We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3131 S Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Top notch hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My company selected this hotel as our contract hotel for 2013 and I have spent probably 30-40 nights here this year already. The room and service are always excellent on all of my stays. This is indeed very impressive, considering I am here very often. This is definitely a well managed and maintained hotel. Kudos to the entire team!

The rooms are average in size and very modern and wonderfully decorated. They offer Keurig as their inroom coffee - truly a dream for those of us coffee lovers. Bath amenities are spa type and very high quality. They smell nice and even great for us guys. Products are moisturizing but not overly greasy or heavy. I always have great skin and hair days when I stay here.

Breakfast items stay relatively fixed - they chose to stay on point with the typical breakfast staples, but all the items are high quality and well prepared. Eggs are fluffy, bacon is crispy and fruits are always fresh. Orange juice taste freshly squeezed and coffee is the medium roast from Starbucks, brewed to perfection.

The only thing that occasional bothers me is the very loud window-mounted AC units. Because the bedding is luxurious and thick, you would have to run the AC during the hotter days. Most of the rooms have ACs that are relatively quiet (for window mount) but some rooms can have very loud units. OC has had a very mild-weathered year, so I only started to run AC all night recently.

Overall, a great and very well managed hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    114
    35
    14
    10
See reviews for
66
86
33
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My family planned to make the best of having our house tent fumigated by having a three day staycation. I called the Costa Mesa Crown Plaza, opposed to an internet reservation to ensure that they understood that we had a cat. When we arrived, I stayed in the car while my wife went in to check in where she was informed that they allowed dogs to 20 lbs, but not cats. Interestingly, while she was waiting to talk with the manager, a more valued customer, who was also having his house tented was allowed to bring his cat. This was discussed right in front of her! The best that can be said is that they credited our credit card for the stay. We took our business to the Fountain Valley Residence Inn where we were treated very well.
I will never again darken the threshold of InterContinental Hotels Group properties.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear jedswift,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to improve the service we provide.

Many IHG properties are franchised, independently owned and operated, in this case, we determine our own pet policy, often times in compliance with local ordinances. Our hotel allows dogs only and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you.

Your feedback is not only essential but is also a helpful tool to measure the level of service we extend to our guests and at the same time provides us with an opportunity to improve our standards. We are sorry for the troubles you had and do hope that this incident would not deter you from staying with us during your next visit.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was immediately impressed with this hotel. The hotel was very modern, it appears to be recently renovated. The location is excellent,convenient to freeways, South Coast, restaurants,SNA.The staff was very friendly and accomadating. The room was large and comfortable. The rate was very reasonable for the season and the area. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Good price, modern renovation. Pool was closed which is always a downer me seem to happen frequently to us, grrr!!! Sent us over tooth Hilton pool via van. Comfy bed, good pillows, fairly quiet other than a little road noise and some dudes dogs behind the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I attended a wedding in CA and stayed here. The property is very nice and the employees are exceptional...especially Ashley the bartender and Melia the security person. Everyone who works there was more than willing to help out however they could. I would stay here again and hope that I have the opportunity to do so!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

From the beginning our visit was outstanding. Grant at the front desk made sure we were well taken care of. He even helped my lost friends find their way when they got turned around. The entire staff was great. Our room was clean and the maid staff kept it that way all week. When we got back from my son's game I couldn't find the tv remote so they sent up a new one. We had a view of the pool (and some houses) but it was quiet. Parking was pretty good as well and being right off the freeway made it easy to get around. Great shopping and restaurants nearby. Don't forget to stop at the restaurant near the lobby. The wait staff made us feel right at home. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I loved my stay at this hotel. I was in Orange County twice and stayed there both times. Their staff is so polite and always happy, the rooms a great- very big and comfortable - and the hotel is very clean and well maintained. I really was comfortable here. This will be my sna go-to hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Address: 3131 S Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County offers convenience, comfort and impeccable services for all of our guests. Our newly designed guest rooms are carefully, crafted, thoughtfully decorated and offer a level of comfort that rivals fine hotels and resorts around the world. Our Restaurant and Lounge offers our guests creative interpretations of traditional cuisine with a touch of European style. Our outside Terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.