We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach to your Saves list
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   881 West Baker Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Shop in Costa Mesa
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Northridge, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I recently stayed here on a business trip and was pleasantly surprised when I walked into my room. It was like a mini apartment! Full kitchen, living area with king bed, 2 closets, vanity area and bathroom. There were sensor lights in the kitchen and bathroom, which was a nice touch not having to search for a light switch. As you entered the room, the kitchen light would turn on. Need to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night? Viola! Light comes on as soon as you stepped into the bathroom. Loved it!!! The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was pretty good. Lot's of stores and restaurants nearby. The only draw back was walking out of my room right into a cloud of smoke from the neighbor, who chose to smoke right outside his door which was 2 steps away from mine. But like any place, you are going to encounter some issues. I would definitely stay again, but this time with my hubby!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    43
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
44
19
15
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

This hotel is an older one and not as updated as some of the others in this chain. It is however, conveniently located with easy access to shopping, dining etc. The hotel management was friendly and accommodating, free internet is available, the breakfast is adequate and typical of a residence inn and it was fairly quiet at night. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. This is a good hotel for families as they offer free breakfast and a light meal on Mon-Wed evenings.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Residence Inn is always dependable for families looking for reasonably-priced accommodation that has the service and the reliability associated with the Marriott brand. My family and relatives spent two nights here when my sister got married in early September. Our group booked 6 rooms and we experienced no problems from check-in to check-out. The advantage of this Residence Inn is that the rooms are actually town-house type villas that have a loft that serves as a second bedroom. There is another (master's) bedroom on the ground level as well as a kitchen and a living room. The breakfast consisted of the usual American fare - bagels, cereal, juices, pancakes, waffles, toasts = all on paper plates and plastic utensils. All in all, I would recommend this hotel for people going to Newport Beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011 via mobile

Our family stayed at the residence in late July and early august. Upon entering and checking the room we found the bathroom tubs not cleaned and littered with hair and the second floor loft not vacuumed and socks left under the bed and behind the curtains. The lady general manager did not express any concern and brushed aside our complaints as if the issues were standard complaints. Very poor management.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Having stayed at other Residence Inns, this was one of my favorites. The property is set up like townhomes. No common corridors, no smell of whatever the neighbor is cooking in the halls and if you're a smoker, your 'fix' is only outside your front door. I got a 2 bedroom, 2 floor "loft" unit with a fireplace and used it every day. (I was there for 10 weeks.)

On a funny note, during the 10th week, I lit a fire in the fireplace only to have the gatehouse call me stating the downstairs neighbor was complaining of the smokey smell. The desk clerk asked what I was burning and i replied, sacrastically, "wood". He then stated that I was only supposed to use Duraflame logs, or their equivalent. I laughed since I had just placed the last log of real wood on the fire. (You would have thought that the 1/4 cord of firewood I had delivered and stacked in the livingroom would have tipped them off earler!!)

The location was perfect. Close to everything; highways, shopping malls, beach etc.

The staff went out of their way to make me comfortable for such a long time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

If you need to be in the business area of Costa Mesa or near John Wanye airport, you might consider this location. The staff is very helpful. Beware of the upper floor of building 7..it is near the interstate and you will hear road noise all night. The staff was very cooperative in relocating me from building 7. This is an older design of Residence Inn, but well maintained. The bonus of staying at this location is the convenient resturants next to the property. The resturant area has a nice "community atmosphere" and not expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

we stayed here during a family vacation trip and were extremely disgusted by the condition of our room ; hair in tub, toilet not cleaned, previous guest left sock behind , mold on shower curtain. I even question whether the sheets were changed. This place should be reported health department and no person should have to pay for a room and possibly subject themselves to germs the previous guests have left all because housekeeping is nonexistant in this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach

Address: 881 West Baker Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Residence Inn
Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Costa Mesa Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.