We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location to Balboa Peninsula” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach to your Saves list
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1680 Superior Avenue, Costa Mesa, CA 92627   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Tempe, AZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Location to Balboa Peninsula”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2008

This hotel is in a good location for access to Balboa Peninsula and Balboa Island. We had a comfortable stay here, just be cautious if you own a sports car as the driveway has a big dip as you exit and every time we exited the parking lot our cars front end would scrape no matter what angle we turned the car to exit. A good thing about this hotel is across the parking lot is a really good fruit and vegetable store with a large variety for the health conscious. The breakfast was adequate for this type of hotel. We would stay here again for the price. One thing tho, for some reason the front desk person was very insistent on telling us NOT to book thru anothers online website i.e. hotels.com and to use the Ramada website, not sure why, but he mentioned this twice at check out.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    151
    152
    70
    37
See reviews for
204
81
41
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MD Eastern Shore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

This place rocked! Extremely clean with friendly and helpful desk staff (they even offered to do laundry - well not really )- but I bet they would have if we asked :)
Room was very comfortable - bed was nice and firm - shower had great water pressure with adjustable shower head. TV had many stations to choose from included with the room. The pool area looked clean and well tended as did the landscaped areas.
The free continental breakfast was a plus as was the availability in the lobby of logging on to secure our airline boarding passes.
Would highly recommend and would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was all good
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

Booked this hotel for a last minute trip with a girlfriend to hit Newport Beach before summer's end. Had a small selection of available hotels and this one was cheap and close to the beach so we booked it.
Check in was quick and staff was friendly and helpful.
The hotel was PACKED! And the parking lot was always really full. We always managed to find a spot but it was always the very last spot available in the lot.
Rooms were clean except for the carpet. They made our feet black but I usually experience this when staying at hotels near a beach. It was pretty gross though so bring some slippers if you are staying here to wear while in the room.
Bathrooms had a hair dryer and plenty of hot water with a nice shower head.
Rooms were quiet and beds were comortable. Fridge in room was helpful for keeping drinks and stuff to make sandwiches with.
Complimentary breakfast in morning which offers several items. The breakfast room was packed each morning, but the staff made sure to keep everything replenished.
Lobby has a computer with internet and printer so you can print your boarding pass for your flight home.
I recommend this hotel if you just want an inexpensive hotel that is a short drive to the beach.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Filthy carpets
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

The hotel's nice exterior is not quite reflected in the room interiors. Rooms were just OK in terms of furniture quality and how contemporary it looked. Other than the standard furniture, our room also had an armchair, fridge and television with a wide array of channels (including both HBO and HBO family). The sink was long, the closet was unenclosed and there was a nice nozzle on the shower.

The breakfast room was a room accessible from the outside since all the rooms had outdoor access and there wasn't really a lobby. It was a nice breakfast room with lots of seating a couple TVs. There were a few hot breakfast items (eggs patties, sausage patties and biscuits to make sandwiches or to eat alone) making it an above average free breakfast.

The pool and whirlpool had unaccompanied children and rude guests that thought they were in their own personal backyard. It was nice that they had a few shower-heads in the pool area so that you could rinse off.

This hotel allows pets which is nice for those who enjoy traveling with their furry friend. And had laundry facilities which is always a plus. There was also a computer and printer in the miniature lobby for guests' use.

This hotel is not within walking distance of a beach - but there are quite a few restaurants and fast food around. The streets surrounding it are very busy so take care.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

Great location in the heart of Costa Mesa 5 minutes from the beach. Lots of restaurants and businesses within walking distance. Free parking and a good continental breakfast. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. Refrigerators but no microwaves, which would be nice. Nice outdoor swimming pool and hot tub. Laundry room was a plus. We had planned to stay for two nights but liked it so well that we stayed five. Our only complaint was a very rude lady working the breakfast area one morning. The rest of the staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Breakfast facilities and pool.
  • Disliked — No microwaves in rooms.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

This place is amazing. So cheap by european standards and yet with large clean rooms, free wireless internet, generous complimentary breakfast, swimming pool and jacuzi.
It's not a Ritz or a Sheraton but it has an incredible value for money and would suit the needs of many.
Go for it.

  • Liked — Room size and free internet
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

First of all, we had no complaints about the room. It was clean and it was pretty spacious for a standard room. With that being said, this was probably the worst hotel staff I have ever seen. If you asked for any help, which should be their job, they gave you attitude. We chose the hotel because they told us they had a shuttle service to the location of the wedding we were attending. Well when it came time to take the shuttle, we found out they only had one 8 person van available for the entire group we were staying with, which included large families. The shuttle driver was late to pick us up and many of the guests had to wait close to an hour to be picked up. Their lack of customer service will keep me from ever staying at this hotel again.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach

Address: 1680 Superior Avenue, Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn And Suites Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
Ramada Inn & Suites Costa Mesa/Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Ramada Newport Beach
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach CA - Orange County
Costa Mesa Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.