We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3131 S Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Evergreen, Colorado
2 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Greatest Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I recently visited Costa Mesa and stayed at the Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa
Jorge and Javier were so helpful and wonderful- they helped me so much after my luggage was lost from the airline- these guys were on top of it from the moment I entered the hotel. They should be commended for their outstanding service.
The hotel was great and very comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    112
    33
    13
    9
See reviews for
64
83
31
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I frequently stay at the Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa on business, and my needs are always accommodated by the very courteous staff. If I need to check in early or check out late, never a problem. Particular praise goes to Jorge, of the front desk staff, and to Javier as well. They made sure I had everything I needed and wanted when I checked in. Very pleasant and professional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Reading the previous reviews, I was torn whether to stay at the Crowne Plaza or the Westin...
I definitely made the right choice!!
This hotel is very modern, chic and elegant!
The lobby is beautiful, and the restaurant has a very classy ambiance.
Some had written about the hall ways needing a little updating and I agree.
The rooms are VERY nice and clean! I had an executive king suite and it was spacious! Beds very comfy, bathroom is excellent and again extremely clean!!
There's even great soaps, shampoo's and conditioners!
A little treat that I found so fun was a little sleep tight kit- soothing lotions and a spray that has essential oils to help you rest well... Love it!
Well done Crowne Plaza!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I recently had a wonderful stay at the newly remodeled Crown Plaza. The staff was extremely
friendly and attentive especially Jorge at the front desk. The rooms were very nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Both the pool and hot tub were heated which made for a nice experience on those chilly evenings. Also, the food was outstanding in their restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelerscubed
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here a week for business. Was given a room in the "Executive" wing. Nice and quiet! Entire room was very clean. The bed was really comfortable with lots of pillows to choose from. The room had a sofa bed as well. Nice not to always have to sit on the bed or in the desk chair. Bathroom was large enough with a super shower - one of those rain shower heads. There was also a hand held shower head, if you wanted to use that. Water drained well from the tub! (Nothing worse than standing in inches of dirty water.) They offered average amenities of shampoo, conditioner, hand cream, and soap.
I was surprised that the room did not have a little refrigerator. They do have them as an extra you can request for $10/day. They took this off my bill at the end for being an Ambassador member.
The front desk and all the staff were excellent - pleasant and efficient. The hotel is near a huge mall (South Coast Plaza) with lots of upscale designer stores. Name a designer and they are probably represented. There is a shuttle that will take/return you. Area is nice - I felt quite safe.

I ate the breakfast buffet daily. It was the usual eggs, bacon (really good!), potatoes, breads, etc... All was hot and fresh, just not much variety. I did eat in the restaurant for lunch and had room service twice. All meals were delivered as promised and hot or cold as the meal required.

The work out room was fine. I only used the treadmill. They provide towels, water, and TV. Did not use the pool.

I will definitely stay here again. I already have another reservation here in a few weeks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days on business. It has a nice location next to the mall for evening dinners and to just waste some time. The breakfast buffet was good, but I didn't eat any other meals there. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. It does have shuttle service to/from the SNA airport. Supposedly, the shuttle also runs to anywhere in Costa Mesa, but every time I asked they were too busy so I ended up taking a cab.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was on a business trip. Stayed there for a week. Got a surprise bottle of red wine and fruit plate when checked in the room. The King bed is very nice. The service crew were fantastic. A guy from front deck Grant is really good and very helpful. I would stay there again. Only improvement can make is to make different stuff for breakfast.

Room Tip: Room facing the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Address: 3131 S Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#7 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County offers convenience, comfort and impeccable services for all of our guests. Our newly designed guest rooms are carefully, crafted, thoughtfully decorated and offer a level of comfort that rivals fine hotels and resorts around the world. Our Restaurant and Lounge offers our guests creative interpretations of traditional cuisine with a touch of European style. Our outside Terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.