We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean place, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2070 Newport Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92627   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean place, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent service and very clean, large and modern rooms. The beds were very comfortable too. Located on a very busy road, but close to all amenities. The pool around back is nice for a nighttime swim :) the staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
2
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I read the reviews before I booked and they were great. I have to say that the service was excellent. The lobby was very nice and even the rooms were nice with the exception of the small tear in the carpet between the sleeping area and the bathroom. However, I just couldn't get past the location. There is a trailer park right next to the hotel and a highway right across from it which I could hear traffic during the night and early morning. The parking lot was in the garage under the hotel and you couldn't get into the hotel lobby without walking around the hotel unless you had a room key. I checked in after dark, so I didn't care for that.
The lady at the front desk said the area was safe. When I travel, I like to be able to walk to get coffee or whatever and I just didn't feel comfortable doing that. There are very few chain hotels around the area and none within walking distance. Then of course there was the homeless guy holding a sign just a few blocks from the hotel by the freeway entrance.
I prefer the Holiday Inn on S. Grande. It is a little more expensive, but I like the area better.
There was one other issue. Since I didn't feel comfortable walking around and I was there for business, I had extra time in the morning. However, the internet access wasn't working and very slow when it was. It took me an hour to get it fixed after calling their tollfree technical support and having their system rebooted.

Room Tip: Avoid the side by the highway and the one that overlooks the trailer park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear 2CKGkids,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciate the service you received. We are sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations with our amenities. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

We've stayed at many Holiday Inn Express locations, and this one is by far the best. Great location near Newport Beach and reasonable prices - great breakfast and the whole place has been newly renovated. Everything is top notch.

The staff is the high point - Tyler and Cliff were just as nice and pleasant as could be and were very helpful in recommending restaurants, giving driving instructions, etc.

Do yourself a favor and stay here when you are in this Orange County area.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Beautiful completely updated Holiday Inn Express with super friendly staff, especially Tyler at front desk! Beautiful rooms, awesome location to the ocean, very nice pool area, exercise room, and breakfast was awesome! Definitely the best Holiday Inn Express I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: All rooms recently updated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Holiday Inn express hotels very rarely get the excellent touch, but this one deserves it. The hotel has recently been refurbished and has a small pool at the rear of the hotel.

There is ample parking including an underground parking lot, which was brilliant in the Californian heat. The reception area is ultra trendy and unlike any other Holiday Inn express hotel I know. We stayed for two days and at any hour reception staff always smiling and willing to help. We have a small problem without a conditioning unit and within minutes the man came with his bag of tools and fixed it.

The rooms are of a high standard, very comfortable beds. Rooms are spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. Room has coffee making facilities.

Breakfast is in a medium-size room. Although the room could be slightly larger, there was a full range of breakfast food available. Staff work hard in cleaning tables and removing empty plates. I would suggest that the room needs air conditioning, but nevertheless I still think this is an excellent hotel for a HiEx. We are platinum loyalty members and travel extensively. We know a good HiEx when we see one.

Although the hotel is situated on the highway, the highway is in a cutting at that point and therefore noise is minimal. There are no restaurants within walking distance, but there is a vast range of about five minutes by car going to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

I had a leak at my house and had to leave for a day while they worked on the plumbing. I booked a last minute reservation at this place as its close to my house. From the moment we walked in everyone was very friendly and attentive. The entire place was clean and the pool was a nice touch! I will definitely recommend this place whenever anyone needs to stay nearby!

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

I stayed for one night last weekend since I had to work an event at the fairgrounds. It was a last minute trip so paid a little more than I wanted to. BUT turned out to be worth it. The hotel has clearly been updated very recently - cute little trendy lobby. The room was bigger than most I have stayed in and the free breakfast was good. Parking was a little tight but there was room. But really the staff was what I remember most - everytime I came in contact with anyone they were so friendly. Just walking in the lobby and they always said a friendly hello. Had a nice conversation with Tyler while
I was checking in. It just feels like everyone enjoys their job and it came through.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa

Address: 2070 Newport Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa! You are at the heart of everything: beautiful beaches, the ultimate shopping experience, fine dining, entertainment and the arts. Getting here is to be fast and convenient too. We are only 2.5 Miles from the John Wayne International Airport, so you'll spend less time in traffic and more time in doing what you came to Costa Mesa to do. And there is easy access to the 405 and 55 Freeways. Whether you are coming to Costa Mesa/Newport Beach Area for business or just for fun your room at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa is your personal retreat. You will have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet access, business center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Have the ultimate shopping experience at the South Coast Plaza, dine at one of the many fine dining restaurants, feel the excitement with the weekend events at the OC Fair and Event Center or enjoy an evening at the Orange County Performing Arts Center. We're here, ready with all you need to make your trip to Costa Mesa a success. We're the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
Holiday Inn Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.