We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel to your Saves list
Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3350 Avenue of the Arts, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (Formerly Wyndham Orange County Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Yorba Linda
1 review
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

For our anniversary I planed a night at the Performing Art Center and a restful night stay at the hotel across the street. The play was great, the hotel even better. Every one of the staff members seemed to go out of their way to welcome us to what seemed like their hotel; they were very personable yet extremely professional. The room was exceptional, clean, well decorated and overlooked a green belt and water pond. We loved the recently remodeled bar where we had their signature drink, great appetizers and a desert that was amazing. After the play it was a five minute walk back to the hotel where we were able to spend time enjoying the comfortable surroundings before going up to our room. We were aware that improvements to the hotel were in progress, but impressed by how little it seemed to inconvenience us. We can’t wait for the next play and a chance to stay at the Wyndham.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sloan S, Front Office Manager at Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Good evening,

I am so happy that we were able to be a part of your special evening. Our proximity to the Performing Arts Center is truly unbeatable and that is a level that we are striving to make our product and service meet. Based on your experience it sounds like we hit the mark ;) Please feel free to reach out to me directly with any questions or concerns and we look forward to your next visit. Warm regards,

Sloan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    298
    136
    65
    47
See reviews for
276
271
78
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

At first glance this place looks pretty nice. The rooms have recently been updated, so it's clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable and the desk area wasn't terrible, it was a little small, but workable. The first night I ordered room service and they were very pleasant, quick and the food was pretty decent. I was pretty happy when I went to bed the first night...and then at about 6am the guy in the room next to me woke up and I could hear EVERYTHING he was doing in his bathroom. From my bed. It was like his bathroom was IN my room. I was so disgusted I made a loud noise, which I'm pretty sure he heard and decided to screw with me cause the throat clearing and nose blowing got even louder. I have been in hotels with thin walls before, but I've never heard so much bathroom noise before! They really should have put some sound proofing between the walls when they were doing the work...gross. There was an issue with the parking as well. So you can either pay for the valet, or pay to park yourself (the garage is literally right there, so why pay for valet??) and if you park yourself you have to get a ticket, but then you use your hotel key to get in and out, it's kind of a weird system. I self parked and when I received my folio they had charged me for valet...they fixed it, but it seems like they need to work on their parking system. The location is good, so I might stay here again, but I will make sure I have my ear plugs!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sloan S, Front Office Manager at Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Good evening,

I am glad you liked our renovations and furnishings, but I am disappointed those pleasantries are juxtaposed against the parking and walls issues. The parking issues are currently being addressed. In fact we are rolling out an entirely new operating system starting in the early hours tomorrow which will narrow the margin for error in these types of scenarios. For the large majority of our rooms, noise from the neighbors isn’t an issue. Please reach out to me directly on your next stay and I will personally ensure that you get a room that won’t require earplugs :)Warm regards,

Sloan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This Wyndham location is nice enough. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly. There are two big negatives with this location. First, they make you pay almost $17 to park your car. Second, there is no free Internet in the rooms. At the end of the day after adding all the extras you may ask yourself as I did, why not book the Marriott next door?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sloan S, Front Office Manager at Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Good evening,

The experience in your review seemed to be enjoyable and it is always good to hear the room quality, and service was pleasant. Our location truly is superb, but as you pointed out it does have some associated costs, and there are several hotels in the area. When staying at our property overnight parking is $17 and WiFi is $9.95. Although these may seem outlandish, they are some of the lowest costs in the area. For example you mentioned staying at one of our neighboring hotels may have been cheaper; however when staying at said hotel overnight parking is $21 and WiFi is $12.95. I sent you a private message in hopes to get a little more information on which amenities and the costs associated with those amenities, could be deterrents. Warm regards,

Sloan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was booked into the Wyndham for a 3 night stay while attending a business conference. When I checked in I was told that they were overbooked. I was very surprised by that and a little irritated. But, management was very apologetic and made arrangements for me to stay at their sister property. I was also assured that I would be given a suite for the next two nights at their property to make up for the inconvenience. They followed through on their promise and I was given a large, beautiful suite for the other 2 nights. The manager, Sloan, made sure I was very satisfied with my stay. If you want to be well taken care of I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sloan S, Front Office Manager at Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Good evening,

I remember your stay very well. Being overbooked is something every hotelier despises, and walking guests to a sister property is a practice we are not very fond of. Thank being said, I am ecstatic we were able to turn a disappointing start, into a memorable finish. I know I mention our 4 diamond service standard frequently in my responses, but it is because we take it so seriously and are constantly striving to meet and exceed that goal. I believe this experience is a perfect example of our wonderful team not only meeting our service standard but exceeding it. Thank you for your kind words, and please reach out to me directly to arrange your next visit. Warm regards,

Sloan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I liked the restaurant at this hotel, and the room was quite spacious (although I did receive a room with two beds for just me). However, there were a couple of issues. The wi-fi is EXTREMELY SLOW and costs $10 per night. For a business traveler, this is not acceptable. TV is quite old and is not HD. Also, ordered breakfast for a specified time and was told it was running late so that they could provide the fresh fruit I ordered. NOT OK when I'm working on a business schedule. Also, there is a parking garage which is not in any way connected to the hotel, which requires always walking outside and across the drive to get into the hotel. Not a huge issue, but a bit of an inconvenience if you're constantly lugging items to and from the hotel room and car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sloan S, Front Office Manager at Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Good evening,

I would first like to apologize for the tardiness in my reply to your review. I think your review highlighted some issues that we are aware of on property and are taking steps to remedy. A business traveler, such as you, is really our key client and making our property their home away from home, with all the conveniences of the office is our goal. I would like to thank you for your valuable feedback, and should you need anything further please feel free to reach out to me directly. Warm regards,

Sloan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for three nights. As soon as I checked in I started to notice things. My room was on the small side and kind of dark. Not one to the lamps worked correctly with out flipping the switch a few times. They had also tried to squeeze a chair into a double queen room, when there is really no room - at all - it. The room had a patio with two chairs, but on the other side of the greenery appeared to be more than a dozen other tables. Luckily, it seems the conference area was under construction or I sure this could have been a much bigger issue. The 32" flat panel, not very big, had terrible reception. There was a slight hum and static on the screen at all time and on all channels. I made sure the connections were tight to no avail. I left my room to go grab something from the gift shop. Lights on and no body home. I checked at the front desk and they said the employee would be right back. I can back 30 minutes later and still no one. They radioed a different employee who was able to get in and assist me. When returning in the early evening, 6pm, to grab something and the shop was completely closed. They were closed at 7:30am as well. With no vending machine and an ice machine that DIDN'T work on my floor, I was forced to leave to get what I needed. The restaurant and bar were fine, but over priced. It seemed like the staff was working hard, but the menu just didn't quite live up to the price. From what I gathered, they had just reopened the bar and restaurant and this was a work in progress. The workout room really was nice. Clearly all new equiptment and enough that 4 of us were able to work out at the same time. Back to the room. Very frustration that I could hear everything that went on in my neighbors room. Not muffled voices, but I could have participated in her conference call if I wished. The open aired business center in the guest hallway and being three rooms down I could hear conversations taking plan in that area as well. All in all, I would never stay here again. Nor would I recommend anyone else staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sloan S, Front Office Manager at Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Good morning,

I am sorry your expectations were not met during your recent stay. Your review has brought some issues to light that our executive management team can now assess and evaluate. Reviews such as yours are extremely important to us and we value the feedback greatly, especially since we are at the tail end of our multi-million dollar renovation. Now is the time when we need to really focus on the finer details. I would love the opportunity to change your experience at our property to one that accurately reflects the product, and experience we are striving to perfect. I will send you a personal email with such an offer, and if you could be so kind as to provide me with further details and feedback on possible solutions that would be wonderful. I am fully confident we can change your experience to one that you would recommend highly. Thank you for your time and have a wonderful day. Warm regards,

Sloan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our National Sales Meeting. The meeting rooms are close to the sleeping rooms. The catering staff exceeded expectations - catering to every need. It was a very good meeting and everyone was pleased.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake. Very quiet and peaceful. Be sure to look for the family of tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sloan S, Front Office Manager at Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Good morning,

I am so delighted your experience with our meeting rooms and catering team was wonderful. Our catering team is such a vital part of our hotel, it is great to hear that they made your experience that much more enjoyable. The family of turtles is very special to my heart :) They are quickly becoming our unofficial mascot. Thank you so much for your time. Warm regards,

Sloan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel

Address: 3350 Avenue of the Arts, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (Formerly Wyndham Orange County Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge the senses with unparalleled comfort and modern convenience at South Coast's most cosmopolitan address - the Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel. Perfectly positioned midway between Los Angeles and San Diego, the hotel is opposite the Performing Arts center and 1 block from South Coast Plaza Mall. Guests can enjoy the Silver Trumpet Restaurant & Bar offering lunch and dinner menus and a breakfast buffet. Additional amenities include a fitness center, 24 hour room service, and outdoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Wyndham
Avenue Of The Arts Wyndham Hotel Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.