We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy low-rise hotel near the Coast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach to your Saves list
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   881 West Baker Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off Weekend Stays
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfy low-rise hotel near the Coast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very nice property with just two stories. Located in a quiet neighborhood a short drive from Newport Beach/Balboa in SoCal. The morning fog breaks early here and there's a pool on the property to relax beside during the warm afternoons. Good access to the beaches (Newport or Laguna) or Disneyland. A good choice if flying into Orange County Airport or doing business in nearby Irvine Tech Zone/Univ. of Calif Irvine.

Room Tip: No views from the second floor rooms (low-rise residential neighborhood surrounds the complex) so ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and our close proximity to so many attractions including Balboa Island which is a favorite. Remember, our complementary shuttle goes within 5 miles of the hotel so we can gladly pick you up from John Wayne Airport next time! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Orange County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Roswell, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a conference and absolutely loved it. Location is easy to get in and out of and a lot of help from the front desk to find stuff. The breakfast is nice, the courtyard is quiet. It is close to some amazing shopping and not far from the beach. I will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our location. Next time, enjoy a trip to nearby South Coast Plaza. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit Costa Mesa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here while dealing with local elderly parent issues. Not a fun trip, but this hotel really helped us stay upbeat. The facility is not brand new, but very comfortable, well laid out, and has everything we needed including washing machines/dryers, great breakfasts, newspapers, full kitchen, wine by the bottle, happy hour, etc. etc. Our room was crisp and clean. Sue, the Manager made us feel like old friends and glad to see us. We will undoubtedly need to return to Costa Mesa, and we will certainly stay here and maybe even get to take a dip in the nice pool!

Room Tip: If you have lot of luggage, the stairs to the second floor may be difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of all of the wonderful amenities we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again when you travel to Costa Mesa and certainly reccomend a dip in the pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was the best hotel i have ever stayed in! the staff was amazing!! They were so friendly i really felt like i was with family. The bed was AMAZING!! I am going to buy the Sterns and Foster for my next bed!! Breakfast was good and i was amazed they had dinner too! The Inn is only a 20 min walk to the mall and has a plaza with a restaurant right next door. I will stay here anytime.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff helped make it even more memorable. We hope to have you stay with us again soon and do some more shopping at South Coast Plaza or enjoy our breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent three plus months at this location, the food was typically very good, actually the best of any Marriott Residence Inn I have stayed at, with the exception of the evening fare at the Pensacola FL location. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. The Manager (Sue) runs a good crew. Good breakfast, great variety.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms, I prefer the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ValricoJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were only there for one night, but were very pleased with the accommodations. We booked one of the 2-bedroom suites and it was like staying in an apartment. The full kitchen was modern and very functional and it was great to have a little living room with a fireplace! We found the beds to be really comfortable as well. We had friends that stayed in the smaller rooms and they too raved about the accommodations. There is a full breakfast served in the main lobby and it included something for everyone. Check-out is not until noon, which suited us just fine :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to have a fully equipped kitchen in the room, but glad you let us cook for you and were able to enjoy our full breakfast in the morning. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, ab
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place was excellent for our family get together (their was 20 of us). It was close to Disneyland, to the beach, shopping and easy access to the freeways. Yes it is close to the highway and it is noisy but I found that it was not that bad.

We had two penthouse suites and they accommodated us nicely. Other family members had books studio suites for the weekend. Altogether we had booked 5 rooms. All the rooms where clean and up to date with appliances.

The breakfast was always fresh and hot and the ladies who took care of the breakfast were extremely helpful and nice.

All the staff at the hotel where helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jclc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are so happy we were able to host your 50th Anniversary celebration and we enjoyed being able to help make it a success. I will share your comments with our staff and hope that you can make this an annual "reunion" to spend with your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Costa Mesa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
1.1 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
1.1 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott Suites
Costa Mesa Marriott Suites
#7 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Costa Mesa
0.6 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach

Address: 881 West Baker Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Costa Mesa, California Hotel is located in the heart of Orange County near beautiful Newport Beach. Just blocks from South Coast Plaza shopping center and John Wayne Airport, our hotel in Costa Mesa, CA is within close proximity to UC Irvine and the world famous oceanside communities of Newport, Huntington and Laguna Beaches. Enjoy a free hot breakfast buffet to start off the morning at our gatehouse, where guests gather to mingle. Our extended stay hotel in Costa Mesa, California specializes in providing you all the comforts of home. Each one of our spacious Costa Mesa suites offers separate living and sleeping areas with a King-size bed and a fully-equipped kitchen with oven. Our hotel near Newport Beach, California also includes free parking and free in-room wireless Internet access to keep you connected. Unwind in our outdoor pool or stay in stride at our fitness center. Our Residence Inn Costa Mesa, CA Hotel helps you maintain a balance of work and life as you thrive on your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing