We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some plusses and minuses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach

Save Saved
You added Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1680 Superior Avenue, Costa Mesa, CA 92627   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #12 of 23 hotels in Costa Mesa
Wa. State
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Some plusses and minuses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The motel is in an excellent location right at the end of the 55. The rooms and grounds are very clean, the Wi-fI works fine as do the TV and AC. The prices is good, I paid about $70/night over a four day stay.

The minuses: the walls are very thin. If you have a neighbor, you will hear everything that goes on in that room. The first night I was here I had a neighbor with several kids and it was very noisy. Parking lot and walkway noise is very noticable.

The other minus is a lack of a complimentary breakfast. I had thought that had become a standard for quick stay motels by now. They have a sit down resturant, but I never saw anyone in there. They did not even have complimentary coffee in the lobby(they have a small maker in the room) .

Room Tip: Try to get one without neighbors unless you want to know the intimate details of their lives
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    140
    138
    63
    29
See reviews for
193
70
39
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victorville, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We love this place, its affordable, close to a Dennys, ( a good Dennys), the continental breakfast was good, the pool and jacuzzi were very clean, the laundry room was in good operational condition. The front office was very helpful, clean, and good customer service. The rooms were OK, my only complaint was the trash under the bed, and a little bit of mold in the restroom area, I know its close to the beach and somewhat wet all the time, but I do want the place to be as clean as possible, we travel with clorox bathroom cleaner, and wipe the entire restroom area upon arrival. This is probably my 20th time here and I have never had a problem, except this time. This place is only a few miles away from the Newport Beach Pier, and affordable. I recommend it.

Room Tip: Weekends are sometimes noisy with college kids, parties, and celebrations. The summer can be a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a typical Ramada Inn, on a boring semi-industrial stretet in Costa Mesa but about a mile from the edge of Newport Bay. We got a $20 upgrade to a "junior king suite", which was worth that small extra amount. The breakfast service was great, and the best thng there.

Room Tip: Ask for the upgrade to a "junlor king suite". it's a bit larger and worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed there twice. On both occasions couldn't get enough sleep because of the noisy neighbors, noise from outside, children screaming and running up and down the stairs. I could even hear the neighbors TV and knew what program was on, etc. On my first stay I was woken up at 2 am by loud voices, swearing and smashing of the doors of what sounded like a big party of young people. It didn't stop for hours. I had an important meeting early in the morning, so decided to call the front desk at 4 am and ask for their help. Well, the person on duty made the whole thing sound like I was crazy making up stories and said he had no idea where this party was etc. At this stage people were running up and down the stairs yelling and laughing. In the morning I went to the front desk to ask to give me a room in the other end of the motel. The guy at the front dest still looked like he didnt believe a word i was saying. Thankfully there was a lady guest there who confirmed everything i said and said she couldn't sleep either and she was two floor up from my room. The guy over sudden understood what we were talking about and said that it was perhaps a wedding party and that there were checking out soon. No apologies, nothing was said to show even a slight respect for the guests.

Apart from sleepless nights, I should mention the rooms are very basic, motel style with this peculiar smell. Corridor area and the lift were dirty and smelly most of the time. The pool area never had fresh towels, so I had to call the front desk and ask for them standing and waiting there wet. And the response of hotel stuff would be like "ok", no apologies at realization there was a mismanagement of some sort, but rather making it look like I was bothering them with some silly things and distracting them from their direct and important duties. Once I and my 5 yo son came back to the room after a swim in the pool and realised a little too late that the towels were all taken from the room but no fresh ones were supplied. My son was already in a shower and I was on the phone with the front desk saying that the room service forgot to supply towels. The same young guy's response in a very cold voice with a hint of irritation in it was: "they didn't forget the towels. It's just we don't have any fresh ones at the moment. Please wait and they will be delivered soon". Again, there were no apologies, but it actually sounded like I was again giving him hard time by asking stupid questions. Thankfully I had a not so fresh beach towel we could use after shower. There were also some minor things like non supply of coffee or soap by room service. Room service stuff is also non-apologetic and no smiles or greetings. It came to the point when I would realise something was missing or broken, but wouldn't ask for help from the stuff because of the negativity with which all of my requests were met.

Would I stay there again- never!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Well, I live in HB which is about ohhhh.... 8 minutes from this hotel. I received a Groupon opportunity to stay and thought, "Why not?" The front desk people are extremely friendly. They make you feel like that they will take care of anything you need and really mean it. The rooms are moderate. Not luxurious by any means, but comfortable and spacious. The room I had in particular, 210, was definitely friendly for anyone in a wheelchair. Especially the bathroom. The parking lot seems big in the day, when there are not a lot of cars, but at night, I had a hard time finding a space. My Groupon comes with a complimentary breakfast, so we'll see how that is tomorrow. They have a heated pool, jacuzzi, and fitness center,which I fully intend on taking advantage of tomorrow. Checkout time is 12, which seems to be a trend with hotels lately, which I really like. I guess my only real complaint would be the TV. Now, I know, you really shouldn't spend too much time in a hotel room--you should be out and about in the intended city, but tomorrow is the NFL playoffs and I don't really want to watch it on an old Analog TV. As far as channels go, they have tons, but with no flat screen, it kinda defeats the purpose. Maybe it's to cut costs, but I would really recommend this establishment to upgrade the TVs.

Room Tip: I'm on the middle floor and can really hear every stomp that happens upstairs. I guess I would r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach

Address: 1680 Superior Avenue, Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn & Suites Costa Mesa/Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Ramada Inn And Suites Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
Ramada Newport Beach
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach CA - Orange County
Costa Mesa Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.