We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Again an Amazingly comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3131 S Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Plainfield, Indiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Again an Amazingly comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is my second visit and my second review for this hotel. I have had nothing but good things to say about this hotel. The staff is accommodating, warm & friendly, helpful and always with a smile. I called to the front desk a few times during my stay and they were always quick to get me the things that I needed including fulling an ice bucket and bringing it to my room. The GM even stopped to show us were the hot tub was on the first afternoon we were there. The hotel was clean and the housekeeping staff kept the hotel looking amazing. And the Keurig single cup coffee maker is a great touch with both tea and coffee selections. If you are have the chance, get into one of their king spa rooms. The shower and large enough for 2 (if two of you want to get into the shower together) with a wonderful rainwater shower head. You definately can not go wrong with the Hotel Hanford!

Room Tip: Definitely stay in one of the King Spa rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamHotelHanford, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thanks so much! We really appreciate your kind review! We are so glad you chose The Hotel Hanford again and then took the time to leave a second review of your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back for a third stay sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    114
    35
    14
    10
See reviews for
66
86
33
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

What a GREAT hotel! Dollar for dollar, you'll be hard pressed to find a better deal in Costa Mesa. The shuttle service was enormous to the pleasure of my two week stay with plenty of things to do in within a five mile radius (South Coast Plaza, Santa Ana art community, Irvine Spectrum) to name a few. Courteous, prompt attention to every detail and SO CLEAN! The restaurant is a jewel! DO eat here. I'm surprised the locals haven't caught on to this one yet....but I'm sure they will soon! The pool and hot tub area....super nice. The gym another great ammentiy. I came out solo to visit my daughter and midway through my oldest came out and joined us. The hotel staff welcomed all and made us feel right at home. Within walking distance I enjoyed a nail salon, massage therapy, shopping, dining and clean, safe streets. To every member of the staff I extend a sincere THANK YOU and to the owners, I salute you. I also felt very good in supporting a family run local business and not some big chain. I have stayed in a lot of hotels (Ritz Carlton Central Park South in New York being one). Dare I say I liked this one even more? It felt so comfortable and REAL! Stay here....I'm not kidding!

Room Tip: make sure to visit the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamHotelHanford, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
We cannot express how flattered we are by your review! Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind words on your stay at The Hotel Hanford! It’s exiting to hear that we were able to accommodate you and that you were able to takeadvantage of our central location in Orange County and complimentary shuttle service . Again, we appreciate your review, as well as your recommendation, and your kind words will be passed along to our senior management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Hotel Hanford was quiet, clean, & the people friendly and helpful. When we first checked in, our A/C unit was super loud. We called down and maintenance came-up within 5 minutes. As it turns out, the unit was unusually loud and they moved us to another room immediately. McDonalds is walking distance...right next door. Quick drive to Huntington Beach Pier, South Coast Plaza, & Mitsuwa Marketplace. The ventilation in the bathroom was on the weak side...we had to wipe down the mirror because it was dripping with water after taking a shower... but the location, price, & cleanliness made up for this minor inconvenience. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the freeway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamHotelHanford, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review of your experience. It is pleasing to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location to everything Orange County and that we were able to assist you in switching rooms upon arrival. We will look into your comment about the ventilation in the bathrooms and look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

This place is so nice that I almost didn't want to share it with anyone. Brian at the front desk is very professional and suggested great restaurants. Rooms are nicely decorated and clean. The pool was always deserted and quiet! The restaurant was really good as well. Located near the mall.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamHotelHanford, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
We are flattered by your kind review! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We will be sure to pass these comments along to both Brian and our senior management. Until next time! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here twice in the the span of a few months when they first rennivated and we loved it. This is a very nice and modern hotel. Rooms are kinda small but nice. Beds are super comfy! Hotel staff are very nice and helpful. Gym was not too shabby. Bar was nice but didn't bother eating at their restaurant cause of all the other delicious places nearby.

There is a McDonalds right next door and a mini Japanese Plaza and market about a block away. My husband and I walked to the market's food court to eat everyday of our stay.

West Coast Plaza is a two minute drive and a few miles in the other direction are more "mom and pop" Japanese restaurants (which I love!) Target and Little Saigon are nearby; a close drive.

Highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamHotelHanford, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thanks so much for the stellar review and recommendation! We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience and love hearing that you enjoyed both of your recent stays. It is our pleasure to provide amenities for our guests, such as the comfortable beds and gym, and we're glad to hear you took advantage of our central Orange County location! We look forward to hosting you and your husband again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Although this was a business trip, the service and amenities made it feel like a vacation. The facilities were impeccable and the service was personalized. They provided excellent room service. The salmon was cooked to perfection. Later they delivered a beautiful fruit tray and delicious water from Norway. The entire hotel was beautifully decorated with warm, soothing colors and contemporary, yet comfortable furnishings... The walk-in glass shower was to die for...with a rain shower head and your could visually see the temperature of the water as you adjusted it...no need to wait for it to warm up. The pool sported elegant cabanas and a very nice pool. They also provide a free shuttle in a five mile radius of the hotel. This not only includes the airport, but various shopping and entertainment venues. I would highly recommend this hotel to couples or families traveling.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you might want a room that does not face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamHotelHanford, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with such great details! Our hotel was recently remodeled by Martha Burke and we’re glad you enjoyed her work as much as we do. We are also glad to hear that although you traveled on business you were still able to enjoy the pool area and other amenities we offer our guests. It’s our goal to make every visit feel special regardless of the reason for the stay! We will be sure to pass along your compliments of the salmon to our Executive Chef David Fune as we’ve recently debuted his new menu and he appreciates all guest feedback. We hope to see you again the next time business or pleasure bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

My 15 year old daughter and I stayed two nights recently at this Hotel. She was doing a water polo tournament and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. It used to be a Holiday Inn but was taken over by Hanford hotels, everything is new. It was very stylishly decorated and very elegant. The bathroom shampoo and conditioner was terffic, as the rain shower head. My daugher was so tired from her games. I called the Savoy restaraunt and asked if I could order some dinner and pick it up to avoid room services charges, they said absolutely. The food very good. The internet connect on Sat. evening was overloaded, it can only accomodate 150, so we had trouble getting on the server with our PC, but somehow our ipad had no problem. The hotel was also sold out. Between the Hilton across the street and the Hanford, there were about 270 girls participating. The parking is free, and there was plenty of it. The wi-fi was also free. It had a coffee maker. Truly a very pleasant stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamHotelHanford, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide details of your stay at The Hotel Hanford. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our décor as our decorator, Martha Burke, worked very hard on this remodel. Along with the new look there was also a new menu released by Executive Chef David Fune, so we will be sure to pass along your stellar review of your meals. It’s wonderful to hear that you were able to take advantage of our amenities, such as free parking and wifi, and it was our pleasure to host you and your daughter during her tournament. We look forward to seeing you again for the next one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County

Address: 3131 S Bristol Street, Costa Mesa, CA 92626 (Formerly The Hotel Hanford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#6 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County offers convenience, comfort and impeccable services for all of our guests. Our newly designed guest rooms are carefully, crafted, thoughtfully decorated and offer a level of comfort that rivals fine hotels and resorts around the world. Our Restaurant and Lounge offers our guests creative interpretations of traditional cuisine with a touch of European style. Our outside Terrace is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.