We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre - Not a great value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach to your Saves list
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1680 Superior Avenue, Costa Mesa, CA 92627   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
1 review
“Mediocre - Not a great value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a motor-lodge type motel with all doors opening toward the parking lot. Vending and ice machines are in the middle of the parking lot by the pool. The property is old but maintained. Renovations have been done but in a piecemeal fashion. Some things in the room are new while others are old. Even the new furnishings and decorations are of an outdated style as not to clash with the old things that weren't replaced. Though there is a restaurant on-site, I went in to get dinner and found the dining room empty of either customers or staff and walked out after a few minutes. The noise level is high as you can hear every foot step and door closing of any room in the vicinity and the plumbing howls in the walls. It's not a bad place but definitely over-priced for what it is. Similar properties in the area list online for almost half the price.

Room Tip: Third floor would be best. I chose the second and could hear every footstep of the people upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross S, General Manager at Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear CgarlesC,

Thank you for providing your recent feedback regarding your stay. Im sorry you feel we didnt provide value as we price ourselves lower then competitive set. We offer more amenities. I was really dismayed by your trip into restaurant, I apologize for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    162
    172
    77
    42
See reviews for
228
86
45
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have stayed there twice now and very pleasant staff and rooms have all one needs. They also have a very large room for disabled visitors and the food in the restaurant is good and cheap. The swimming pool looks inviting and seating for the restaurant is inside or outside

Room Tip: They have a large disabled room downstairs and also stayed at a pleasant room end of passage. Loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross S, General Manager at Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Ms Judith 243,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are always striving to improve and take all very seriously
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a great location! That being said, the carpets were horrible. They were wet and stank of dog vomit when we checked in. Every time we stay, the carpets are soaking. We didn't receive ANY bath towels on the second day. When we did finally get some, they only gave me 3 sets for 4 people?? To top it off, I receive a call from the front desk that my credit card is expired. It turns out, nothing was wrong with my card. The staff had no idea what the call was about. Really disturbing at the end of a long day. The night staff was rude. I couldn't sleep one night because of the party next door. The jacuzzi was always occupied, no matter what time of day. Overpriced at $150+ a night

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms have soggy carpets. Choose upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross S, General Manager at Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Stephen R,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I would like to apologize and speak with you in detail regarding your issues. Please contact me at 949-645-2221

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

When we checked in at 4:00 there were no clean rooms. What was with the huge pile of bed mattresses just sitting in the parking lot? We were given a bottom floor room, right next to the stairs. Upon entering, the room stunk of cigarettes and mold. The air was thick and smelly. Popcorn ceilings full of old yellow water stains across the ceiling from upper units. The bathroom was disgusting! There was mold all around the ceilings, down the walls and it was so bad the wallpaper was peeling from the walls. I was too afraid to take my shoes off to walk anywhere barefoot in the room. The bottom of the stairwell became the hangout for the druken party people. The room was very loud with all the noise upstairs and next door. Door didn't lock all the way. The ac unit was not cold and very loud. The hot water in the shower would get very hot then cool again. The ladies at the front desk said the beach was one mile walking distance. We started the journey on foot. No sidewalks. Went back and got the car, thank goodness! Not for walking!!!! The price was way over priced!!!!

Room Tip: Maybe stay upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross S, General Manager at Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Deanna P,

Thank you for providing feedback from your recent stay. The beds were just replaced with new beds and the service to remove took a few days. I would love to speak with you in detail regarding your other issues. Would you please contact me directly either phone or email
949-645-2221 or rstibor@ramadasuitesnewport.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wa. State
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The hotel is about 2 miles from the ocean. It is clean but a bit dated. The TV, WiFi and TV all worked fine. There is enough parking. Check in was fast and courteous.

The only downside is no continental breakfast. There is a sit-down restaurant on site and a bunch of fast food joints nearby.

The very good rating is reflective of the cost of the room relative to others in the area. You wouldn't want to spend a lot of time here, but for a couple of nights its fine.,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross S, Owner at Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Mr Spokaneman,

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at the Ramada Inn & Suites.
We try to offer the best value in the Newport Beach/Costa Mesa area,
Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was the worst suite we have ever stayed in. The whole design was terrible. I can get past the old CRT television in the bedroom and the cramped little corner the easy chair was in. We found after we got to our room that the only bathroom amenities were just one little bar of soap for both the vanity and the shower. I thought the room was supposed to be stocked with more than one little bar.

The design of the bathroom left a lot to be desired. In order to get out of the shower, you had to step into the hallway so you could close the shower door in this tiny bathroom. There was no shelves or a shower caddy to put your shampoo and conditioner on in the shower so you had to put everything on the floor where it wound up floating in dirty water because the drain was so slow the shower start to fill up. The temperature of the water in the shower was never constant, fluctuating between cold and scalding no matter where the knob was set. We complained to the front desk but nothing was ever done about it. I figured they couldn't do anything about the water temp but they didn't even bring a caddy for the shower even though I was told more than once that they would.

On the plus side, the bed was somewhat comfortable, the TVs worked and the elevator worked so I didn't have to lug our bags up the stairs. The AC was ok even though the deflector does not allow the fan to blow air higher than about two feet off the floor. The staff was courteous in listening to our complaints even though nothing was done about them.

We won't be staying at this hotel again.

Oh, by the way. I'm sure we could do without guests smoking pot and stinking up the whole place.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross S, General Manager at Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Steve,

With the description of the bathroom I'm not sure your describing here. Can you please call me so I can see exactly what you did. I do apologize for any inconvenience you encountered
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach

Address: 1680 Superior Avenue, Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Suites Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
Ramada Inn & Suites Costa Mesa/Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Ramada Newport Beach
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach CA - Orange County
Costa Mesa Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.