We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, service and ammenties!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3131 S Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Bayshore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, service and ammenties!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The crowne plaza is centrally located to major highways. Close to shopping and Dining. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Rooms a are nicely appointed. Bed is reAlly comfortable and the pillows were awesome! Nice pool area and hot tub! Only ate breakfast at the restraunt twice but it was good both times. Loved the small "boutique" feeling of the hotel". Chris at the front desk was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Highly Reccomend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    115
    35
    14
    10
See reviews for
67
86
33
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I really like this hotel for many reasons. Most of all, the location is very convenient....just off the 405 (yet quiet), and very convenient to lots of restaurants and the South Coast Plaza mall about a 7-10 minute walk across the highway. I understand from my friends that folks like to stay here because it's very convenient to Disneyland, and the rates are far less expensive! I noticed that most people staying here were on business.

The rooms are decent size, are very nicely decorated, and the beds are very comfortable. I made sure I got a quiet room as I was worried that one facing the main road would keep me awake at nights. I got a room overlooking the pool and the residential neighborhood at the back so it was mostly very quiet.....except on occasion when the dog next door would start barking at 5am, but it wasn't too bad.

I got to try the gym and happy hour dining/lounge while I was here. The gym is relatively well equipped, but with machines and cardio only....no free weights. There is water and towels provided, and a TV to watch while you're on the treadmill. One can still get a decent workout here. I like that you can open the sliding door out to the ground floor garden level for some fresh air vs the ac.

The dining room was nice......has a section for the bar and lounging area with TV, and an outdoor patio style seating area. The servers were all very friendly and made sure we are taken care of. What's great about happy hour (4-7pm) was that wine, beer, and appetizers are 50% off!

Wifi was included and available in the rooms and public areas. If I had more free time I would have liked to sit by the nicely landscaped pool area that looked very nice from my room. There are cabanas and lots of chairs for laying around either the pool or separate jacuzzi nearby.....and it's never crowded. Just noticed a family dining by the pool this morning for breakfast....that looked like fun! I had the buffet breakfast in the mornings for convenience. It was ok. But there's always a MacDonald's right next door if that's more to your liking.

Overall a very good experience here at the CP. I would definitely stay here again....and thank goodness I found out last minute that this hotel was part of the Priority Club which I'm a member of and racked up more points from my stay! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I've stayed at the Crowne Plaza twice in the past year due to work conferences that I occasionally have to attend in the area. My job lets me request where I stay so the first time I stayed here, I just picked it based on the location, price, and pictures. I enjoyed my original stay so much that I requested to stay here again. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the lobby is just fancy. Both times that I have visited there was always ample parking and you can request a quieter part of the hotel if you'd like. My second visit, I did notice that from the 3rd floor on the pool side I could hear children screaming and just commotion from the pool area even after 9pm so if you have to go to bed early, then you might want to request to be on the non-pool side of the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the area. The furnishings and decor are sleek, modern, and up to date. The linens and pillows are soft and luxurious. It's just like how hotels should be!

My second stay here was over Mother's day 2013 weekend and I was currently pregnant with our first child so my husband faxed over a note for me and had them put a dessert in my room with flowers and they even wrote "Happy Mother's Day" in raspberry sauce on the plate. I thought that was very nice and accommodating.

Room Tip: You can always request a quieter floor, and to be on the side of the hotel without the pool if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Our organization used the Crowne Plaza for a conference. The facilities were just right for our meeting, and perfectly close to the airport.
I was served so graciously by the staff, and want to give kudos particularly to Frank, the man at the front desk who helped me with a problem I had, going above and beyond to make sure my need was met.
The only caveat I'd have is that shower supplies and glassware were not replenished in our room for our second day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed at the Crown Plaza as it was in close proximity to John Wayne Airport. I was pleasantly surprised by the in house restaurant, The Savoy. My check in went smoothly and I was comped for my IHG status with some bar vouchers and a parking voucher.

The room was very nice and on par with typical Crowne Plaza's.

I was on a business trip and the internet was quick and the staff very helpful with sending faxes and facilitating printing of some documents.

I really liked the experience at the Savoy. The staff at the bar was very friendly and made an excellent suggestion as the happy hour appetizers were half off. I had two of the seared tuna which was very good and the chef made up some fresh wasabi for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

What a clean and friendly hotel!
The location is near to the shopping mall and a lot of good restaurant.
The rate is excellent, too.
If you go Orange County, you need to stay at the CROWNE PLAZA, COSTA MESA.
YOU WILL LOVE IT.
Susie
North Hollywood, California

Room Tip: Pool view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was very impressed with the hotel, staff and overall cleanliness of the hotel. During a very busy OC marathon weekend, and a convention group, the hotel managed to keep an air of quiet calm.
Front desk staff were attentive and sweet, the breakfast buffet was quite good. Centrally located & a few minutes drive from South Coast Plaza Mall. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Address: 3131 S Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County offers convenience, comfort and impeccable services for all of our guests. Our newly designed guest rooms are carefully, crafted, thoughtfully decorated and offer a level of comfort that rivals fine hotels and resorts around the world. Our Restaurant and Lounge offers our guests creative interpretations of traditional cuisine with a touch of European style. Our outside Terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.