We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tasting Mexican food ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taco Mesa

Taco Mesa
647 W 19th St, Costa Mesa, CA 92627-2715
949-642-0629
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 395 Restaurants in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best tasting Mexican food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

During our short stay, we had to go back, it was that good! Very casual but absolutely great food that is also very affordable!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best Mexican fast food in Orange County.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

For the last twenty years, my wife and I have a rule; if we get within 50 miles of a Taco Mesa, we find a way to eat there. The menu is incredibly inventive. There are numerous, healthy menu options. The three house salsas are amazing. The avocado/tomatillo salsa may be the single best salsa I have ever eaten. We manage to make it to Taco Mesa at least four or five times a year, and I have never been disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best Cheap Mexican Food in OC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

There are four Taco Mesa's in Orange County. They are very convenient to me. One is near my chiropractor, one is near my optometrist, one is near my sister's house and one is near my house. I make it a point to eat at each one as often as I can. The way they blend flavors is heavenly! Try the Salmon Paradiso! Something in the herbs and spices makes me crave their food. Everything is wonderful. There are several raving reviews and articles adorning the walls that have appeared in food magazines and newspapers. They have daily specials and everything new you try is fantastic. I usually sit there amazed that people are going into a well known cheap hamburger place next door, when all the great flavor is just a few steps away. The inside has very limited counter seating. Outside has about 8 tables and is covered, has heaters and plexiglass to keep the wind out. Bring your favorite sticker and slap it on the soda machine or trash can. Try to get there early as parking is limited.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A little oasis with great Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Discovered this what can best be described as a kerbside shack with tables outside, sheltered from the street.

The food is authentic Mexican , lots of choice and very reasonably priced.

A great meal and will certainly return !

If you are close by, make a point to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great food, fast service. Cheap. Sat outside within contained area but not actually 'inside' the restaurant. Would definitely recommend- don't be put off by the fact it isn't a restaurant per se!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Mesa also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Been to Taco Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taco Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.