We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value at Costa Mesa Best Western” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2642 Newport Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92627   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in Costa Mesa
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good value at Costa Mesa Best Western”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel. The price was very reasonable, the decor was clean and new, the room size was good with a little fridge and coffee, and the wireless internet was relatively fast. Hot breakfast was very good value. Aside from the location being a bit out of the way and tricky to get to, though in a safe area (not a problem with GPS, though) this is a very good place to stay for a family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    71
    23
    13
    7
See reviews for
70
54
14
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chino
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My mother and I were seeing Wicked at the Performing Arts Center and chose this hotel based on previous reviews. The location was perfect, just a couple of miles from the show, and right off the 55 fwy. The room was nicely appointed with a flat screen tv, desk, fridge, microwave, and updated decor. It was very quiet, and had inside corridors. The breakfast was a cut above most freebies with real scrambled eggs (as opposed to the flat medallions), sausage, toast, bagels, cereal, fruit, and not so great pastries. The staff was friendly and check in seamless. All in all a good value for the area at 89.00/night.

Room Tip: We had room 107 and it was just fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice and clean, we would definately stay here again for the "hotel" part again. Easy access parking, elevator very nice decor throughout lobby, public space and the rooms.
But we booked this hotel because we like to laze around on holidays in the morning, my son is not a morning person, he does not want to run for food before he is ready to and by this time his mom is ready for lunch............the "all-american breakfast" turned out to be cold "churzo eggs, some kind of a sausage pattie, and cold panfries. A cup of coffee was a battle for some as no cups either day (the attendant would rather explain to the poor lady looking for a cup of something "hot" how all the cups moved into the hotel rather than GET a CUP) were available?
In a food environment cleanliness and organization are a requirement for safe operations and happy clientele, this had neither.
If you are looking for a place to stay, quiet, clean, easy access to transportation routes, this will meet your needs very well, do not book it for the complimentary breakfast.........
Oh ya almost forgot, the cleaning ladies here are the most cheerie I have ever encountered, I do not think I have seen smiles so broad and cheerful.......
Happy travelling.........

Room Tip: Beautiful nights sleep..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We recently stayed here since I was having surgery at nearby Hoag Hospital and since we live far away chose this motel for our stay, and we were not disappointed. We stayed here 3 nights. The rooms are quiet, we had noisy neighbors one night, one call the front desk was all it took to quiet them down a little(certainly not the hotel's fault). Rooms are very clean and smell nice. Bedding was nice and fresh. Bathroom had granite countertops, shower was lined with granite, the bathroom was very nice. Room had a refrigerator with a nice extra countertop next to the bathroom door. We stayed in one of the third floor rooms, and they gave us a little basket of apples, water and granola bars. Bathrobes and slippers were a nice bonus. TV was large with many channels. I never made it down to breakfast, but the rest of my family did and they said it was average and changes a little every day. They were nice enough to make some scrambled eggs for me and allow my husband to bring them up to the room. Front desk staff is very nice. We checked out other hotels in the area and finally settled on this one and we are very glad we did, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the third floor rooms and they might upgrade you. Ask for a room on the west side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Last year we had business requiring a number of trips to the Newport Beach/Costa Mesa area. After trying other spots this became our favorite because of the value and service. As it turns out we found out some of our neighbors had to travel to the area frequently and they also became regulars at Newport Mesa Inn. It is very well maintained, the rooms are large and the access to area freeways is very good. If you can get rooms away from the front highway access it is quiet in the evenings. We had occasion to visit last week and as usual it was a very good experience and the breakfast has been improved. It is self service and you have some fresh hot dishes every day along with typical oatmeal, rolls and fruit.
If you are on a budget and want to stay in the area this is a place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying at this hotel during a business trip to Los Angeles/San Diego. We made a short term reservation, everthing worked out very well. Rooms a quite large and more important looked very proper. Hotel is offering complimentary water, small snacks and apples. Was very pleased about it.
As the hotel is located next to a highway it's not a quiet location.
Unfortunately breakfast in Francesca's cafe was very poor. Not only the cups have been not clean, the entire room looked e same. Selection of offered food is an absoute minimum as breakfast is very important for me to have a good star into the day. It's my second stay in a best western hotel, both times I made the same experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, Usa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Checked in for a two night stay, of which one night was to be on a free BW voucher.First night was great and we proceeded on to see family the next day.When we returned late the next evening we found ourselves locked out of the room.The front desk clerke which was the same guy that checked us in the night before, said we were only checked in for one night. He said we were suppose to check out and back in? He tried to make it seem as though it was somehow are fault.I am not a BW employee and if knowone tells us the procedure how would we know?? The guy was a jerk!! Had to re check in with cc info again and another hold on my card. Very dissappointed for a Platinum member.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn

Address: 2642 Newport Blvd., Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Costa Mesa
#2 Best Value Hotel in Costa Mesa
#5 Family Hotel in Costa Mesa
#7 Business Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Inn offers you a world of comfort in our stylish, meticulously maintained rooms. Our spacious rooms come with Deluxe King-sized Bed, Office desk and Reclining Chair. Two queen-size beds or with private Jacuzzi are also available. All rooms have HD TV with complimentary movie channels, Coffeemakers, ironing boards, hair dryers. Start the day with Complimentary Full-hot Breakfast. Stay connected with Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet Access throughout the hotel. Located between Irvine, Costa Mesa, Newport Beach. Across from Orange County Fairgrounds. Close to Irvine Business Centers, John Wayne Airport, South Coast Plaza Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Newport Mesa Hotel Costa Mesa
Best Western Costa Mesa
Costa Mesa Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.