We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Mesa Marriott Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Mesa Marriott Suites to your Saves list
Costa Mesa Marriott Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Anton Boulevard, Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend getaway from $119
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice but......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Pros: Very Clean, Friendly Staff, Great Location, Good Food, Airport Shuttle
Cons: FEE FOR WIRELESS INTERNET, pay to park, everything is a la cart

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in April of 2013. The hotel is located in Orange County very close to the John Wayne Airport. The room rate was $209 per night, Which included almost nothing.

I paid an additional $13 per 24 hours for Internet access, the second question I was asked after credit card and photo ID was DO YOU HAVE A CAR?, $21 per day for parking.

This is a great hotel with no vlaue. NO, I would not stay here again unless they provide free internet, free parking, and free breakfast....

Breakfast - $18, Parking $21, Internet $ 13 ...Room $209 plus tax...total cost for two day stay $521.....Really?

No a good value....

Room Tip: There are better value hotels in the OC, the Residence Inn in Costa Mesa 1.1 miles away if less with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    129
    36
    13
    4
See reviews for
60
52
19
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stay at Marriott almost exclusively and this property was average to their standards. The location is in mostly a business park area, not much to do close by. The rooms are suites but they are not very big, unfortunately. Upon arrival we were given a room that overlooked their service area (dumpsters), with the patio doors open we could smell it, so we immediately requested a room change. The next room had a great view of the pool and the man made lake next door but unfortunately we found someone's dirty sock in plain sight and several long, dark hairs in the bathroom. I notified the front desk the next morning but nothing was done to compensate for our less than expected stay. The pool area is decent although the pool itself definitely needed to be cleaned of the leaves and debris that had blown into it.
Overall just an ok stay, I don't think we would choose this property again though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great service! People are so friendly. The rooms are really comfortable and always clean and smelling good.
Breakfast us delicious.
Nice pool and a small , but good fitness center.
My room had a view to the pool and lake and it was beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel does not have the feel of a normal hotel located directly next to an airport. It has a much better feel than one of those hotels. Outdoor pool area is great and in a nice quiet area. Also close to the interstate but you can't hear it from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The property is definitely dated and expensive for what it is. That said, the service was typical of a well run Marriott and I slept well despite the old feeling of the property.

The Good:
-Nice, friendly and attentive staff
-Great free breakfast for Marriott Elite members
-Large rooms

The Bad:
-Dated property with a premium price
-Paid parking seemed unnecessary

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
648 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 589 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife, my son and I stayed for one night at Costa Mesa Marriott Suites on a weekend deal for free wi-fi and parking when the rate was quite affordable. We stayed in room 414, a suite with a view of Anton Blvd and the parking structure. The room was furnished with two very comfortable queen-sized beds and a study with a sofa and desk. The bathroom could be entered from both the study and the bedroom.

Pluses
• Excellent location, walking distance from South Coast Plaza and Segerstrom Hall performing arts center
• Very pleasing clean and neat rooms, nice lobby area, and access to the artificial lake
• Unusually friendly and helpful reception staff who were eager to please at every opportunity
• Lunch facilities in lobby. But we paid a convenience premium to eat in the hotel at 3 pm because the food (fish tacos, fish and chips, and pumpkin bread pudding) and service were good but not very good, and the price was comparatively high. There were other restaurants within walking distance. We ate brunch at the Silver Trumpet in the Wyndham which is a pleasant walk around the artificial lake next to the Marriott.
• They let us check out at 1 pm, and they would have allowed an even later check-out if we had needed it.
• We appreciated that the garage car park was free, and we enjoyed being able to use a trolley to move our bags to the car.

Minus
• Free wi-fi, but we had some newcomer problems: we had to call an IT man to the room in order to learn that we had to commit on-line to pay the wi-fi fee, which is automatically taken off when we pay the bill. Wi-fi was strong and reliable, but re-logging-in is a nuisance.
• The next morning, the maid ignored the “do not disturb” sign and knocked on our door at 9 am to see ask in a friendly way if we were checking out (she didn't need to ask us).

Despite the small minus points, we enjoyed our stay. We feel the Costa Mesa Marriott is a memorably lovely hotel and a very good deal, especially on weekends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was a fantastic hotel in my opinion. Its location was great. The staff was excellent. The rooms were large and comfortable. The restaurant was great. Good food at a good value,expecially the breakfast buffett. I look forward to another visit soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
0.1 mi away
Avenue of the Arts Wyndham Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin South Coast Plaza
The Westin South Coast Plaza
#5 of 23 in Costa Mesa
4.0 of 5 stars 642 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Mesa Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Mesa Marriott Suites

Address: 500 Anton Boulevard, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#7 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Mesa Marriott Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Costa Mesa Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Mesa Marriott Hotel Costa Mesa
Marriott Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Marriott Suites CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Mesa Marriott Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.