We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Costa Mesa-Newport Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Costa Mesa-Newport Beach to your Saves list
Days Inn Costa Mesa-Newport Beach
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Newport Boulevard, Costa Mesa, CA 92627   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Ontario, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quiet Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I stayed here one night for a local class held in Newport Beach. It's an average motel, so don't expect anything grandeur and please don't even attempt to compare it to a Holiday Inn because its not a hotel, its a motel as in Motel 6. The location is great, close to 55 Fwy, local shops and restaurants. The bathrooms and counter tops for the microwave / coffee pot area are updated with a nice faux marble. My bathroom, eating and desk areas appeared to be clean. There's a nice flat screen TV and free WiFi.

The lighting is not so well, very dim and I needed to turn on all lights in the room just to have sufficient lighting for reading. The bed was comfortable and sheets smelled and looked fresh; HOWEVER! the comforter and pillow shams on the bed were absolutely HIDEOUS. Very cheap quality as though they had been purchased from Walmart and washed 400 times. The bedding was in bad taste and I don't see how housekeeping would even have the audacity to place something in such condition on a bed. The carpet was filthy grimy, I was afraid to take off my shoes. When I showered, I got dressed standing on a towel in the bathroom; the carpet needs to be replaced and hardwood or laminate should be considered. I was in room 123, it was extremely quite and I got a good nights rest. However, the top lock was broken so there was no added security.

I'm glad I was only there for one night. The staff was nice, big smile, friendly personality and the continental breakfast was fine. Its not the Holiday Inn express hot breakfast but at least they offer coffee, juice, cereal and packaged danishes to go. I would stay again for one night if I really needed to, but again, this is a motel, a quick place to lay your head and shower. I would not consider it as a vacation spot.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    32
    21
    21
See reviews for
34
21
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We realize the was a budget motel for 1 night and weren't expecting a lot but a couple of things could have made the stay better. As soon as we got there we felt unseen bugs crawling on us and biting us. Probably dust mites which I know are everywhere but this was bad. Another issue was the carpet. Although it was vacuumed it was very dirty. When my wife walked on it in bare feet after showering, the bottoms of her feet were very dirty. I think fumigating and getting rid of the carpet will make the place better. For the price I didn't expect luxury but did expect cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed here as it was priced ok. Had three rooms. Beds were lumpy, sheets did not fit well and many had patchwork done to repair cuts and holes. Carpet needs to be cleaned as after you shower and walk to the bed your feet were black ( shampoo the carpets ). If these rooms were updated I don't see it. Pool area is small. A/C units under counter back of room and you have to get down on all fours to reach it. Outdated units, don't cool well.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This Days Inn is clean and just a short drive to the water in Newport Beach. Small selection breakfast offered every morning. The only real trouble is the free Wifi that is advertised does not work in the rooms. Low priced, great location for surfers and tourists visiting the Newport Beach Area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

overall the staff was great. they solved any problems that came up. breakfast could have had some fresh fruit. Location was perfect. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Clean rooms and the staff are friendly. Rooms are being updated and looking good. Quite area and very handy location. Close to just about everything in the LA OC area and just minuets from the beach. Nice pool. Rooms have refrigerator and microwave, and free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Costa Mesa-Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Costa Mesa-Newport Beach

Address: 2100 Newport Boulevard, Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Costa Mesa-Newport Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Costa Mesa-Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Costa Mesa-Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Days Inn
Days Inn Costa Mesa-Newport Beach CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Costa Mesa-Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.