We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look good on the outside, but the inside still counts.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3131 S Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Look good on the outside, but the inside still counts.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I must say, I need to start writing good reviews also as I am only contributing to the negative banter on the internet. This hotel looks great, the staff seems to be quite friendly, the ambiance is enjoyable, and the gym is top notch. Why then would I write a negative review? Simply because there are no Holy Bibles bedside. Not only are they not available bedside, but when you call the front desk to ask for one, there are none in the whole building. It is sad when Bibles are provided and placed at no cost to a hotel, that a place that put this much time effort and money into making their guests comfortable forgot such an important item. One other thing to mention, the business center has two leased computers that require a credit card to use at a rate of 6.95/15 minutes. I am disappointed and will not stay here again. I will be providing my company this information as well and will make sure we no longer are placed in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Campman612,

Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your compliments of our hotel, however, we regret letting you down on some aspects of your stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    121
    38
    13
    12
See reviews for
71
90
33
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I spent one night at the Crowne Plaza in Costa Mesa, California, and found the room to be very clean, very comfortable and attractive. The bed was amazingly comfy, and I wonder what kind of mattress or topper was on it! My room had no tub, but an excellent shower instead. On the vanity was an electric makeup mirror with appropriate light settings and magnification on one side, a very nice touch!

The young people at the front desk were very sweet and helpful, and I am glad to write this review to let the traveling public know about this reasonable, excellent overnight stay in Costa Mesa, Ca.

This was a combination business-friends trip.

Natalie from Toronto

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We didn't take advantage of the amenities but found this hotel to be very quiet, comfortable, and with great service, which we did use. Good work space if you're traveling on business and very easy on/off the freeway.

Room Tip: We were at the end near the 405 and the room was very quiet so don't worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The front desk service from Kanna and Frank was unbelievable they both met my needs for a quiet room and were very gracious after a difficult day of traveling. I will keep coming back to this hotel. The shower is great and the amenities in the room fabulous for the value. Joe

Room Tip: Great people frank and karina
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had a wonderful stay with my sons baseball team from Doane college Nebraska last week. From Grant Haas at the front desk, Victoria Lewis in the office, Greg the courtesy shuttle van driver, the maid service, so many I can't remember all their names. I do know this that it all comes from leadership, Lori Puddester director of sales is a prime example of how she runs her hotel, is how I try and run my Supper Market in Fresno CA. Giving the customer the best shopping experience, with a clean business, and friendly caring employees, Thanks again for the wonderful stay
Doug Achelpohl

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I recently stayed four nights at the Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa. The well decorated room was extremely comfortable, with plenty of work space. The bathroom has a spa type atmosphere. Because of the outstanding customer service of both Jorge and Javier, I decided to take a moment to share my experience, as the high quality customer service they provided is a rare commodity today. When I asked about a late check out, I received an immediate positive response. I highly recommend Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have traveled extensively over the years and have stayed in many hotels so I feel that I am a good judge. I am a frequent guest at this particular hotel and love it. The staff is amazing. Grant and Frank at the front desk are a complete delight and always make me feel that I am their most important guest! I have to admit that they treat everyone that way which is even better! Javier who tends bar and serves is wonderful. I am a director of customer service for a company and often refer to the team here as a model of customer service. In addition to the staff, the rooms are very comfortable and the shower is the best ever! I highly recommend this hotel and want to say a big thank you to all of the wonderful staff!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nicely appointed and have great showers! The have recently replaced the a/c un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Address: 3131 S Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County offers convenience, comfort and impeccable services for all of our guests. Our newly designed guest rooms are carefully, crafted, thoughtfully decorated and offer a level of comfort that rivals fine hotels and resorts around the world. Our Restaurant and Lounge offers our guests creative interpretations of traditional cuisine with a touch of European style. Our outside Terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.