We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Costa Mesa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Mesa Marriott Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Costa Mesa Marriott Suites to your Saves list
Costa Mesa Marriott Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Anton Boulevard, Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Costa Mesa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We were looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay in Costa Mesa, CA and the Marriott Suites delivered that and more. The property is located in a nice area that seems very safe, even to walk during the evenings. The rooms are very clean and surprisingly quiet even though it is close to the freeway and to the airport. We were pleasantly surprised! The hotel staff are pleasant and helpful as well. We very much appreciated the front desk clerk and her help when checking in late on a Saturday night.
There are plenty of places within walking distance to eat and shopping is only a few blocks away.
I would give this property an excellent rating if it were not for the $21 per night charge to park our vehicle.

Room Tip: Ask about a lake view. They have nice balconies that overlook a small lake that makes for a nice pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    112
    30
    11
    2
See reviews for
50
43
16
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I stayed here with my family in Summertime as we were attending a wedding nearby in Newport Beach. We came all the way from Ireland. It was really nice and clean and the rooms were very spacious. It is in a very convenient location, within walking distance of South Coast Plaza shopping centre. However, in the day time it is simply too hot to walk the distance there. Overall the hotel is nicely decorated and the staff are friendly. There is a nice pool at the rear of the hotel. It was a bit expensive though, but i suppose you nearly get what you pay for.

Room Tip: The lift can take a while if you are on a very high floor, about level 10 is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

While the rooms are spacious and clean, they could use a little refresh and updating. The breakfast buffett is very good, but make sure to get coupons otherwise it will set you back $17.00. The hotel is within walking distance to South Coast Plaza which has a ton of shopping and dining options.

Room Tip: For a more scenic view ask to be over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

The hotel itself is very nice, we had our young son with us so the suite layout was ideal. We stayed here and traveled to Disneyland which was only about 15mins away. The staff were excellent as well.

BUT how can they justify $21 for self parking in what is basically a retail area surrounded by free parking, although interestingly the closest parking has a large CUSTOMERS ONLY - can't help but think the hotel have something to do with that sign themselves.

I have a pet-hate for hotels who impose rip-off surcharges on parking, and this is ridiculous. Disgusting.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I am a Platinum Premier at Marriott, have been at that level for 3 years. I have stayed all over the world (and this country). The location is very nice. And decor in the lobby is pretty updated and the staff is friendly.

I have stayed at Marriott Suites in other places, (Like Las Vegas). These are small, and they feel that way. The decor is aging and the shower head is a mister not a shower.

I checked in an was acknowledged as Marriott's most loyal customer and promptly given a room overlooking the trash cans and grease traps. Guess what? Trash pickup is 5 am. I did ask for a different room and was promptly told that they couldn't do it (I checked in on a Monday afternoon). I frowned and asked if that was even for a PP. To their credit, the desk manager did call about 4 hours later (without my request) with an offer but by then I was settled.

$21.00 a day for self-parking. Wow!
Elevators are slow, even with few guests.
Room Service menu is fair.

Just average, very very average. Good location and quiet if you are not over the trash cans.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed here for business close to ten years ago. First time back this past weekend. However, the rooms were still fresh and immaculate, including the bathroom grout and joint lines - which says much. Marriott met my expectations in every way: quietness of rooms, excellent friendly service, clean. I really don't have anything negative to say (except the $21.00 per night parking charge) - though here were some things which were notable and by individual could be positive or negative. To me, tehy were pretty neutral.

Suite configuration made for a bathroom with two doors - one in from the bedroom andone from the front room. Since there is a set of french doors and real wall (as opposed to some "suites:" which have half walls) separating the bedroom from the front room (and hallway) made for a limited clearance around the king bed and a real quite nighttime.

Placement of the main TV (there is a smaller one in the bedroom) is not in line with any seating. My son and I moved the sofebed to watch a movie. Sofabeds are relatively heavy.

The hotel was busy all weekend. The grarage was full and the front desk told me that they were "fully committed". Don't know if that is the same as full occupancy. Except for the garage being close to capacity, i really didn't get the sense that the hotel was full. Didn't hear slamming doors in the hall constantly or found the lobby packed. Had to wait maybe once of the elevator.

The oddest thing was that since my son was graduating SOI at Pendleton, we tried to get him and his buddy an extra room at the last minute and was told no at the front desk. However, a call the Marriott reservations got a room at AAA discounted rates, with the breakfast buffett included (which, btw was excellent). Very perplexing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

If you live within a comfortable drive of Costa Mesa and are looking for a no-beach, no-traffic, no-theme-park weekend, you might like using this Marriott as base camp for a weekend of walk-to shopping, dining, and live performances.

Expect a semi-urban experience. It's not like a large city hotel, where dozens of magnificent options are within a block, nor is it a resort, where all is luxe and pamper-y. It's a simple and economical in-between that supports a weekend nicely.
I agree with other reviewers about dated room décor and smallish bedrooms. But the living room is comfortable, and between the two rooms, there's ample space for a couple. Besides, you're not here to hang out in the room, you're here to shop, stroll, eat, and maybe take in a play or concert (more about that, below).

If you do want some down time between activities, the public areas, while not huge, are fresh and inviting. The pool and spa are well-maintained, and the whole patio area has a quasi-resort feel …nicely landscaped and situated on one end of a man-made pond. You might also check out the hotel bar. We usually avoid bars at small hotels that cater to business travelers - these bars are often deserted and a little depressing after the business crowd packs up at 3:00 on Friday. But this bar remains pretty lively over the weekend, with flight crews from nearby John Wayne Airport, local weekenders, and folks in town for a wedding making a mellow crowd.

As a base for a no-drive weekend, it's great. Check-in, park your car, forget it until it's time to go home (unless you are here for massive shopping). I read the complaints about the nightly parking fee (now $21). That's still about ten bucks less than you'll pay in LA, and you get to park your car your way. Don't cheap out and park in the nearby business lots...it's not a free ride if you get towed.

Depending on your mood, you can walk to the vast South Coast Plaza and the delightful Segerstrom Center for the Arts (four live theatre, music, and dance venues) either by following Anton Blvd or by winding your way through the mostly-green green belt that starts near the pond at the back of the hotel. The nice part about the greenbelt route is that it ends in a pedestrian bridge that lets you cross to South Coast without having to cross busy Bristol at street level. It's about a half mile from the hotel to the mall, with Segerstrom almost exactly at the mid-point.

If you do your research, you'll find a couple of other hotel options similarly situated on/near the greenbelt. But we've always found the best deals here, and are happy to be repeat visitors.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Mesa Marriott Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Mesa Marriott Suites

Address: 500 Anton Boulevard, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#8 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Mesa Marriott Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Costa Mesa Marriott Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Mesa Marriott Hotel Costa Mesa
Marriott Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Marriott Suites CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Mesa Marriott Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.