We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy low-rise hotel near the Coast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach to your Saves list
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   881 West Baker Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfy low-rise hotel near the Coast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Very nice property with just two stories. Located in a quiet neighborhood a short drive from Newport Beach/Balboa in SoCal. The morning fog breaks early here and there's a pool on the property to relax beside during the warm afternoons. Good access to the beaches (Newport or Laguna) or Disneyland. A good choice if flying into Orange County Airport or doing business in nearby Irvine Tech Zone/Univ. of Calif Irvine.

Room Tip: No views from the second floor rooms (low-rise residential neighborhood surrounds the complex) so ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and our close proximity to so many attractions including Balboa Island which is a favorite. Remember, our complementary shuttle goes within 5 miles of the hotel so we can gladly pick you up from John Wayne Airport next time! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Orange County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    46
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
50
20
15
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, New Mexico, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a conference and absolutely loved it. Location is easy to get in and out of and a lot of help from the front desk to find stuff. The breakfast is nice, the courtyard is quiet. It is close to some amazing shopping and not far from the beach. I will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our location. Next time, enjoy a trip to nearby South Coast Plaza. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit Costa Mesa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here while dealing with local elderly parent issues. Not a fun trip, but this hotel really helped us stay upbeat. The facility is not brand new, but very comfortable, well laid out, and has everything we needed including washing machines/dryers, great breakfasts, newspapers, full kitchen, wine by the bottle, happy hour, etc. etc. Our room was crisp and clean. Sue, the Manager made us feel like old friends and glad to see us. We will undoubtedly need to return to Costa Mesa, and we will certainly stay here and maybe even get to take a dip in the nice pool!

Room Tip: If you have lot of luggage, the stairs to the second floor may be difficult.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of all of the wonderful amenities we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again when you travel to Costa Mesa and certainly reccomend a dip in the pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was the best hotel i have ever stayed in! the staff was amazing!! They were so friendly i really felt like i was with family. The bed was AMAZING!! I am going to buy the Sterns and Foster for my next bed!! Breakfast was good and i was amazed they had dinner too! The Inn is only a 20 min walk to the mall and has a plaza with a restaurant right next door. I will stay here anytime.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff helped make it even more memorable. We hope to have you stay with us again soon and do some more shopping at South Coast Plaza or enjoy our breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent three plus months at this location, the food was typically very good, actually the best of any Marriott Residence Inn I have stayed at, with the exception of the evening fare at the Pensacola FL location. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. The Manager (Sue) runs a good crew. Good breakfast, great variety.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms, I prefer the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for being a part of our family for three months and we enjoyed getting to spend time with you. We hope you come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were only there for one night, but were very pleased with the accommodations. We booked one of the 2-bedroom suites and it was like staying in an apartment. The full kitchen was modern and very functional and it was great to have a little living room with a fireplace! We found the beds to be really comfortable as well. We had friends that stayed in the smaller rooms and they too raved about the accommodations. There is a full breakfast served in the main lobby and it included something for everyone. Check-out is not until noon, which suited us just fine :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to have a fully equipped kitchen in the room, but glad you let us cook for you and were able to enjoy our full breakfast in the morning. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, ab
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place was excellent for our family get together (their was 20 of us). It was close to Disneyland, to the beach, shopping and easy access to the freeways. Yes it is close to the highway and it is noisy but I found that it was not that bad.

We had two penthouse suites and they accommodated us nicely. Other family members had books studio suites for the weekend. Altogether we had booked 5 rooms. All the rooms where clean and up to date with appliances.

The breakfast was always fresh and hot and the ladies who took care of the breakfast were extremely helpful and nice.

All the staff at the hotel where helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue_Cooke, General Manager at Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are so happy we were able to host your 50th Anniversary celebration and we enjoyed being able to help make it a success. I will share your comments with our staff and hope that you can make this an annual "reunion" to spend with your family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach

Address: 881 West Baker Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.