We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to write home about” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Costa Mesa

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Costa Mesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Costa Mesa
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1441 Gisler Avenue, I-405/San Diego Freeway at Harbor Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Think of this as camping with indoor plumbing (and even that was kind of questionable). Rooms are all non-smoking and all are equipped with ashtrays to tell you that---no wonder they all smell like smoke. No coffee makers or hair dryers—just your basic bed, dresser and small tv. This place works if you’re looking for a cheap place to stay and are not planning to spend much time in your room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
7
5
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days during the US Open of Surfing (huntington beach). The hotel is convenient enough to hop on 405 or side street to the beaches during traffic hours. A good option when you cant afford $200/night within a few blocks from the beach areas. Huntington beach was only 15-20min drive from the property.

Why Im giving this motel a 2star? because the rooms we reserved were NON-Smoking but despite of that, our rooms and bathrooms smelled like somebody was just there smoking! We asked to move to another non-smoking room but cigarette smell is there again. No, there's nothing wrong with my nose and i was with children that smelled the same thing. We have to deal with this smell for 4nights. The 2 star is for NOT cleaning the rooms properly and enforcing SMOKING policy.

This is NOT the first time we stayed at a motel 6 and this one is just below the "motel 6" standards (not other hotels) to give it a fair comparison.

Room Tip: pls check rooms and smell them before settling in. Even when the blower bathrooms are on, the smell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Never stayed in a Motel 6 before and this one didn't make me a fan. I understand that it is a budget motel but why on earth can they include refrigerators and microwaves but no coffee maker in the room? That wouldn't have been so bad but we were "late" getting to the coffee in the "lobby" -- and the front clerk chastised me for even asking about it (none available after 10 a.m.) I guess he was going to throw the remaining coffee out? I can handle budget. I can't handle rude. We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Orange County fairgrounds. It was close. But it wasn't the cleanest place and the rudeness was over the top.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, ask for a room off the back as the motel is right on the freeway access ro...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rialto, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed the night here before the Surf City Marathon. It was sufficient. Hot water, clean towels and a bed. No bells and whisles but we didn't pay for those.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts, usa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

This is a low budget hotel. I was in town for wedding, and needed a place close by to crash for one night. Definitely served this purpose. Plus, the staff allowed my to check-in at 12 noon due to my schedule. Free parking. Wifi is $2.95 for 24 hours.

I would not have stayed here with my family. Although the rooms were clean and affordable, it's a bit sketchy. Think strip mall next to the freeway. It was loud, a bit smoky although i was in a non-smoking room, and the walls are paper thin.

You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STORFORS
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Motel6 is always great but alittle noisy at weekends but I guess all cheaper motels are =)
Not walking distance to "action" though

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Clean,well managed motel. Enjoyed the two queen size beds instead of the typical doubles. Beds were firm which I like but wife doesn't. Everything worked properly - shower, TV, AC,etc. Front desk clerk offered to make me a fresh pot of coffee for me the evening we arrived.Free coffee every morn @ 7am is nice. Sink was outside of bathroom rather then inside bathroom ,like other M6's we stayed at. I saved a few dollars reserving over internet. $3 charge for internet in room - would like to get that free. I would definitely return to this motel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Costa Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Costa Mesa

Address: 1441 Gisler Avenue, I-405/San Diego Freeway at Harbor Blvd, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Costa Mesa 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Costa Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
Motel Six Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Motel Six
Costa Mesa Motel 6
Motel 6 Costa Mesa CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Costa Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.