We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place / Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach

Save Saved
You added Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1680 Superior Avenue, Costa Mesa, CA 92627   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #12 of 23 hotels in Costa Mesa
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Place / Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Pros: Spacious rooms, clean, decent price with AAA, and generally comfortable.

Cons: Old-style picture tube TV and too much noise above our room(we were on the 1st floor).

Overall, it was a good place with a great freeway accessible location. I just wish they would properly insulate/sound-proof the space between floors to reduce pounding noises coming into 1st floor rooms.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay on the 1st floor. Too much noise above your head from the floor above you. Request 3rd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    140
    137
    62
    29
See reviews for
192
70
38
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I was traveling to a conference in Huntington Beach and registered to stay at the resort right on the beach. My boss, who was also coming, saw the price and said we only need a place with WiFi and hot water. So I found the Ramada Inn nearby in Costa Mesa. Seemed nice from the website. I get there and it indeed looks very nice from the drive up, however it is a MOTEL, with external access doors. No where did this say this on the website. The room itself was shabby: the bed spread was tore and tattered, paint was just this close to peeling. The walls were paper thin, the door had a 0.5 inch gap, so noise and light came in from underneath. I ended up rolling up a towel and blocking the bottom of the door with it. The shades didn't block the entire window. The WiFi was excellent. However, the hot water was variable. The temperature would go up or down without touching the knob. Far from being a feature, this was definitely a bug. The staff at the front desk were quite nice, as were the staff in the restaurant/bar. Breakfast was surprisingly good (typical american eggs, meat, etc.) The burger I had in the bar made me sick all night. The best part was the price; quite reasonable for OC and so close to the beach. So, if you are looking for a cheap (in every sense of the word) hotel with WiFi and variable access to hot water, this is definitely your place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Sorry to say, I was not satisfied with this hotel. We come to hotels for different reasons and sometimes from very long distances. With that thought in mind we don't want to sleep on a mattress so soft you sink. My daughter and I had to share a bed and we just ended up in the middle. Rm 314 bed next to the window needs to be changed out. We ate two different occasions in their restaruant, ordered three different dinners, not one was to our liking, either taste was off or too dry. Afer dinner trying to get settled we got a knock so loud we were afraid to open the door. It was the worker bringing towels to us, wrong room. The next morning we tried their breakfast, three tables and the waiter was running around. It took a half hour to receive our meal, I asked for ketchup, a few more tables were filling up so I knew after waiting for fifteen - twenty minutes I would have to get up to ask for it again so I can put it now, on my cold food.

Room Tip: Check the room and bed before paying. In this case I had no choice because I used Hotel.com. I cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I received the Ramada Inn on a Hotwire bid. After checking the TripAdvisor reviews, I did not expect to like my 3-night stay. However, I was pleasantly surprised and had a good, quiet night's sleep on a Friday, Saturday and Sunday night. The hotel was full, but all the guests were well-behaved. It was way more family-friendly than I expected it to be. Overall, the room was good for the price as other hotels in this area are often pricey.

I visited the front office as I needed an electrical strip (few outlets in the room) and the maintenance man was standing at my door waiting for me when I immediately returned. How's that for service!

The beach is just down the same street as the hotel, just several blocks away. Very convenient.

They have a Save Our Planet card on the nightstand: you place it on the bed if you don't need the bedsheets changed that day. Please use the card so the housekeepers don't have to change the bedsheets on every bed every day, which is a lot of work and a lot of waste. Maybe the Ramada should put two (2) Save the Planet cards in those rooms that have two beds, so there is no confusion.

The restaurant was great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach

Address: 1680 Superior Avenue, Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn & Suites Costa Mesa/Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Ramada Inn And Suites Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
Ramada Newport Beach
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach CA - Orange County
Costa Mesa Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.