We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday Inn Express Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2070 Newport Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92627   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Best Holiday Inn Express Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed at many Holiday Inn Express locations, and this one is by far the best. Great location near Newport Beach and reasonable prices - great breakfast and the whole place has been newly renovated. Everything is top notch.

The staff is the high point - Tyler and Cliff were just as nice and pleasant as could be and were very helpful in recommending restaurants, giving driving instructions, etc.

Do yourself a favor and stay here when you are in this Orange County area.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
2
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful completely updated Holiday Inn Express with super friendly staff, especially Tyler at front desk! Beautiful rooms, awesome location to the ocean, very nice pool area, exercise room, and breakfast was awesome! Definitely the best Holiday Inn Express I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: All rooms recently updated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Holiday Inn express hotels very rarely get the excellent touch, but this one deserves it. The hotel has recently been refurbished and has a small pool at the rear of the hotel.

There is ample parking including an underground parking lot, which was brilliant in the Californian heat. The reception area is ultra trendy and unlike any other Holiday Inn express hotel I know. We stayed for two days and at any hour reception staff always smiling and willing to help. We have a small problem without a conditioning unit and within minutes the man came with his bag of tools and fixed it.

The rooms are of a high standard, very comfortable beds. Rooms are spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. Room has coffee making facilities.

Breakfast is in a medium-size room. Although the room could be slightly larger, there was a full range of breakfast food available. Staff work hard in cleaning tables and removing empty plates. I would suggest that the room needs air conditioning, but nevertheless I still think this is an excellent hotel for a HiEx. We are platinum loyalty members and travel extensively. We know a good HiEx when we see one.

Although the hotel is situated on the highway, the highway is in a cutting at that point and therefore noise is minimal. There are no restaurants within walking distance, but there is a vast range of about five minutes by car going to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I had a leak at my house and had to leave for a day while they worked on the plumbing. I booked a last minute reservation at this place as its close to my house. From the moment we walked in everyone was very friendly and attentive. The entire place was clean and the pool was a nice touch! I will definitely recommend this place whenever anyone needs to stay nearby!

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

I stayed for one night last weekend since I had to work an event at the fairgrounds. It was a last minute trip so paid a little more than I wanted to. BUT turned out to be worth it. The hotel has clearly been updated very recently - cute little trendy lobby. The room was bigger than most I have stayed in and the free breakfast was good. Parking was a little tight but there was room. But really the staff was what I remember most - everytime I came in contact with anyone they were so friendly. Just walking in the lobby and they always said a friendly hello. Had a nice conversation with Tyler while
I was checking in. It just feels like everyone enjoys their job and it came through.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and attentive service from check in to check out. The rooms are very well kept and very spacious. It was very convenient having a microwave and fridge in the room for my kids to store and heat snacks. I will definitely be staying here again!!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Clean rooms, good service all around, parking is never a pain and breakfast is good. My company always puts me up here, and the two times i was here, service and stay has been excellent. Value for money. Would give it 5 if they had any other unnecessary creature comforts, but a 4 star in my opinion is better than the average "good".

Room Tip: Neighbor hood is not that great. Grab supplies on the way before you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa

Address: 2070 Newport Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa! You are at the heart of everything: beautiful beaches, the ultimate shopping experience, fine dining, entertainment and the arts. Getting here is to be fast and convenient too. We are only 2.5 Miles from the John Wayne International Airport, so you'll spend less time in traffic and more time in doing what you came to Costa Mesa to do. And there is easy access to the 405 and 55 Freeways. Whether you are coming to Costa Mesa/Newport Beach Area for business or just for fun your room at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa is your personal retreat. You will have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high-speed Internet access, business center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. Have the ultimate shopping experience at the South Coast Plaza, dine at one of the many fine dining restaurants, feel the excitement with the weekend events at the OC Fair and Event Center or enjoy an evening at the Orange County Performing Arts Center. We're here, ready with all you need to make your trip to Costa Mesa a success. We're the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Costa Mesa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
Holiday Inn Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.