We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the Plus Side, You Can Host a Dance Party in Your Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1515 South Coast Dr, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1529   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“On the Plus Side, You Can Host a Dance Party in Your Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The outside is meh, but the rooms were massive. Everything was clean, staff was friendly. Decent value but the grounds were very 70s motel, with exposed hall ways and damp, dank spots. Overall I'd stay again, but I've seen better three star hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    76
    82
    75
    71
See reviews for
120
53
42
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Long story short, this is not a place you want to stay at. Details:
I booked a room with a king bed and paid $130 per night including tax. The hotel is located right next to a highway. The highway wall was 30 feet away from our room door, so it was noisy all day, all night. The staff at the check-in was not helpful at all. The room was very small, old and dark. The bed sheets had wholes in them (see attached pic), the table was old, scratched, and squeaky. The sink was rusty as well as the bath tub (see pics). The hairdryer was old and it was missing a part at the back (see pic), so my hair got into the hairdryer - not good. When we woke up in the morning, there was a big spider on the floor in the bathroom. Two hours later, there was another one there (see pics). Continental breakfast was more of a snack: bagels, yogurt (half-sized), bananas and apples, and some cookies. The pictures of the hotel provided on Expedia did not match what we've got at all!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, NV
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were very pleased overall with our stay. The hotel was older with the doors to the rooms all facing outside (no hallway entrances), however, that was a plus as far as coming and going. The rooms were very clean and recently remodled and quiet, we were on the freeway side. There were some loose towel racks in the bathroom and a missing hook on the bathroom door. Our only "real" disappointment was that they did not have the waffle irons at breakfast, only frozen waffles. The only restaurant directly next door is a Hooters and they had great food and chicken wings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a great value for the price and an excellent location. The staff was helpful and friendly to all that I observed while in the lobby or at the front desk. Upon departure I made a reservation for my next 2 night stay..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
2.6 mi away
BLVD HOTEL
BLVD HOTEL
#12 of 23 in Costa Mesa
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County - Santa Ana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
2.9 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport

Address: 1515 South Coast Dr, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LaQuinta, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
La Quinta Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa La Quinta
La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport Costa Mesa, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.