We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin South Coast Plaza

Save Saved
You added The Westin South Coast Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin South Coast Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   686 Anton Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Costa Mesa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This hotel is a very nice, understated hotel in the Westin tradition. The location adjacent to the upscale South Coast Plaza and associated restaurants. Secure car storage which is important to me. We will return and stay for a longer visit next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear David S,
We look forward to your return when you can stay with us for a longer visit. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and are planning on returning.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    196
    84
    21
    10
See reviews for
91
109
56
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
luvncancun
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This hotel has great access to South Coast Plaza. Upgraded to the Junior Suite--very nice. Fitness room and pool area were great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear luvncancun,
It is a pleasure to hear that we were able to upgrade you to one of our spacious suites and that the pool and fitness amenities met your needs.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Across the street from south coast mall. Walking distance to awesome restaurants. Great pool. Wonderful beds, What more can i say!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Furnman61,
It is great to hear that you feel the hotel is in the center of it all. A great night sleep is so important when traveling. Look forward to your return.
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahd
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for a wedding in one of the traditional rooms. The rooms were nice and the bed was comfortable. We had a pool view room, which looks lovely at night when lit up. I loved the bath amenities!! It had a white tea fragrance, which was simply divine!

The room service is prompt, but the menu is overpriced. The best thing about the hotel is its proximity to the South Coast Plaza (the largest in the area) and so the strategically constructed pedestrian bridge from the hotel to the mall was a boon for the shopaholic in me! Also, the proximity ensures that one can stroll to the mall and choose from the various dining options there, instead of being stuck with the hotel menu.

Overall, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Travelisor,
I agree that our white tea fragrance is simply divine. It has a soothing sensory experience that most people enjoy. All of our Westin Heavenly products are available on our website should you want to enjoy in the comforts of your home.
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

The Westin South Coast Plaza is without doubt a great hotel for business trips. The rooms are spacious and come complete with most things you could need (hair dryer, iron and board, etc)...they also have seriously powerful showers (always good first thing in the morning!) and one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in.

Other plus points include the heated outdoor pool and gym block...not large, but has good equipment. The service throughout the hotel is also second to none....from the moment you're greeted at the reception desk to the moment you check out, the staff are friendly, attentive and always happy to provide whatever you need.

Only one thing bugged me, namely the wi-fi connection. If you're here on business and need a reliable connection, you probably won't get it. The Westin wi-fi log-in screen constantly pops up, so you have to keep on entering your credentials....hugely annoying and disruptive.

One thing I will say, and this is subjective, is that the Westin is clearly a business hotel in its look and feel. This is fine of course, but if you're a travelling couple looking for a romantic break, this is probably not the hotel for you.

Overall...highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ice machines on each floor....they're really noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Grainged,
Our staff would be delighted to hear that you felt you were treated second to none. Thank you for the feedback regarding the Wi-fi connection. We strive to provide services that assist our guests in reaching their potential. Your feedback will assist us in ensuring we are delivering on that promise.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel several times and always pleased; this latest stay the staff was particularly helpful and friendly. They also have an environmental program that allows you to put a hang tag on the door that you do not need maid service and you get a $5 voucher for food at the hotel. I like to see that hotels are getting away from this constant washing of towels use once and bath items replaced when they are not needed. It was great. Free shuttle from Orange County airport too!

Room Tip: It is a better view to ask for a room that faces park. Theater and concert hall is right around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear dolls111,
We are delighted to hear that you welcome our Green practices. We are proud to be a Green Seal Certified hotel. Our hotel as well as Starwood practices many sustainable options to reduce our carbon imprint on the planet. We will continue our efforts to ensure we are doing our part to give back to the environment.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This hotel served its purpose of a clean, comfortable room for one night stay on a business trip. I arrived late and left early, so I probably did not get a full perspective. But everything was OK, if overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CostaMesaWestin, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin South Coast Plaza, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Jack90291,
We look forward to the opportunity to serve you in the future so we can deliver on your expectations. We work hard to deliver an experience to our guests and not merely just a satisfactory visit. We welcome your feedback and have the full confidence that we can improve our services to provide you with an experience that is memorable and what you expect from the Westin brand.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin South Coast Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin South Coast Plaza

Address: 686 Anton Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#4 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin South Coast Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at the Westin South Coast Plaza, Costa Mesa allows you to discover the culture, glamour and excitement of Orange County. Close to theater, shopping, Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Westin South Coast Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin South Coast Plaza Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Westin
Westin South Coast Plaza
Westin Hotel Costa Mesa
Westin Costa Mesa
Westin South Caost Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin South Coast Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.