We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin South Coast Plaza

Save Saved
You added The Westin South Coast Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin South Coast Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   686 Anton Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Costa Mesa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canoga Park CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Classy hotel in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The lobby is pleasant and the room was a good size. The location is good - you can walk over a pedestrian bridge to the South Coast Plaza mall, with its stores and restaurants. (Please note: the vast majority of the stores are VERY expensive, though there is a Sears.)

The hotel is located in a park-like area which also houses the South Coast Repertory and the Performing Arts Center. Also nearby is the Noguchi California Scenario, a plaza designed by famous sculptor Isamu Noguchi. It is behind two large office buildings which have facades of blue-green glass, on the other side of Anton St., catty-corner from the hotel. It is definitely worth a short walk to see it.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Out_of_Valley
Thank you for staying with us. We are delighted our hotel met your needs in the location and services.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    200
    84
    21
    10
See reviews for
94
110
58
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

You know your on the road a bit too much when the valets, bellmen, bar tender, and front desk start to recogonize you. I guess I have over 30 nights here in the last few years. Glad to see some new room service options and the chef's nightly special on offer. Great service as always. Thanks to all for the continued level of personal service I'd never expect at a Westin.

Room Tip: Most rooms are all the same. You're not likely to get an upgrade aside from a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear SPGwanderlust,
We are refreshed that our team made an emotional connection with you when you stayed with us. We look forward to your return.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel while in Costa Mesa! Was attached to South Coast Plaza, so it made shopping and eating easy! The staff were great and always willing to accommodate you. Hotel was clean and well maintained. It's close to the highway so was perfect for visiting Laguna Beach, Newport Beach, and Disneyland!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Anthony O,
We are glad to hear that our team assisting you in your accommodations and you felt we met all your needs.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Let me start by saying that my stay was company paid so I got to 'enjoy' this experience for free. (between $200 and $300 a night) Having said that, I was still very disappointed with this hotel. Where do I start?

1- The self-parking structure is in a building ACROSS THE STREET! on the FIFTH FLOOR!
2- The hotel side entrance facing the above parking structure is LOCKED (even at 5pm after work) . You have to walk ALL THE WAY around to the front to enter the hotel to get in.
3- There is no breakfast buffet! I have never heard of such a thing. A hotel with no breakfast buffet should be banned! haha
4- Their restaurant where you could get breakfast is overpriced and half the things on their menu were unavailable.
5- The modest breakfast for one that I did order cost over $30 ! certainly not value for money
6- Their dinner selection was underwhelming and overpriced too. I had a $50 steak that was just appalling
7- The rooms didn't have a microwave and charged too much per day for it ($15 or so)

I could go on but honestly I don't remember all the things that I hated about this place and there 's no point. Do yourself a favour and go to the Hilton down the street on Bristol or the Marriott on Von Karman Street. Half the price and twice the amenities.

Stay away

Room Tip: don't go here. just don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear FrakN,
Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies that your needs were not met on your visit. We hope that we will get another opportunity to deliver for you.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a great hotel! So close to the airport, super clean, excellent service. The pool area is beautiful.. I loved going up there in the evening and looking at the stars. I loved that it was walking distance to the mall.. great shopping and amazing restaurants. A couple of tips.. you can get drinks/food delivered poolside if you just call a number, so bring your smartphone up there. And, there was a sign you could put on your door saying you didn't need new sheets.. we didn't realize we were declining housekeeping entirely. Duh. It was a bit of a disappointment and entirely our fault. All in all an excellent stay.. can't say enough about the pool!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Jenn R,
Our team is dedicated to delivering experiences that are memorable and lasting. We are glad to hear that you felt our pool environment made your stay special. Look forward to your return.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have stayed at handful of different Westin hotels all over the world and this is certainly one of the better ones that I have stayed at, in particular the level of service that I have received.

Location wise, it is perfect for the tourist. It is not far from John Wayne Airport, and it is right across from South Coast Plaza, great for shoppers. Next to various famous Orange County dining venues such at Scott's Seafood, Pinot Noir (in house restaurant that have won many awards), Mastro's Steakhouse to other affordable dining such as TGI Friday's and In & Out Burger. There is a big Japanese market Mitsuwa across the freeway (walkable about 15 mins) which features one of the best and cheapest Japanese food and produces in Southern California.

The hotel itself features a nice gym, an outdoor pool, and a starbucks at lobby level. I was surprised that this hotel restaurant do not offer a breakfast buffet, instead they opted for grab and go options which I think the Food & Beverage department should consider implement a buffet breakfast which is more suitable for hotel at this size.

The room, although a bit dated, but it is still in a decent condition. It meets all the Westin brand standards from decoration to bedding, toiletries, and showers. I was informed by the lovely front desk associate Christina that the renovation is on the way later this year. I am looking forward to see that!

The key component for me to return to this hotel is the staff. From the front desk Christina whom took her best effort to try to help us to have rooms close to each other on a sold out night to Service Express personnel Jonathan whom was eager to help and helped me to complete my requests in a timely manner. It all gave me very good impression to return to this hotel and I believe their level of service should be recognized.

I am definitely looking forward to return to this hotel again when I am in the area and would not hesitate to recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Doraemon79,
Our team is dedicated to delivering memorable experiences and it is truly refreshing to see that they delivered on your stay.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a great hotel in a perfect location. The rooms are very quite and there are plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby. I recommend this hotel over the others in the area. Very clean. They also have an airport shuttle.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sean A,
Thank you for staying with us. We truly value you as a guest and look forward to your return.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin South Coast Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin South Coast Plaza

Address: 686 Anton Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#4 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin South Coast Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at the Westin South Coast Plaza, Costa Mesa allows you to discover the culture, glamour and excitement of Orange County. Close to theater, shopping, Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Westin South Coast Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin South Coast Plaza Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Westin
Westin South Coast Plaza
Westin Hotel Costa Mesa
Westin Costa Mesa
Westin South Caost Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin South Coast Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.