We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprised, best motel in costa mesa!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Costa Mesa / Newport Beach Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Costa Mesa / Newport Beach Area to your Saves list
Super 8 Costa Mesa / Newport Beach Area
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2645 Harbor Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
San Francisco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“surprised, best motel in costa mesa!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

during the process of my apartment getting ready for my wife, our little boy, and myself to move in, we needed a place to stay. we found that this motel had good reviews so indeed stayed until our apartment was ready to move in. Edgar the manager was king enough to provide us with a weekly rate which really helped us out since we had a budget to follow. I can't express much more than all the good reviews this hotel has already gotten,the entire staff was very helpful, Robert and Pablo were great! theirs a nice welcoming feeling this place gives you, we felt treated more as family than just guests. its very hard to see how this place would get negitive reviews or low scores,its the best motel i've stayed in by far! There's is a bar on site but didn't seem to bother us a bit, for the 2 weeks we stayed we never saw any sort of violence our loud noise or anything of that nature. My wife is very insucure and protected since we do have a 5 year old but we found the place to be very safe and clean. Edgar the manager should be given a five star for keeping the place the way it is, very friendly! very helpful with needs such as direction and recommendations. my soon Mathew would even ask if we were having breakfast at edgar's, meaning if we having breakfast in the lobby.. since it did seem as if he worked there 24/7. the waffles and different viarity of cerials for breakfast made is great, I'm not a big fan of carbs but the fruit made up for it. my little boy loved their danishes. Its the first place where i seen complimentary wine, nice. Also a good selection of free movies was great for us, kept us intertained, thats for sure. i can't express my self more. If there's ever a problem with our apartment i will definitely be coming back! for the price and amenities given i would choose this over any high end hotel(my personal view) thank you guys so much! from Mario & Jenni and Mathew.

Room Tip: we were bumped into a 2 queen beds with a jetted tub which was nice! all rooms are nice, if this was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    95
    53
    28
    14
See reviews for
88
66
36
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I chose Super 8 Costa Mesa on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews, and am still scratching my head about the discrepancy between the generally positive reviews and what my wife and I found there.

The motel is on very busy Harbor Blvd.; getting to places north of it (for example, I-405 and I-5) requires cutting across three lanes of heavy traffic to make a U-turn. There is a bar (Patrick’s Pub) on the north part of the property that shares the parking lot in front of the lobby. But most motel parking is in an interior area between two buildings (see Google maps), which seems pretty safe. We were told by a clerk that the north side of the facility (shared with the pub, which has an outdoor patio) is noisier than the south side, so we stayed on the south side. But we discovered there was off-premise nightlife on that side that cannot be seen from the motel (a night clerk told us this), but can certainly be heard. We found it objectionable.

This is an older facility: According to HotelGuides, the motel was built in 1960 and remodeled in 2005. For example, the exterior corridor to our second floor room was uneven and poorly patched in some places. There is no elevator. We are non-smokers, and though a clerk told us that rooms are non-smoking, she said that smoking can be done in the exterior corridors outside of the rooms. We saw ashtrays on some cooling/heating units protruding from rooms into the corridors, and observed a group of guys smoking close to our room. Our room was clean but pretty basic. Bed sheets were low cotton count, and some stains had not been completely laundered away. The motel did not seem to be very full when we stayed. While there were newer cars in the parking lot, there were also several older cars and trucks.

Overall, we found the quality of the facility, surroundings, and service to be subpar. Upon returning home, I could not find this motel listed in the 2011 AAA TourBook. I will be much more careful in selecting Costa Mesa and Newport Beach lodging in the future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We read other reviews about how good this motel was so we took a chance and we were stunned. It's all they said and more. It's clean, good location, has an adequate breakfast. The real advantage is the staff. The three front desk men we met were absolutely delightful, accomodating, extremely helpful, even entertaining. We couldn't have asked for more.

Room Tip: When we checked in the desk clerk told us about the "quiet area" and he was correct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COSTA MESA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The manager, Mr. Edgar Cobian, made it a great experience during my stay at this motel. He is very informative of the motel offerings such as the free breakfast in the morning & evening snacks in the front lobby. He is ready and willing to assist guest to make their stay a pleasant one. Thanks, Edgar!
Sincerely,
Leomar Noble
costa mesa

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Travelers know that you never know what you're going to get when you stay at a Super (i.e. the one in Sand Point Idaho....:-( This Super 8 however was the nicest one I've ever stayed at. It didn't hurt that we received a free upgrade to a larger room with a couch, but nevertheless the room was really really nice. It was clean, quiet, in great shape, and had a really nice shower. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, and they even had an open wine and snack hour in the evening during the football game in the lobby in the evening.(something I didn't partake in, but was a nice touch). When we complete our trip, we're headed back there for the night before flying out of the John Wayne airport and will probably stay there again on our next visit to Southern Cal.
As you probably know, Super 8's aren't 5 star, but if all you're looking for is a nice quiet, clean room without any deferred maintenance issues, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willows, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in Sept. 2011, and found this motel to be everything I had researched. We got senior price. King bed, non smoking. The room service was good and everything was clean except the carpet. We did complain about that. You wouldn't want your toddlers on it. I still give it 5 stars because the immenities were so good. The pool was crystal clear and swimmable. The spa was large and clean. We were ecstatic about the cedar steam room. Good food (could use a protein rather than so much carbs). Good free movies, great staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

we stayed 3 nights here in late September 2011.
We booked more that a month out on the Pre-Paid/Non-Cancelable rate
of $209 including tax for the total 3 night stay.
The room was clean, neat and tidy.
A good breakfast included, free wifi.Plenty of free parking.
Polite room and front counter staff.

Room Tip: This is a two story place, with no lift !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Costa Mesa / Newport Beach Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Costa Mesa / Newport Beach Area

Address: 2645 Harbor Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Costa Mesa / Newport Beach Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off of the 405 Freeway, the Costa Mesa Super 8 allows easy access to Southern California attractions including Disneyland, Newport Beach, Knottsberry Farm, Universal Studios, renowned shopping at South Coast Plaza and many other activities and attractions. The Super 8 of Costa Mesa offers SuperStart Breakfast that includes - Assorted Cereals, Fruit, Juice, Coffee, Tea, Toast, Bagels with Cream Cheese, Pastries, Oatmeal and self serve Waffle Bar. Nightly Evening Refreshments. Large Heated Pool, Sauna and Spa. In Room Coffee, Daily Paper - Delivered! Guest Business Center, Free WI FI throughout entire property. Complimentary DVD player and Movies available. Expanded Cable TV w/ HBO, CNN and ESPN. Many eateries nearby catering to all tastes including a new In-N-Out Burger. Kids 17 and under stay free with paid adult. It is our pleasure to make your stay in Orange County a comfortable and memorable experience. One button reservation from your smart phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Costa Mesa / Newport Beach Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Costa Mesa / Newport Beach Area Hotel Costa Mesa
Super Eight Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Super 8
Costa Mesa Super Eight
Super 8 Costa Mesa / Newport Beach Area CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Costa Mesa / Newport Beach Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.