We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, Antique Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jeffery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coulterville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Jeffery
5001 Main St., Coulterville, CA 95311   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Coulterville B&B and Inns
Lodi, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Authentic, Antique Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Wow - I was amazed when we began to walk up the stairs to our room. Upon first arrival, I was fairly skeptic, but the reviews online said that this place was the best in the area. When we saw the decor, we could see why. I was amazed by the interior design and how well done this place is. We stayed in room 17, but they had all the available rooms open so anyone could take a look inside. They are beautiful. The formal dining room is gorgeous, the saloon and its food is delicious, and the hotel is to die for! Now add the idea that it is haunted and you have yourself a spooky, yet relaxing getaway. Being as we live only 100 miles away, we are planning to make this place a regular retreat. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    10
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
35
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights over the weekend. Lovely room, friendly staff and great food! We loved the authentic decor and old western bar. Great location to access Yosemite and other local attractions. Forrest (owner) was particularly helpful and made our stay a very enjoyable experience.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Jeffery for our trip to Yosemite. We had no idea what to expect of this hotel or Coulterville. We were met at the door of the Hotel by Forrest, one of the owners. He was very friendly, telling us about all the history of the hotel and the Saloon, which is the oldest working saloon in the state of California. Our room (18) was simple, but that's all we were looking for. No TV or phone, but it did have free WI-Fi. The bed was great. Forrest had coffee, juice and muffins waiting at our door when we woke up. The first night we used the shared bathrooms and they were really clean. I wish our house had water pressure that good! We drove the hour and fifteen minutes to Yosemite Valley for the following day and come back that night to the Hotel. We had dinner at the saloon. The menu was simple, but awesome. My wife had the chicken and I had the New York Steak. My steak came with a fresh salad, probably a 12 oz steak, asparagus and roasted potatoes and was very inexpensive. The chicken was great too. That night we stayed in room 17 which has it's own bathroom. It was nice and we were very pleased. The following morning we had breakfast waiting at our door and it was coffee, juice, muffins and cups of fresh fruit. Our rooms were so affordable that I thought it would be too good to be true, this was not the case. It's an absolute bargain and a great experience. Coulterville is small, but it seemed very safe and everyone was very friendly. There was a grocery store a few miles from the hotel on our way to the park that had good prices on gas and was a great place to pick up snacks for the day. They also had a deli in the back where we got sandwiches made for lunch. The owners of Hotel Jeffery were so friendly and very accomodating. We will stay at Hotel Jeffery the next time we go to Yosemite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed one night here before heading to Yosemite, and we were so glad we found this place! The rates are excellent--you can't even get a cheapo chain hotel in the area for these prices, and the hotel was fairly empty so we got upgraded for free to an ensuite room (which I was glad of because I was a little bit scared of going down the "haunted" hallway to the bathrooms in the middle of the night haha). The building and furnishings are all marvelously old and beautiful and interesting, so many cool antique pieces and so much history in the hotel and the town--of course this means there are some squeaky floors, creaky doors, and signs of age in some places, but the rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable, if a little small (the room we were in, but they are all different and some are a lot more spacious). We ate dinner at the Magnolia saloon connected to the hotel, and both the old saloon itself and the food were beautiful, and the food was reasonably priced (the cowboy burger was the best burger I've had in recent memory and the salad was also excellent). The town is tiny so there's not much going on, but we looked around at all the cool features of the hotel and then took the information sheet and did a "grand tour" of the historic buildings of the town, then went to bed early before heading off to Yosemite the next day. Free wifi worked well, lots of hot water in the showers, nice amenities. Breakfast was included in the price--it wasn't the greatest breakfast in the world, mostly packaged pastries, but the coffee was good and that was what mattered most to us at that point. It was blisteringly hot when we were there and the AC worked to cool things down a bit, but it was still pretty warm in the rooms. Despite a couple little things here and there though, was thought this place was a steal and definitely a worthwhile experience!

Room Tip: The website has pictures of most of the rooms so just choose which one appeals to you the most. One...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went to Yosemite and planned to stay at another location in Coulterville. After the owners of that place unfortunately mixed up our reservation, we had nowhere to stay. We had dinner at the restaurant in Hotel Jeffery (which was extremely good!!) and at 11 PM inquired about a room for one night. The owner was friendly, professional, and still on the premises - he even upgraded us to a nicer room for the same price as their basic rooms. The hotel was beautiful and historic, clean, and simple - perfect for what we needed. If you're in the area, check this place out - the food and service in the restaurant and hotel were fantastic! For those visiting Yosemite, it is about 1 1/2 hours to the valley through some back roads. There are closer options, but for the price and cleanliness, this is really hard to beat.

Room Tip: There apparently are "haunted rooms" if you are interested - although we didn't end up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We needed a base for our visit to Yosemite. Our options were limited due to late planning but after reading good reviews on Tripadvisor and a great price we settled for Hotel Jeffery. This is a charming old hotel in a very small town about 45 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of Yosemite (there aren't many places closer, unless you are lucky enough to stay in the park). The room was cosy, quiet and well kept. The beds were comfortable and provided a good night's sleep. Not sure if there was AC, but the ceiling fan kept air moving and by morning room was very cool. No TV or phone in the room, but we did have wifi. A private bathroom was down the hall, but this was not a problem. The Magnolia Saloon (part of the Hotel Jeffery) was our source for evening meals and offered a nice selection of beers. Quality of the food was surprisingly good..and at fair price. The Salmon and Ribs were especially memorable.The staff were all very friendly and the historic memorabilia scattered around the saloon and hotel made the visit more enjoyable. I think the only suggestion we could offer would be an improvement in the "continental breakfast" which was very limited.

Room Tip: Room 22 is haunted (so they say)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ely england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

we had one night in this wonderful hotel renting two rooms that were very clean and comfortable.we were checked in by friendly staff who were ready to help us when needed.
meals and beer were good and the bar felt like it was straight from a western movie,full of character.
Do yourself a favour forget about staying in overpriced yosemite and rent one of the rooms in hotel jeffery.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Jeffery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jeffery

Address: 5001 Main St., Coulterville, CA 95311
Location: United States > California > Coulterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Coulterville
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Hotel Jeffery and Magnolia Saloon located at the intersections of Highway 49 & 132 in Mariposa County near Yosemite National Park, only 29 miles away. Built in 1851, this hotel features antique furnishings and our famous "Teddy Roosevelt" Room. We offer a great Menu serving Burgers, Steaks, Seafood, Chicken, Pizza, Salads and more along with Microbeers and Wine in our Saloon. Come by and visit us "where the pace slows down and history abounds"! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jeffery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Jeffery to your Saves list