We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent overall, lobby cleanliness needs work.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa

Save Saved
You added Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3050 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50 Reasons to Stay
Ranked #7 of 23 hotels in Costa Mesa
Naples, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Excellent overall, lobby cleanliness needs work.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Best Bathroom Award would be well deserved, and room was very clean and well-maintained. Upper-level cleaning in the lobby will hopefully be addressed in the very near future, as will some maintenance issues (painting) in the decorative areas of the pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Traveler34104:
Thank you for your helpful critique and comments. On behalf of the staff, thank you for choosing the Hilton Orange County/Costa Mesa. We have been making numerous improvements to the overall hotel and some of your comments about specific areas are being upgraded, improved right now! Please come back and enjoy for your next trip to Orange County.

Once again, it was our pleasure to be your host.

Sincerely,

Rob Gauthier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    159
    92
    24
    18
See reviews for
60
54
32
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As expected with a hilton... clean rooms and nice ambience. Hotel also had a nice bar and restaurant but we opted for nearby restaurant. Parking was expensive of course.

We went with another couple and had adjoining rooms which was nice as well.

There are two hiltons 5 miles apart so be careful to get the right one...they're both about the same though...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Brandon E:

Thank you for your great comments, on behalf of the staff, we're very appreciative. We continue to work hard to exceed our guests expectations and are continuing to make significant upgrades in all areas. As you enjoyed, our central location to so much offered in Southern California is a great asset, from the business centers of Orange County, to the best shopping in a five radius, convenience to the airport without being at the airport, and the beautiful beaches of Newport.

Once again, it was our pleasure to be your host.

Sincerely,

Rob Gauthier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Across the freeway from South Coast Plaza, had medium expectations for this hotel but was very pleasantly surprised. Plenty of parking, lobby very enjoyable and comfortable, and the rooms were very nicely appointed. I stopped short of a 5 all around as there was occasional airplane noise but that stops at 11:00 so I was more than happy with my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for kind remarks about the Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa. I will pass on your comments to our staff who continues to strive for excellence in each area. We look forward to your quick return and once again, thank you for choosing the Hilton Orange County Costa Mesa!

Sincerely,

Rob Gauthier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is everything you expect from a Hilton. A great location (at least for me), very friendly and knowledgeable staff. The room was modern and up to date. Valet parking was extremely efficient and friendly offering a better route to John Wayne Airport than I was using.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear RichardK:

It was our pleasure hosting your recent stay in Southern California. Thank you for your comments and for noting our staff's commitment to providing the highest level of guest service. As you mentioned, the Hilton Costa Mesa Orange County offers a terrific location, with close proximity to so much the area offers-shopping, business centers throughout Costa Mesa, Irvine, Santa Ana, and Newport as well as convenience to John Wayne Airport while not being at the airport.

Thank you once again for choosing the Hilton Costa Mesa Orange County.

Sincerely,

Rob A. Gauthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff by the Sea, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've stayed at a number of hotels in the Costa Mesa/Newport Beach area over the years, but this is where I'll stay from now on. Recently spent one night here and everything was perfect. The staff is friendly and professional and the recently renovated 7th floor room was beautiful. Most surprisingly, the food (dinner and breakfast) was excellent -- far exceeded our expectations, as often times hotel food is mediocre or worse. This hotel is ideally located for shopping, access to Orange County offices and John Wayne airport. Thank you to all of the hotel staff for such an enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room, upper floor, not near elevator and that's exactly what I got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear RightOnThe Corner:

As a seasoned traveler, your comments are especially appreciated. On behalf of the staff, thank you for noticing how hard we're working to provide not only well appointed accommodations with upscale amenities, but service that exceeds our guests' expectation. The Hilton Costa Mesa/Orange County is conveniently located near Orange County/John Wayne Airport, but not at the airport. We're walking distance of several entertainment venues, the wonderful shopping choices at South Coast Plaza, and within minutes of the major business centers in Costa Mesa, Irvine, and Santa Ana and down the street from some of the best beaches in Southern California.

Thank you once again for choosing the Hilton Costa Mesa/Orange County. We look forward to having you back soon!

Best regards,

Rob Gauthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night on a business trip. The price was very inviting for advance booking. I had to check in later than normal but that was not a problem... The hotel restaurant was still available for me to catch a bite before heading to my room. I actually had to remind my self that I was in the hotel and not in an elegant nite club in the city. The wait staff was very accommodating. The Valet employees were also accomodating. My room was very clean and well stocked with supplies. The bed was absolutely a dream to sleep in. I didn't have the greatest view because of the location of the room but since my stay was only for one night, I didn't mind not having a view. I was offered complimentary Wi-Fi service which I was very happy about.

Room Tip: Advance booking helps with getting a good room rate. If you desire a great view request a room above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear AVR41:

Thank you for your kind comments about the Hilton Costa Mesa/Orange County. On behalf of our staff, it was a pleasure being your host. The Hilton offers terrific convenience to major business centers throughout Orange County, as well as a multitude of shopping, entertainment venues, and the sandy beaches of Southern California.

The Hilton Costa Mesa/Orange County is completing its refresh and our new rooms, as well as other public areas, great pool and fully equipped health club are the reasons we're #1 with so many travelers. Also, 24 hour in-room dining, the Bristol Palms restaurant and lounge with the real brick pizza bar, and convenient lobby Starbucks provide our guests the options they enjoy. Once again, thank you for choosing us and we look forward to having you back soon.

Sincerely,

Rob Gauthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Once or twice a year I stay at the Hilton in Costa Mesa and did so on March 13, 2013. Even though I checked in a little after midnight, the staff was friendly and prompt. My room was ready and the bar was still open. The room was very clean and comfortable. The in-room coffee was very good, but I could have opted for the Starbucks in the lobby. Check out was swift and painless. Parking prices are very high, but that seems to be the new normal. The front drive is under construction so the entrance is not quite as convenient as usual. The hotel bar is an “in” place, and the hotel restaurant is very good. Overall a great stay very close to John Wayne Airport and central Orange County. Be sure to check the web site for an AAA or military discount.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob G, General Manager at Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Crewdog13:

Thank you for the great comments about the Hilton Costa Mesa/Orange County, especially the amenities offered throughout the hotel and the convenient location to so much in the area - Orange County/John Wayne Airport, a multitude of shopping options, entertainment, and the major business hubs in Orange County.

Our spacious upscale guest rooms have big comfortable beds, a 40 inch flat screen TV with a wide choice of viewing selections, gourmet coffee and teas and the Cuisinart coffee maker, and many rooms have balconies.

Besides 24 hour in-room dining, the lobby lounge is welcoming after a busy day and fresh, California menu selections, including our brick oven pizza, is far above the typical hotel fare in our dining room.

For travelers requiring parking, like many hotels located in high demand areas across the country we charge for parking. We have made every effort to minimize our fees, charging well below our competition.

Thank you once again for choosing the Hilton Costa Mesa/Orange County. We look forward to your return soon!

Sincerely,

Rob A. Gauthier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa

Address: 3050 Bristol St, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Orange County/Costa Mesa Hotel is located in the heart of the OC within walking distance to internationally acclaimed South Coast Plaza Shopping Center near beaches, arts, and other popular attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
Hilton Hotel Costa Mesa
Hilton Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Hilton
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa CA

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.