We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spartan and Small...Hey, It's MOTEL 6!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Costa Mesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Costa Mesa to your Saves list
Motel 6 Costa Mesa
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1441 Gisler Avenue, I-405/San Diego Freeway at Harbor Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
North Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Spartan and Small...Hey, It's MOTEL 6!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We only needed a place to rest our tired heads so we booked here...Room is really tiny, jail like...But the bath area is large with new fixtures...Go figure...Nothing on the walls and the furniture lends itself to the feeling you are spending the night at IKEA...Bed was a queen, too small for large folks like us...I was up and down all night long...PLUS, I need to have several pillows to sleep well...ONE each here...Location is right by the freeway, so that was a plus...Looking for a MOTEL 6 experience, this place lives up to that...Need a room, book it here for just a place to sleep and...well, you know the drill...

Room Tip: Ask for downstairs...No elevators, just lots of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    7
    7
    5
See reviews for
8
7
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

a bed , sink , toilet, shower ! no fridge, micro one towel and poor pressure from sink / shower.super bright lights. crappy towels roaches in a dirty microwave in the room where u get ice from .weirdos outside. Police patrolling looking for crime action in the parking lot. hard beds.no dressers, or luggage space, tiny rooms. no place for kids . one person , one night and thats it. my room was clean but didnt feel like 79.99 $ worth. it wasclose to shopping / highway , thats good .i give it one starr. no free breakfast or wifi. no good. the travel lodge is the same price or less and you get all that they dont supply. never again !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! oh yea, the pools dirty and small.my 11 yr old son hated it. A Plus was the central a/c in our room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I stayed in this Motel 6 for a few days when I couldn't find vacancies closer to me. I could see why it was vacant when I came searching. The room was nice enough, but there was no fridge or microwave, and when I did eventually find the microwave, I discovered it had some unwelcome guests (I guess roaches CAN survive the nuclear holocaust, apparently, if they can survive 2 minutes in the microwave).

At least it was cheap (for Costa Mesa).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

As soon as you opened the door of the room it absolutely stunk of cigarette smoke, both my partner and I suffered from headaches and nausea whilst in the room, absolutely disgusting. The staff were nice, the price was reasonable for the room but the smell was unacceptable. Highly advise not taking children to this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

worst hotels i have ever stayed at they charge you $2.99 for WIFI but it goes in and out and most of the time its down and they will not refund it and if u want it fixed you have to call the internet provider to fix it there is drugs everywhere there and a bunch of black hookers and crack heads and the rooms smell like mildew and to top it off it the manager who is this tall ugly fat girl and she sees any weird activity going on she will call the cops but this was because i was 2 hourslate on paying for the room because i was at work!!! Cops came put me in handcuffs and tore up my room DON'T NOT STAY HERE TRUST ME!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: ALL ROOMS ARE DRUG ROOMS so pick one by the trah can
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This place was the bottom of the barrel. The had the worst customer service I have ever seen and made you feel like they were doing you a favor by staying there. We were so disgusted that we were checking into another hotel and because we were 30 minutes past the time to check out, they called the police to say we were trespassing. If I was a crack head like most of the people staying there, I would never stay again. Save yourself the trouble and just sleep in car or on the street, you will be treated better.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Our room was small, clean, well maintained and inexpensive, just what you expect from a Motel 6. We stayed there because we were travelling with our dog and Motel 6 allows pets. Their location is right by the 405 freeway and Harbor Blvd. making it central to that part of Orange County. Although the freeway was close by, we heard no traffic noise in our room, which faced the pool. There is a great selection of restaurants and fast food places nearby. Denny's and Burger King are next door, In 'N Out Burger is across the street on Harbor Blvd, there's an IHOP and Taco Bell down the street, and on and on. If you are looking for convenience and an inexpensive place to stay, this Motel 6 is a good choice,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Costa Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Costa Mesa

Address: 1441 Gisler Avenue, I-405/San Diego Freeway at Harbor Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Costa Mesa 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Costa Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
Motel Six Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Motel 6
Costa Mesa Motel Six
Motel 6 Costa Mesa CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Costa Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.