We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class reunion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin South Coast Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin South Coast Plaza to your Saves list
The Westin South Coast Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   686 Anton Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Class reunion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My class reunion was at this hotel. The hotel is perfectly located to the South Coast Plaza mall, a Segerstrom Performaing Arts Center and numerous restaurants. This is not a new hotel but the rooms are large, well appointed, and the beds are extremely comfortable. Parking is $20 per day for self-parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear ibaol,
Thank you for letting us know that you felt our rooms are spacious and comfortable. It is so important to feel at your best when traveling. We look forward to your return.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    205
    86
    25
    10
See reviews for
98
115
58
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

The property is older but the amenities are nice. The bed is comfortable and the rooms are large and comfortable. However, you can tell this property is older and for the price - you could gay at a newer nicer property. Basically you're paying for location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Imleyva_MBA,
Thank you for your feedback. Our team strives to maintain our property to the fullest. We are deligent in providing a product that is fresh and delivering on experiences that are memorable. We hope to see you on your next stay.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The Westin South Coast is a beautiful Hote. The staff was first class for check in, the room was clean. My problem was 2 doors down, there was a BARKING DOG! Yes, I said Barking Dog. After many calls to the front desk, Nothing was ever done. It was very rude of the guest to leave the dog alone all day for everyone on the floor to enjoy. The Hotel staff was not helpful in keeping or stopping the dog from barking. Never did they ask if I wanted to change rooms or care about my concern. So next time you check in, please make sure you are on the NO DOG side.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear 50thbirthday4,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. My sincere apologies that you were disturbed during your stay. We are dedicated to providing an environment that all of our guests can thrive. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you the service you deserve at Westin.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I don't often get to stay at Westin's, but when I do I have always been happy. This one has so many pluses for me. The footbridge takes you across to South Coast Plaza and to one of my favorite smaller chain restaurants, Season's 52. Scott's Restaurant is right outside of the lobby (a local favorite of mine), and Morton's and Nordstrom Rack are all within walking distance.

I mention walking because you don't really need a car, and at $20 for self park, and $28 for valet (which is crazy expensive even for this area) you are better off walking.

Top score for me? The fitness room. Almost brand new treadmills and ellipticals, as well as a nice view of the pool. I only ate one night in the lobby bar and the chicken quesadilla was in a whole wheat tortilla with proper pico and guac on the side.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Steve_N_018,
Thank you for your feedback. At Westin, we truly believe in our guest wellness. I am glad you were able to renew yourself while with us. We look forward to your return.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I appreciate how fast the check in was considering I had a really long day at work then a 5 hour flight before arriving at the hotel. My cousin asked for an adaptor and was given a complimentary one right away. Food from room service was good and brought to our room fast. Very clean, large rooms and pretty lobby area. I appreciate the power strip on the vanity table anticipating needs of techie travelers. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear kait1yn,
Our team understands the committment to making life easier for the busy business traveler. It is nice to see that our team made your travel experience simple and seamless. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband & I attended my friend's wedding reception held at The Westin & had reserved a room for convenience. We had several delays en route to the hotel & I had called ahead to advise them of our late arrival. Staff was awesome and assured our room would not be given away. We finally arrived in the wee hours of the morning & they upgraded our room to the 14th floor. Very clean, large rooms/bathroom. Lots of restaurant choices within a mile if you decide you don't want room service. Great mall right next door, right off the 405 & has a decent pool. Starbucks right downstairs was a huge plus. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Tina E,
We are glad that you had a memorable visit when staying with us. It is great to hear that our team was able to exceed your expectations during your hectic travels. We look forward to you returning.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Best Westin I've ever stayed at and one of the best hotels in general. I took advantage of a 20% prepay special and the value is quite remarkable. Very large rooms, immaculate, airy, sparkling clean bathroom, double-head shower, tons of towels. Lovely lobby area with a gorgeous waterfall in the central courtyard area. So much fun to watch a wedding take place there. Excellent, generous gym overlooking the pool. Easy walkway over to the mall. My room overlooks a small park by the Performance Arts Center--ask for that view when you come. Friendly staff. I'm here on business; a treat to sit by the pool working on my computer. I just wish upscale hotels like these wouldn't feel compelled to charge for Internet access ($11.95 for the day).

Room Tip: Room overlooking the Performing Arts Center. Nice view of a small park in front of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear MelsmomNe,
Thank you for letting us know that you felt our hotel exceeded your expectations for the Westin experience. Having the ability to relax and be in control of your stay is key to travel. It is nice that we helped to provide a renewing moment for you while you did your business at our hotel. Look forward to your return.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin South Coast Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin South Coast Plaza

Address: 686 Anton Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#4 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#6 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin South Coast Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at the Westin South Coast Plaza, Costa Mesa allows you to discover the culture, glamour and excitement of Orange County. Close to theater, shopping, Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin South Coast Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin South Coast Plaza Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Westin
Westin South Coast Plaza
Westin Hotel Costa Mesa
Westin Costa Mesa
Westin South Caost Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin South Coast Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.