We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cozy Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cozy Inn to your Saves list
Cozy Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   325 West Bay St, Costa Mesa, CA 92627   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel was a last minute decision. We checked in and the night manager was very courteous and polite. The tv wasn't working so he came up himself and fixed the cable box. The room was huge, nice new linens, and 52" flat screens. The only complaint I have is that I wanted to get another night the next day. The day staff is not very polite. They said which they were full. I understood but they were very rude about the 11am checkout which I already knew about. After the polite night manager said they were going to give us cash back for the deposit. The day crew said it has to go back on your debit card. If you go here check in later in the day and if you want to stay for more than one day make sure you do it all at once so you don't have to deal with the day shift.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
17
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Location is not near sea but at entrance of newport.
Convenient, if reaching in night, no traffic. Within 1 mile radius, there is club, mall, food, etc.
Rooms are big, two big beds.
Rooms are clean and neat.

Room Tip: For people, who are passing by and wants to stay for night, this is good place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I booked this place because one of our party saw it and said it looked good. WELL, she was 100% right. Great price, clean as a whistle, and the owners as friendly as ol dog Shep. Helped us with directions, gave us discount cards and told us about a great place to eat, which I will review later.
Overall, it was a bargain and it was perfect for our two night stay.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room and towards the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

There was no point in staying at a nicer hotel after finding this gem! Staff was great, room was clean and it was such a good deal we stayed an extra night. Unfortunately we checked out too early and thought we could get a better deal price wise at motel 6. Terrible idea, this place was night and day to motel 6 in Santa Ana, don't consider it and stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The rooms are larger than normal. I don't recall an elevator, so lugging the suitcase to the second story maybe an issue for some people. It's not too far off a main roadway, yet I don't recall it being noisy. It had the basics, which was I knew what I was paying for. Nothing exciting, but nothing bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We decided to stay here for two nights because the price was ok and ratings were above average. I agree about the huge rooms - twice normal. Fittings were average, not the cleanest and used. Some stains on carpet. But overall acceptable. The free WiFi works but although it seemed slow it was good enough for email. As we made the booking the search engine (not this one) claimed that they were almost full, but I don't think that was right as on both nights there was plenty of room! Location near Newport Beach and Balboa was great so we spent some time there as there's not really a great deal to do in the area. It is in a quiet street. We have stayed at better motels for less and am tempted to give 2 stars, but that would be unfair as I wouldn't discourage anyone from staying if they need a cheap place here.

Room Tip: Ask for back building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a nice clean hotel with a big room in costa mesa right outside of Newport beach. Reasonably priced . Perfect short drive to the beach and attractions. Room was nice. It had a very small swimming pool. Bed was comfortable and bathroom good. Large TV but had cable problems when I was there. This is a good budget alternative that felt very clean and safe to the large chains and some of the lower end stuff in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa Mesa
1.0 mi away
BLVD HOTEL
BLVD HOTEL
#12 of 23 in Costa Mesa
3.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Costa Mesa
1.1 mi away
Ramada Costa Mesa/Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Newport Mesa Inn
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozy Inn

Address: 325 West Bay St, Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cozy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cozy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozy Hotel Costa Mesa
Cozy Inn Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cozy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.