We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property has some issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1515 South Coast Dr, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1529   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Inverness, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Property has some issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

While not a complete disaster by any means, / I have seen worse/ this hotel is certainly only good for a short layover. The Positives, Very comfortable beds, staff is friendly, decent price, ideal location if you intend to drive on the 405 freeway northbound. Cannot comment on the breakfast offered as I never did use that service. Building is right next to a Hooters which is nice to have a bar/grill access. The negatives, my room had a lovely view of a parking lot and the 405 Freeway. While you can definitely hear the traffic outside. When in the room one can close the drapes and the A/C unit drowns out the traffic noise. Housekeeping is not proactive and absolutely has management challenges. Upon entering my room I had two remote controls in front of the TV neither of which neither worked to turn it on. Front desk sent a repair man /who was very pleasant and prompt/ to fix the situation. Very minor problem that proactive housekeeping could have detected and had corrected easily. Day 2 Took a shower in the tub/shower combo. Not a drop of water escaped down the drain and the drain plug actually was completely stuck in the closed position. Nothing like standing in dirty water. Another call to front desk had that rectified before I returned to my room. Same day I had a friend over for a visit and the maid seemed very nervous that we should leave the room while she cleaned. Distinctive vibe was being afraid of rape, totally awkward . The pool appeared unheated and located between 2 buildings that form an echo chamber of noise from the 405 freeway and ample shade nearly all day. Least inviting space in the hotel hands down. Lastly in room entertainment. Wifi is slow and hit or miss. While remotes are set are up for it, no movies, games etc. on demand. Just a very few channels on the TV which for the most part were not very interesting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    60
    59
    48
    36
See reviews for
78
41
37
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had to attend a family wedding in Newport Beach, I booked this particular LaQuinta Inn on Booking.com. the rate I paid for this LaQuinta.Inn. Well lets say thank God for Booking.com, I would never have paid a regular rate for this place if I had of known how unclean it was. Our bathroom, there was no way it had been clean, the floor and the tub. We rented two rooms and they were both the same, I was very disappointed I brought my family to this LaQuinta Inn. It sort of reminded us of a Motel 6, and I do not stay in Motels. I would never stay at a
LaQuinta Inn again. Breakfast was nothing to look forward to, save your money and add a little more to it and stay in a quality hotel. Hopefully you won't find bugs and dirt, sorry but this is exactly what I saw on our bathroom floor. To make all matters worst, my husband spotted another bug on the carpet near our TV desk. He could not believe I booked this place:(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spacious and clean rooms with the most comfortable mattresses I've ever slept on in a budget motel. Towels were contoured and thick. Rooms were evidently remodeled recently, and the outside of the place doesn't do the inside justice.

Breakfast was okay, but the staff were overly accommodating and helpful. There's even a Hooters next door if you're of that ilk. Upon checkout, I did hear an old chap complaining about the freeway noise, but if he'd read TripAdvisor, he'd have known to book a room on the back side.

Room Tip: Don't book a room on the freeway side of the motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The outside is meh, but the rooms were massive. Everything was clean, staff was friendly. Decent value but the grounds were very 70s motel, with exposed hall ways and damp, dank spots. Overall I'd stay again, but I've seen better three star hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Long story short, this is not a place you want to stay at. Details:
I booked a room with a king bed and paid $130 per night including tax. The hotel is located right next to a highway. The highway wall was 30 feet away from our room door, so it was noisy all day, all night. The staff at the check-in was not helpful at all. The room was very small, old and dark. The bed sheets had wholes in them (see attached pic), the table was old, scratched, and squeaky. The sink was rusty as well as the bath tub (see pics). The hairdryer was old and it was missing a part at the back (see pic), so my hair got into the hairdryer - not good. When we woke up in the morning, there was a big spider on the floor in the bathroom. Two hours later, there was another one there (see pics). Continental breakfast was more of a snack: bagels, yogurt (half-sized), bananas and apples, and some cookies. The pictures of the hotel provided on Expedia did not match what we've got at all!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, NV
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were very pleased overall with our stay. The hotel was older with the doors to the rooms all facing outside (no hallway entrances), however, that was a plus as far as coming and going. The rooms were very clean and recently remodled and quiet, we were on the freeway side. There were some loose towel racks in the bathroom and a missing hook on the bathroom door. Our only "real" disappointment was that they did not have the waffle irons at breakfast, only frozen waffles. The only restaurant directly next door is a Hooters and they had great food and chicken wings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport

Address: 1515 South Coast Dr, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1529
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, LaQuinta, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
La Quinta Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa La Quinta
La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport Costa Mesa, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.