We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay. Great room, good bar, good service and awesome shower.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3131 S Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice stay. Great room, good bar, good service and awesome shower.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I will stay there again just for the rain shower, room service and the bar. Ashlee served me at the bar all 3 nights I was in town for work and she was great. My room was very clean, comfortable and had everything I needed. I love how easy it is to get to the hotel, lots of open free parking, free Internet and close to everything. Ill be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    114
    35
    14
    10
See reviews for
66
86
33
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SoCal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I often travel early out of SNA airport and prefer to stay nearby so I don't have to get up to drive an hour. I was thrilled to hear that the old, outdated Crowne Plaza shut down and moved to a new location. I initially thought I was going to be disappointed when I pulled up to the hotel, but the inside of the hotel is boutique style with more updates in progress. The staff is great at both the front desk and at the bar. The rooms are fantastic with completely updated bathrooms. After a little research, I discovered the CP bought this hotel from a private operator that were trying to make it a higher end boutique hotel. Most of the materials in the hotel are high quality, there are some painted finishes showing wear that need to be replaced (interior of elevator and top of the bar). The restaurant is comfortable and I am anxious to host a little party in the adjacent private dining room. The location is conveniently located on the opposite side of the highway from South Coast Plaza. The hotel has a shuttle to take you to all of the restaurants, we decided to take the 10 minute walk to enjoy dinner at the Plaza. It is nice to be able to have a couple drinks and not worry about driving a car. If you are a Priority Club member, they have special rates to earn bonus points towards future stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I absolutely adore this hotel! Phenomenal staff, excellent housekeeping, with a nice and modern flare. I have an upcoming reservation at the end of this month and was upset when I was going to stay at a different crowne plaza, but I rearranged my trip dates just so I can stay here! Lance has once again out-done himself at providing excellent service even when I called the hotel at 3AM at night! Fantastic!

This will be my 3rd time staying at this hotel and many more times to come.

This hotel definitely provides the high quality hotel, service, at a reasonable price!

P.S Their beds are sooooo comfortable!

Room Tip: When you can, choose the King bed rooms! They have better bathrooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Thanks to the staff Grant, Art, Ashley and special thanks to Chris for his Hospitality. I have stayed here many times and would recommend it to anyone needing a room in the area. When I'm hear again this is where ill will stay without question .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I am heading to the Hotel for Boot Camp CMD Training.This is a preliminary review. But what I can say is that when I called the Hotel for some specific requests (Yes I'm a "specific" traveler and hate flying and have specific needs). Grant at the front desk is great, he accommodated my requests and was helpful with transportation info and getting the extra fridge I need will need in my room. He was also helpful with getting me details for me getting to Disney on Friday to meet my family! Great job! Not even there yet, but looking forward to it! Grant being able to answer advanced local questions was great. True local. I am a former Los Angeles resident from Hollywood and Beverly Hills...Great Job!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel and service are great. The front desk was very polite and greeted you when you came in. The service at the bar and restaurant was fantastic and Ashley that was working the bar went out of her way to make sure you were taken care of with great service. The general Manager Charles went out of his way as well to make sure my stay was excremental and because of that service I will be coming back time and time again. The food for breakfast is better than you would get at a breakfast only dinner and I recommend it for anybody that stays at this hotel. They treat you like you are on vacation even know you are staying at the hotel just for work. The rooms are great too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a special place. Charles the GM deserves kudos for creating a great culture. At the bar a girl named Ashley provides very friendly service. You have to stay here and say hi to Ashley. She makes wonderful conversation

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Address: 3131 S Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County offers convenience, comfort and impeccable services for all of our guests. Our newly designed guest rooms are carefully, crafted, thoughtfully decorated and offer a level of comfort that rivals fine hotels and resorts around the world. Our Restaurant and Lounge offers our guests creative interpretations of traditional cuisine with a touch of European style. Our outside Terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.