We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dusty, smelly & noisy!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1515 South Coast Dr, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1529   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dusty, smelly & noisy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had a last minute change in travel and booked a night in LQ off the 405. Check in was a good indication of the lack of interest in the staff. The place was stinky and the landings and stairs are dirty and littered with trash. The whole place needs a good pressure washing! The room was really dusty and smelled like cat urine. When I complained I was informed sorry we cant move you we are full. So were the nearby properties so I bought some Ozium and sprayed the place went for a walk and it smelled cleaner. The bathroom vent was a joke and the bottom of the shower curtain was gross. I'll avoid it next time! On check out a small discount was made when I complained but I didnt get the sense there was going to be any change happening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    76
    81
    74
    70
See reviews for
118
53
42
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights from June 24-26th and the worst experience I have ever had at LQ. The toilet did not flush, the tub did not drain, the door got jammed and the outside of the hotel was dirty and unkept. Being a pet friendly hotel they did not keep the area clean and did not provide waste bags for the dogs. I will not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Meadows, Idaho
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is my second review of this property and I last wrote that it was a very tired property. So I was pleased to receive a flyer from LaQuinta saying this property had been renovated. We booked a stay of 5 days at a VERY good rate. The "renovation" is mostly cosmetic and includes new beds and a flat screen TV. New paint, curtains & carpet. Most of the rest of the furniture is the same. First we did not turn the TV on for several days and then when we did we discovered that it did not work. I was unable to connect to the wifi with my iPad. You could not latch the door to the bathroom and you could see daylight all around the front door, not to mention the lack of parking spaces. We arrived downstairs the first morning for their "Bright Side" breakfast only to find no place to sit and only 2 blueberry muffins and a couple of bagels left. No juice, fruit, yogurt, NADA. When we asked they put out some oranges and some toaster waffles. Needless to say we did not return for breakfast during our stay. On the other side of this they worked for a couple of hours and got the TV working. They put me in touch with tech support about my internet connection. After a couple of hours Chris was able to make a call and take care of the problem. In all fairness this property is 42 yrs old and must be a maintenance nightmare. I don't think they are through doing some of the things that need to be done and I also understand they are going to enlarge the breakfast area. The rates and the location can't be beat so if you can stand a little inconvenience by all means stay here as we have been doing for 30 years.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I needed a place to stay for one night so I chose LQ based on previous experiences with other LQs. It was also in a convenient location off of Harbor Blvd and the 405. The room was clean. The people at the front desk was nice and did their job. I had a 2nd floor corner room, closest to the freeway, but it wasn't too bad. The parking lot fills up so you might have to park in the Hooter's parking lot. There is a small pool in between the buildings that gets some sun for a short period in the afternoon and a "gym" (just a few machines in one of the rooms), which I couldn't use because someone locked the door from the inside.

I was a little surprised that someone came to clean my room before 10am (check out is noon). I did not have a do not disturb sign so I just asked her to come back later. She was very eager to get the housekeeping done. Not sure if that's normal there.

Breakfast was not good. The waffles were soggy. Better to stick with cereal or instant oatmeal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have stayed at lq's all over the county but when I explain to the front desk gal at 10:45 pm that I had to park in the next door restaurants parking lot because there was NO parking on the hotels property she said well your lucky you did not have to pay for parking. Well what a %^&*$.

I have never had to pay for parking at a lq and especially at a 2 star property like this one

I just noticed tonight that they had a security guard walking the grounds.

I sure hope there is no damage to my vehicle or it gets towed.

Here is my advise spend a couple dollars more and stay elsewhere

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here Friday night May 24th. Instead of driving straight to San Diego from San Jose we decided to stay the night. For the price we pay it is worth it. We ask for the room in the back to avoid the noise of the freeway. The room is fine to crash for the night. Bathroom is decent. The only issue the bed is so lumpy I did not get the sleep I wanted so i woke up feeling exhausted. Breakfast is so so nothing exciting to brag about. It's mainly an in and out stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Very friendly, great value, I would recommend this La Quinta Inn over all of the value hotels on the market at this time. I spend well over 40 nights a year on the road and this was the best experience.... will use them again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
2.6 mi away
BLVD HOTEL
BLVD HOTEL
#12 of 23 in Costa Mesa
3.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County - Santa Ana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
2.9 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport

Address: 1515 South Coast Dr, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
La Quinta Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa La Quinta
La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport Costa Mesa, CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.