We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service, weak food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin South Coast Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin South Coast Plaza to your Saves list
The Westin South Coast Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   686 Anton Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, great service, weak food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I travel for work and stay here every week. Most of the front desk reps even recognize me when I check in every monday. For the most part, I don't ask much of them. I go to work in the morning, work out in the evening, go to sleep at night. The room is always made up to perfection every day. I once had to stay here over a 2 week period and asked if there was another method of laundry service to avoid what would be a $250 laundry bill using their out-of-house service. They graciously offered to use the housekeeping facilities to wash my clothes. I'm sure that's an exception but one that went far in my book.

They only lose a star on the food and drink aspects. I expect to pay a premium for both but their entrees tend to be bland, boring, and somewhat meager portions. Their mixed drinks are on the weaker side as well. I typically avoid room service and the bar.

I hate to end the review on a bad note since I enjoy this hotel so much. As I said earlier, the rooms are great and the staff is fantastic. The location very useful for me since I work right down the road but you also have quick access to the freeway to go to Newport Beach, LA, or San Diego. This is a quality hotel and I will continue to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Kevin C,
Thank you for letting us know that you truly enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the feedback regarding to our in-room dining and lobby lounge. We take your feedback very serious and truly care about what your personal preference is so we can continue to improve.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    235
    93
    31
    11
See reviews for
115
128
63
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Westin is a great brand; it's even better overseas. My first time at this location was a delight. Greeted with a warm smile upon check in (sadly this is a lost art these days). The front desk was empathetic to my needs and introduced me to the bellman. Convenient location to 405 Fwy and across the street from perhaps the best shopping mall in the country. Ill be back.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that if your room faces over the pool and waterfall, the live music may keep you up if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Esqtodd,
Thank you for providing us feedback that our team welcomed you with empathy. It is very important to us that our team delivers the experience that helps you feel at your best.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I arrived lat on a Friday night greated by the young front desk associate. I had asked where the nearest CVS was and shee asked what was I looking to purchase. When I stated cold medication she came from the back with several samples for me to choose from. The expereince did not end there. She closed the experience out by asking if I would liket some soup and crackers sent to the room. Very good example of reading my needs.
Hotel was clean.... long lings at Starbucks. Really like the complimentary self-park across the street. great visit!!!

Room Tip: Unload out front and drive around the corner to self park in garage.
See more room tips
Green Features: Make a green choice option on cleaning the room. options to full fluss or low flow flush. Paperliss billing.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear msneen,
It is great that our front office staff was able to assist with your experience when you came. We look forward to your return.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I was a coordinator for an event held at the westin south coast plaza. The event was for approximately 100 people, a 20 year class reunion. The banquet room was set up on time and even early. I asked the captain, Jose Ornelas, for another table. He quickly set it up, no questions asked. In fact, whatever I needed, the wait staff, under the direction of Jose, took care of it.
Our event was a buffet dinner, which was quite tasty. It included lots of fresh vegetables and other healthy choices. The wait staff are very well trained, prompt and courteous. Jose appears low key but clearly is in control.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear janeyjans,
Thank you for choosing our property for your meeting. It is great to hear that Jose from our Banquet team made all the difference.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Spent four days here for business. All of the meetings were held on property. Very nice rooms and overall very clean. Great place for business meetings. You can use your own rental car or the transit system which is a close walk. Also very close to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Mark G,
Thank you for coming to our hotel for your business needs. We are glad to hear that your meeting experience met your expectations.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS VEGAS
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The staff was exceptional, as was the service. We ordered room service after 11pm, it arrived quickly and steaming, it wasn't the best burger I ever ate (bone particles), rather pricey, but it filled the void.
The bed was comfortable, the room was clean.
Was NOT happy with the high parking fee per day. With the cost of the room, I felt it should have been complimentary, at the very least, cheaper.
Location is great, walk to South Coast Plaza, restaurants, and a nice park.
Would I stay here again, absolutely!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear CKTLS4U,
Thank you for letting us know that the staff was exceptional. We strive to deliver experiences that are memorable. Thank you for staying with us.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband and I got a room here because its one of the hotels your could have pets stay in. Rather surprised when the valet here told us how much parking would be but still pleased with our choice. Westin's bar and lobby area was stunning as was the water fall outside. Our room was quite clean and comfortable. All in all an enjoyable stay.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear janiemygirl,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you on your next stay.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
0.3 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
0.4 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott Suites
Costa Mesa Marriott Suites
#7 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.5 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
2.0 mi away
Fairmont Newport Beach
Fairmont Newport Beach
#13 of 17 in Newport Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin South Coast Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin South Coast Plaza

Address: 686 Anton Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin South Coast Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at the Westin South Coast Plaza, Costa Mesa allows you to discover the culture, glamour and excitement of Orange County. Close to theater, shopping, Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin South Coast Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin South Coast Plaza Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Westin
Westin South Coast Plaza
Westin Hotel Costa Mesa
Westin Costa Mesa
Westin South Caost Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin South Coast Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.