We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa to your Saves list
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3050 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50 Reasons to Stay
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Sacramento, United States
1 review
“Excellent Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn in Costa Mesa, CA is a wonderful hotel. Luxurious and high class - quiet and comfortable with all of the amenities of home. If you have the opportunity to stay on the Executive level, definitely take advantage - so helpful to be able to grab a quick snack or a cold drink or just to have somewhere to hang out besides your hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Karen G:

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa! On behalf of the entire staff, we are so happy to hear you enjoyed the Concierge Lounge with its high tech appointments, luxurious furnishings, and great food and beverage offerings. Our guests also love our 24 hour room service availability, the delicious California cuisine in the Bristol Palms restaurant and the full service lobby bar. And near our welcoming reception desk, the Starbucks kiosk is greatly enjoyed morning, noon, and night by guests.

Whether for business or for leisure, the Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa offers spacious accommodations and a long list of services. With its convenience to everything the area offers-shopping, beautiful beaches, John Wayne Orange County Airport, theatre, and the major centers in Costa Mesa, Newport Beach, Santa Ana, Tustin, Irvine, the Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa is Southern California's best choice for the discerning traveler!

Sincerely,

Rob A. Gauthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    194
    100
    27
    23
See reviews for
82
67
34
308
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I enjoyed my stay and would come back. Staff were helpful especially the shuttle drivers and the restaurant staff. Mall was a walking distance and lots of nice restaurants and shops. Friendly city -Costa Mesa

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear TripAdvisor Member:

On behalf of the staff, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa. It was our pleasure to be your host and we look forward to your return to enjoy more and more of what Southern California and the Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa offers travelers, whether for business or leisure!

Sincerely,

Rob A. Gauthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My experience could not have been any better. From check-in to check-out. The front desk clerk was SO helpful. I booked the room on Expedia and then realized I would miss out on my HHonors rewards, but the front desk clerk immediately asked me if I was an HHonors member and found me - the room rate was GREAT - the room was FANTASTIC (2 sinks!). I wish I could go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Paula P:

Thank you your comments; on behalf of all of us here at the Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa, it was a pleasure to be your host. We especially appreciate your remarks about our spacious, well appointed guest rooms. We're making special efforts to provide our guests with the best in amenities, services, and beautiful accommodations. Whether for business or for leisure, the Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa is the best choice in Southern California!

Sincerely,

Rob A. Gauthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Fine hotel in a good location. I'm not a Hilton fan. Recently stayed at the Hilton in Tyson's Corner which is next to their corporate headquarters building. While the facility there is about the same (though kept up much more nicely), the service and cleanliness was WAY better. I arrived at the Costa Mesa location to step into an elevator that smelled badly (somebody got sick, perhaps?). When arriving on my floor, there was an empty Starbucks cup and a candy wrapped in the elevator lobby. That trash stayed there until mid-day the next day! The room at the Costa Mesa was fine--clean but the faucet in the tub was pulling away from the wall. Workout room was fine but HOT and humid--no air circulation. The workout balls could have used a little air--they were pretty deflated. Hotel lacked in attention to the details.

Also, $21 to self-park every night? We were on a package deal so got a pass from this, but would not have been thrilled to pay this fee in this suburban location.

For me, the highlight was the proximity to the Asian market across Paularino. Cheap, yummy ramen and all kinds of Eastern and Western snacks. Also, sushi restaurant next door called Angotei was awesome. Small restaurant but lovely staff and delicious sushi. Loved chatting with the sushi chef.

Room Tip: Had a room facing the parking garage which was a little loud on a couple of nights and especially on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear SWUWHIT:

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments, though I was disappointed to hear we did not impress you as the best choice for service and accommodations in Costa Mesa. Allow me to personally apologize for your negative impression of the Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa.

On behalf of the staff, though we strive to exceed our guest's expectations of service, unfortunately in isolated situations we fall short. There is no excuse for the perception of the hotel being less than very clean and well maintained, as the hotel's reputation is known for. Your concerns are being addressed to insure prevention of any reoccurrence and once again, I sincerely apologize.

Regarding your comment about parking, like other metropolitan cities, in the Costa Mesa/Irvine/Newport areas, parking space is at a premium. Here at the Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa, charges for our self-parking facility are highly competitive as compared to area competitors; we are pleased to offer it's availability to our guests.

Once again, I am very sorry your impression in this incidence was negative, but hope you will return to allow us the opportunity to demonstrate our high standards of service and accommodations.


Best regards,

Rob

Rob Gauthier | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau Bay, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel was very clean, very comfortable, and had a nice amount of options for food inside and outside of the hotel. Many local retail shops and restaurants within easy walking distance, and a very convenient shuttle to the mall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Rachel F:

On behalf of the staff and myself, thank you for choosing the Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa. We appreciate your comments about our great location and transportation, with convenience to everything the area offers visitors to Southern California. Whether for business or pleasure, we're minutes from John Wayne Orange County Airport; the great shopping at South Coast Plaza Mall with over 250 boutiques and 30 dining establishments and nearby Fashion Island; plus a wide range of entertainment venues; the most beautiful beaches in Southern California and close proximity to the major centers from Irvine to Costa Mesa/Newport to Santa Ana and Tustin.

Thank you also for noticing our efforts to provide well appointed accommodations and services guests appreciate and look forward to experiencing including our newly redone spacious guest rooms, the Bristol Palms restaurant and lounge, 24 hour room service, as well as the inviting outdoor pool & spa and our fully equipped exercise facilities.

Thank you once again for staying at the Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa and look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Rob A. Gauthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Things to know: rooms are really nice, bed very comfortable. Exec lounge on concierge level serves a great breakfast, lots of choices. Sbux in lobby, plus a nice gift shop with everything you need, they nick you like 21 bucks to park, pretty standard. Compared to the Westin just down the street this hotel a really great value. Big, kind of old fashioned lobby, nothing worth noting. Gym pretty nice. Summary...clean, good rooms, great value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Murphysjsr:

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa. On behalf of the staff we are appreciative you noticed all the great additions and upgrades we've made and are continuing to make here at the Hilton. From our beautifully appointed, extra large guest rooms with balconies to the expansive breakfast buffet featuring delicious items like eggs cooked to order and Belgium waffles in the Bristol Palm restaurant, the Hilton strives to please our guests.

Our location is perfect for visitors to Southern California for business and for pleasure, with close proximity to all the area offers-shopping, entertainment, the major business centers with 5 miles, and the best beaches along the Newport coast.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa.

Sincerely,

Rob A. Gauthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Was here for one night for a one day workshop, room is spacious and clean, internet was included because of conference rate, however, was charged parking though the organizer told me that it's included in the rate. Overall, pretty good for the location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Cakewalk2011:

On behalf of the staff, thank you for being our recent guest at the Hilton Orange County/Costa Mesa. It's ashamed you were unable to stay longer and enjoy our close proximity to so much Southern California offers visitors. Within minutes of Orange County/John Wayne Airport, without being at the airport; just down the street from luxury shopping at South Coast Plaza and Fashion Island; convenience to all of the area's major business centers and entertainment; near the most beautiful beaches of Southern California.

We sincerely appreciate your acknowledgment of our new, spacious and beautifully appointed guest rooms.

Thank you once again for choosing the Hilton Orange County/Costa Mesa and come back soon.

Sincerely,

Rob A. Gauthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa

Address: 3050 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Orange County/Costa Mesa Hotel is located in the heart of the OC within walking distance to internationally acclaimed South Coast Plaza Shopping Center near beaches, arts, and other popular attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
Hilton Hotel Costa Mesa
Hilton Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Hilton
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.