We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“200 People Can't Be Wrong” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa to your Saves list
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3050 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50 Reasons to Stay
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“200 People Can't Be Wrong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Last week I visited this hotel for at least the fourth time in a ten year span, so I guess a review is past due. I am a meeting planner and was hosting a group which used up nearly 200 of the rooms in this hotel for a weekend. I found it remarkable that not one of the guests at our conference approached me with any complaints about the hotel. That does not mean there were NO complaints...just none that were brought to my attention. The hotel underwent a large renovation in the past 12 months and while I don't know all the details, I believe the carpet is new and very likely the other softgoods in the rooms. The most noticeable bragging point for the hotel, in my opinion is the quality of their food. I ate at Bristol Palms (lobby restaurant and bar) several times and found the food excellent and diverse at breakfast, lunch or dinner...and not unreasonably priced. My favorite selection of all the meals was the Turkey Burger. I can also say the same culinary team created our catered meals at the conference and that food was also delicious despite some very complicated dietary requests. Hilton is in a nice location, less than 10 minutes from SNA and really close to 405. However there is not much to do really close to the hotel. All the decent restaurants and shopping are at least a ten minute walk or farther. In summary, I think is hotel is excellent as a convenient meeting and conference venue because it is large, convenient to air and car travelers, and provides good predictable service.

Room Tip: I had a room on the second floor, but was given a key to access the Executive Lounge on the top floo...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Group_Hotel_Pro:

Thank you choosing the Hilton Orange County/Costa Mesa. It was a sincere pleasure to have you and your group with us. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated, especially pointing out some of the new changes we've made. We have many more surprises in store to elevate the hotel, as well as service here at the Hilton, and can't wait to show them to you.

Our location does offer a lot of convenience to travelers visiting to this area, whether for business or pleasure-close proximity to Orange County/John Wayne Airport, beautiful Southern California beaches, the major Orange County business centers, and just across the way, the enormous South Coast Plaza Mall with the best retail and speciality stores in the country, as well as fine dining and casual restaurants. And of course, we offer guest transportation to the entire area including restaurants, theatres, and other entertainment venues.

Thank you once again for allowing us to be your host.

Sincerely,

Rob A. Gauthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    192
    99
    25
    23
See reviews for
80
63
33
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The rooms are very comfy but - I'm not happy at this hotel. Service is negligible. They claim to have a restaurant and there is one - but not open. Instead, it is hit or miss service in the bar. Previously undisclosed $21 per night parking charge....as if anyone walks in OC. It would be more honest to include parking in the room charge so that you could make an informed choice. Although they claim to have free wi-fi, you can't have it unless you are an Honors Rewards member. You can't even get to the Honor's rewards site to sign up unless you are already a rewards member. Finally, even though I let the desk know I was unhappy on my prior stay with service/internet, I was given a "wonderful" room next to the elevator with a view of the filthy skylights. Way to turn around customer dissatisfaction.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Karen C:

I am very sorry your experience here at the Hilton Orange County/Costa Mesa did not meet your expectations. It is our goal to exceed the guest's expectations, not fall short; we are disappointed we failed.

The hotel does offer a great restaurant, the Bristol Palms with an extensive breakfast buffet and diverse menu, as well as many lunch offerings. During dinner hours, we extend our guests a popular menu in the adjacent lounge, because of numerous requests to do so. It is has been a strong success, but obviously you would have preferred the restaurant setting and we apologize. We also offer 24 hour room service as well as the Starbucks in our lobby.

In terms of parking, like most hotels in major populated areas, we charge a fee for parking but I assure you it is below many of our competitors.

Once again, I apologize for your less than perfect experience here at the Hilton Orange County/Costa Mesa, but sincerely hope you will give us another try. We have many new changes coming this year and look forward to presenting them to our future guests.

Sincerely,

Rob A. Gauthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had such a great experience with Betty as our server. She was attentive to our needs. We visit this Hilton twice a year and we are always greeted with a smile from Betty. The rooms were clean and the beds are very very comfortable. We plan on continuing our stay at this Hilton.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room with a view. Due to the proximity to the airport, very few rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Michele W.:

On behalf of the staff of our Palms Bistro restaurant and the entire hotel, thank you for kind comments. It is our pleasure to continue to be your first choice in Costa Mesa. Our convenience to a diversity of entertainment and business venues that are offered in the area including the airport, great shopping, all the major corporate centers of Southern California, as well as some of the prettiest beaches California is known for, are just a few of the reasons guests choose the Hilton Orange County-Costa Mesa as their preferred hotel.

We look forward to your return very soon and thank you once again!

Sincerely,

Rob Gauthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Best Bathroom Award would be well deserved, and room was very clean and well-maintained. Upper-level cleaning in the lobby will hopefully be addressed in the very near future, as will some maintenance issues (painting) in the decorative areas of the pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Traveler34104:
Thank you for your helpful critique and comments. On behalf of the staff, thank you for choosing the Hilton Orange County/Costa Mesa. We have been making numerous improvements to the overall hotel and some of your comments about specific areas are being upgraded, improved right now! Please come back and enjoy for your next trip to Orange County.

Once again, it was our pleasure to be your host.

Sincerely,

Rob Gauthier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As expected with a hilton... clean rooms and nice ambience. Hotel also had a nice bar and restaurant but we opted for nearby restaurant. Parking was expensive of course.

We went with another couple and had adjoining rooms which was nice as well.

There are two hiltons 5 miles apart so be careful to get the right one...they're both about the same though...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Brandon E:

Thank you for your great comments, on behalf of the staff, we're very appreciative. We continue to work hard to exceed our guests expectations and are continuing to make significant upgrades in all areas. As you enjoyed, our central location to so much offered in Southern California is a great asset, from the business centers of Orange County, to the best shopping in a five radius, convenience to the airport without being at the airport, and the beautiful beaches of Newport.

Once again, it was our pleasure to be your host.

Sincerely,

Rob Gauthier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Across the freeway from South Coast Plaza, had medium expectations for this hotel but was very pleasantly surprised. Plenty of parking, lobby very enjoyable and comfortable, and the rooms were very nicely appointed. I stopped short of a 5 all around as there was occasional airplane noise but that stops at 11:00 so I was more than happy with my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for kind remarks about the Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa. I will pass on your comments to our staff who continues to strive for excellence in each area. We look forward to your quick return and once again, thank you for choosing the Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa!

Sincerely,

Rob Gauthier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is everything you expect from a Hilton. A great location (at least for me), very friendly and knowledgeable staff. The room was modern and up to date. Valet parking was extremely efficient and friendly offering a better route to John Wayne Airport than I was using.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear RichardK:

It was our pleasure hosting your recent stay in Southern California. Thank you for your comments and for noting our staff's commitment to providing the highest level of guest service. As you mentioned, the Hilton Costa Mesa Orange County offers a terrific location, with close proximity to so much the area offers-shopping, business centers throughout Costa Mesa, Irvine, Santa Ana, and Newport as well as convenience to John Wayne Airport while not being at the airport.

Thank you once again for choosing the Hilton Costa Mesa Orange County.

Sincerely,

Rob A. Gauthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa

Address: 3050 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#4 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Orange County/Costa Mesa Hotel is located in the heart of the OC within walking distance to internationally acclaimed South Coast Plaza Shopping Center near beaches, arts, and other popular attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
Hilton Hotel Costa Mesa
Hilton Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Hilton
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.