We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin South Coast Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin South Coast Plaza to your Saves list
The Westin South Coast Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   686 Anton Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
El Segundo, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overall Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Nice lobby with restaurant and bar, very friendly staff. Room was clean, comfortable and large.
The location is great close to shopping and many restaurants.
The fitness centre was adequate, several treadmills, elliptical machine and a bike, a cable machine and some free weights.

Only downside was the exorbitant parking fee.

Would stay again and recommend to others but caution would about parking fee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear deislandman,
Thank you for staying with us at The Westin South Coast Plaza Hotel. We value your feedback. We strive to deliver experiences that are memorable. We hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    221
    90
    29
    10
See reviews for
106
125
61
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Okay, I am a bit biased because I love the South Coast Plaza mall, and having a bridge leading to that mall from this hotel makes me happy. Another thing that makes me happy is the Westin signature fragrance that lightly and tastefully permeates the hotel. The same fragrance is present in their lotion and other toiletries. In fact, I have bought their toiletries online because it is probably my absolute favorite scent. Rooms and beds are nice. Have not heard neighbors through walls (my biggest peeve in hotels). Great service from most of the employees.

As others have mentioned, the parking fee is offensive. There seems to be plenty of open spots in the parking garage, but there is a charge for self-parking, as well as valet. I believe all hotels should offer their guests free parking, free internet, and a couple of free bottles of water each day--after all, it is the hospitality industry. Please know that the Westin is not the only hotel in the area that charges for these things, however. And the higher the room rate, the higher the parking and Wi-Fi charges.

Even with its couple of flaws, this Westin will be where I will stay next time I go back to the area.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Lisa V,
Thank you for letting us know how you felt during your recent experience. We value your opinion. We are glad to hear you will be coming back.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We drove up to the hotel and were offered valet parking for an additional $30. We declined only to be charged $20 for the privilege of parking in a garage across the street. This would have been acceptable if we had known in advance but we did not. Perhaps the most irritating part of our stay is that we were charged extra for wifi. In this day and age it should be included in a hotel of this caliper. The room was clean and fine.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear arlyjb,
Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies, that your experience did not meet your expectations.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here for one night for work and it was a very fine hotel. My room was spacious and clean, though the bathroom was starting to look a little over-used. There is a large pool and very nice gym that overlooks the pool area. I stayed here for business, so didn't get a chance to use many facilities other than the treadmill. It's always nice though to use a hotel gym in an open space that isn't just a closed off hotel room! We ate in the restaurant which had great service and pretty delicious meals as well. Everyone was friendly and the location was prime for what I needed.

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet, though those overlooking the pool are slightly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Kate G,
Thank you for staying with us at The Westin South Coast Plaza hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I will be brief. On the 3rd day of our stay, a Sunday, my wife and I spent the afternoon at the pool. It was a beautiful day, the pool was quiet, and very relaxing. We had tickets to see "Billy Elliott" next door at the Arts Center.

When we returned to our room at 5pm, starting to clean up for the show, we discovered that there was NO HOT WATER. I called down to the Customer line to report the problem. The woman at the other end of the line apologized and said we should have received a letter mentioning that the boiler was being repaired and there would be no hot water from noon until midnight. Unfortunately, there was no notice, no voice mail , no letter and no sign in the lobby mentioning this 'slight' inconvenience. The assistant manager apologized, and offered to cover our out of pocket expenses which totally no more than $60, as we dined outside the hotel every day. We were not happy.

Another peeve is the parking rates. When we drove up on Friday night we learned that the valet parking rate was $30 per day, and self-parking was $20 per day. This is totally outrageous, when the hotel room was around $125 per night.

I am Starwood Gold and was not offered any of the Starwood amenities upon checkin. While we were comfortable in our room, the lack of notice regarding the shut off of hot water, plus the outrageous parking fees, has totally led us to rethink staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Jim90068,
Our deepest apologies that you had this unfortunate experience. We value you as a Starwood Preferred Gold member and will ensure that we take your feedback to improve the service we provide to our valued guests. We hope you will give us another opportunity to deliver for you.
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times and always enjoyed it. The room is big and comfortable although time for some improvements. Staff is friendly although the most I ever got to try was a quick coffee even though they have coffee service in the room. Hats off to the hotel for $1 water for convenience when everyone lose wants to make a killing on water.
As others mention valet parking a little pricey. Convenient for SNA, Southcoast Plaza, and more. I would definitely return but I would not pay extra to stay here

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Rich W
Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope to see you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've probably stayed at this hotel 30 times over the last six or seven years. He lobby was remodeled about five years ago and it is pretty nice. There are nice amenities and a fountain that adds to the ambiance, but the location is the best thing about this hotel. It is located 10minutes north of John Wayne (Orange County) Airport and is quickly accessible from the 405. It is directly adjacent to the South Coast Repertory Theatre and across the street from one of the finest shopping malls you will visit. In Southern California that is saying something! Costa Mesa in situated very near Irvine and provides short commutes to Irvine and even Anaheim (Disneyland), although there are lots of other options if Disney is your primary destination. This is primarily a business hotel, but there are always weddings there because of the lovely grounds and the stunning theatre backdrops. There is a decent gym and a swimming pool that provide a nice escape from business calls. There used to be free WiFi in the lobby, but they may be charging now. Rooms can be on the expensive side depending on which days of the week you are there and events, but you can find deals there periodically. I always check SPG.com since rates can range from $169 to over $300. There are some great hidden gems in the area...one is the Anti-Mall about 5 miles down Bristol (go over the freeway). Havana is a terrific Cuban restaurant. Try the Ropa Vieja! The food at the hotel is decent, but generic. Definitely skip the pizza. There are so many good restaurants in the area I encourage you to venture out. Finally, there is a walking trail and bridge over Bristol so you can walk to the mall!

Room Tip: Ask for upper room facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Wolverine325,
Thank you for your recent visit with us. We truly appreciate feedback on our valued guest experiences. We do have complimentary internet in the lobby for our guest use. We hope that you will come back and visit us on your next visit.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Westin South Coast Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin South Coast Plaza

Address: 686 Anton Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#4 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#6 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin South Coast Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at the Westin South Coast Plaza, Costa Mesa allows you to discover the culture, glamour and excitement of Orange County. Close to theater, shopping, Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin South Coast Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin South Coast Plaza Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Westin
Westin South Coast Plaza
Westin Hotel Costa Mesa
Westin Costa Mesa
Westin South Caost Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin South Coast Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.