We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good sleep located between Disneyland and Newport Beach/Huntington Beach by bus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Costa Mesa/Orange County Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Costa Mesa/Orange County Airport to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Costa Mesa/Orange County Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3205 Harbor Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good sleep located between Disneyland and Newport Beach/Huntington Beach by bus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

The Vagabond Hotel provided restful sleeps, a great location. You can step to the Harbor Boulevard and take the 43 Bus (N) to Disneyland (Anaheim) or South to Newport Beach / Huntington Beach for great bike rides (miles). There is a laundry place, 711 and Route 405 a stones throw away. The Hotel is quiet with well maintained as are the grounds across the street. Hold on to that “Do Not Disturb” otherwise you will have the cleaners knocking on your door at reasonable times to do their work. The pool and Jacuzzi are fine as there are also nice places to sit with shade, breeze and flours. The staff is accommodating and I look forward to returning for the fine location and sleep.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    8
    11
    27
See reviews for
13
20
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

After reading the other reviews of this place I decided we'd try it on an up coming trip. What a mistake. The rooms were not the cleanest, things didn't work AND worst of all the room next door had noisy people who sat outside smoking, drinking and swearing till 4AM (couldn't reach anyone on the front desk but don't know what they could have done about it anyway). We saw 2 police cars coming out of the hotel parking lot when we booked in, perhaps that should have told us something! Didn't feel a safe area at all.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa mesa, california
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

Great place to stay. Beds are EXTREMELY comfortable. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Manager is a pleasure to speak to and is always willing to help. Pool and landscaping is absolutely beautiful. Rooms are tastefully appointed with micro/fridge, massaging shower heads and more. Very quiet and serene.Close to shopping, restaurants, and of course the beach. Anybody looking for a great room at a great price, this is it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

We got a good deal, for a walk-in. We just needed a place to sleep after a night on the town. Comfy beds, very spacious room, and pretty quiet, even with all the people around. A good no-frills spot for rest.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

we stayed 4 weeks & i have no complaints. clean swimming pool & jacuzzi
very courteous & friendly staff

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

I just wanted to give a general "You Guys Rock!" to literally EVERYONE who works there. Everyone there was super nice and unbelievably good at what they do, So I just wanted to give them a well-deserved Thumbs Up!

My parents had a room and my husband and I had a room. We asked to be close to each other and the hotel staff accommodated our request cheerfully. The hotel is beautiful and everything was clean. The staff handled special requests promptly. My favorite things: the beds (awesome), the pillows, the lighted makeup mirror . Outdoor Pool is nice and pretty big and they have nice hot tub too. Most of all, the staff provided exceptional service! I will definitely stay there next time when i am in Costa mesa .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

Recently I had to wait six weeks for my new place in Costa Mesa to be remodeled so I decided to stay in a hotel. Living here I know very well Orange County but nothing about hotels, so I thought this was a good opportunity to try some of them in the area. A little bit for curiosity and also to have an inside to help visiting friends (I never know which hotel to suggest…).

Let me say this: Vagabond Inn is a really beautiful place to stay. It has been recently remodeled and it looks really great with POOL and JACUZZI heated until late night and with very charming illumination of the surrounding palms. The manager gave me 1 night free every 9 nights paid: that was a very good opportunity for me because, as I said, I wanted to try various hotels.

But he was right, because it turned out that after vagabonding 7 hotels I came back here to Vagabond Inn. And for many good and different reasons: ALL the service people are very nice and always smiling, the place is clean and close to 405-55 intersection. There are bunch of restaurants close by in Harbor, it is located at 10 mins from the beach and (I am a biker) very close to the fun Santa Ana river trail. But read here! In the morning they have free buffet with: bananas, apples, 3 different cereals, 5 different juices, tons of mini-muffins (blueberry, vanilla, chocolate, lemon, etc.) and croissants, fresh milk, coffee, tea... - No other hotel can compete - Some days they also serve special snacks.

When I had a problem with the wireless connection (it works very fast at actually 5 Mbps) the manager (I think his name is Kauti) offered me to change room and the SAME DAY he replaced one wireless antenna fixing the problem! The morning I left one lady at the front desk donated me a box of chocolate candies...

Believe me, there is NO OTHER HOTEL in all Costa Mesa and surrounding areas that can beat this place!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Vagabond Inn Costa Mesa/Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Costa Mesa/Orange County Airport

Address: 3205 Harbor Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Costa Mesa/Orange County Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Costa Mesa/Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Costa Mesa/Orange County Airport Hotel Costa Mesa
Vagabond Hotel Costa Mesa
Vagabond Inn Costa Mesa/Orange County Airport CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Costa Mesa/Orange County Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.