We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1515 South Coast Dr, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1529   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Costa Mesa
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not very good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am a loyal customer of LQ inn.. this was not my best exprience. They gave me a room which had a wierd smell.. My guess is that sombody smoked in it and they tried hard to take the smell off, but they did no good job.

Besides from that, the rest was average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    54
    46
    36
    30
See reviews for
60
30
31
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

pros: clean rooms. good service. paid only $59 for a room. hooters located in the same property. very nice location.
cons: no shuttle to and from universal or disney. too close to freeway, can get a little noisy at night from traffic.
definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Had great hopes for this place. We booked a two-room suite for our week-long visit to the area but instead of being a pleasant place to stay, it was one disappointment after another. Our suite was one of two right over the lobby. Although the rooms were newly remodeled and somewhat clean, the bathroom was pretty gross, the fridge needed defrosting and half of the light were not working. Parking was also a hassle in the evening when Hooters guests occupied all parking space on the south side of the hotel. It was also hard to get to sleep with the noise coming from our hallway when other hotel guests would use the vending machines just outside our door. The free breakfast in the morning wasn't so bad though with plenty variety to eat, but it was hard to find a place to sit and I often had to take my food back to the room with me. When it comes down to it, although it was a good price, I will stay somewhere else next time I visit this area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I'd stayed at this hotel several years ago (as I tend to frequent La Quinta a lot), but I remembered it being a bit sub-par. Now that I've stayed here again recently, I recall the problem from before: the noise from I-405 (if you have a south-facing room) is constant and relentless. I tried to drown out the freeway noise with the heater-ac unit, but the unit in my room wouldn't produce any warmth, an in trying to adjust it to maximum heat, I noticed the adjustment knob device came all the way out of its fixture into my hand. Obviously, it was in need of repair. Nevertheless, the room was newly refurbished and the furniture was quite new. The shower head wasn't great, and the sink had no stopper devic in the drain. However, my AARP rate for the room was only $53 per night (while at any nearby La Quinta, such as Santa Ana or Buena Park, the cheapest room rate was closer to $80-$90). The breakfast was about average for a La Quinta, but the breakfast space is crowded, as it's quite small in relation to the large number of guest rooms. Would I stay here again? Probably, if I could be assured of a room on the north-facing side of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Live pretty close but going to concert nearby and can't beat $60 for a room.

Can only speak for myself, but they seem to have gotten their act together cleaning-wise. Room was great. Spotless. Even had signed card from maid, so it seems they've acted on the negative reviews here.

Basic yes, but had nice TV, free Internet, power port w/USB. Newly remodeled as well. A little shabby on the outside.

Very friendly staff at check-in.

As others have pointed out, get a room on the back side that faces away from freeway. Still get some noise from nearby street, but not that bad.

Totally worth the money.

Room Tip: Get room facing away from freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I called in to let them know I was checking in late. My room still wasn't ready by the time I arrived! They ended up putting me in a smoking room when I specifically said and requested NON SMOKING. Im deathly allergic to smoke. After hauling my bag up stairs and back down, I went back to get another room. I didn't know at the time but I was put in a room that WAS NOT CLEAN! I mean garbage, messy sheets, dirty towels... The only thing that went right was that they agreed to give me a full refund. I guess you get for what you pay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport

Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Hotel
La Quinta Inn Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
La Quinta Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa La Quinta
La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport Costa Mesa, CA
Address: 1515 South Coast Dr, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1529
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn John Wayne Orange County Airport to your Saves list