It's like taking a step back in time. The Rose Cottage is like that. If you want the plastic, fantastic Holiday Inn experience, this is not for you. It has lots of character, great antique touches, and very friendly down to earth hostess. It is not modern, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Our room (the Wild West) was extremely clean and well-appointed, and the bathroom had a very modern touch. Elaine was incredibly friendly and helpful, even staying up for our somewhat late arrival, and opening the antique shop (downstairs) early the next morning so we could browse before heading to Yosemite. The bed was clean and comfortable, and we got a great night's sleep in this quiet location.

Breakfast was delicious -- a frittata with potatoes, toast, and some fresh fruit. We had the option of eating by ourselves in the dining room, but we chose to have it in the spacious eat-in kitchen so we could talk with Elaine and her husband about the town, the area, and Yosemite.

Speaking of ,Yosemite is only a short drive away from the Rose Cottage and Coulterville. Whenever I make it back to Yosemite, or if I just happen to be in the area, I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Very nice B&B with friendly hosts , good breakfasts , very comfortable rooms. Bed was extremely comfortable & guaranteed a good nights sleep. Elaine the owner was very helpful & informative about things to do in the local area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rose Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5004 Main St, Junction of State Highways 49 and 132, Coulterville, CA 95311
Location: United States > California > Coulterville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coulterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite bound travelers can stay at this unique Historic Building dating back to 1899, restored with modern amenities, all rooms are themed, Wild West Room, Victorian room, John Muir Room and Rose Room. One of the few remaining buildings of the Historic mining town on Coulterville. Lake McClure and Lake Don Pedro near by, explore this beautiful recreational area while you enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose Cottage Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rose Cottage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list