We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cozy Inn

Save Saved
You added Cozy Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cozy Inn
325 West Bay St, Costa Mesa, CA 92627   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Costa Mesa
Breckenridge, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cozy Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am in Costa Mesa quite often to visit my son.The Cozy was a very nice surprise.A bit older but very clean , good size rooms , quiet , great location and a nice price. Owners were also very friendly JWM

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
12
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

For a one night stay this was a good choice. The facility is old in appearance, but makes up for that with a spacious room, clean bathroom, and efficient check-in process. I can tell that motel is investing in the facility, but can improve more by opting for lighter shades of bed sheets and carpet. There are new appliances in the room, and the motel itself is minutes away from restaurants. I could have given it 5 stars, but will wait for them to upgrade the rooms. However, I will not hesitate to stay there again. Overall, it was a good find through tripadvisor's reviews.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We only stayed here over night while we were waiting to catch a flight out of the Santa Ana airport. The owners were hospitable when we arrived late and the check-in was flawless. We got to our king sized room which was rather large. I don't know if they have role away beds, but you could easily fit one in here. The room was clean, but had an ant problem in the bathroom. This is a motel, so everything inside was low quality. The bed was the hardest bed I have ever slept on so if you like hard beds, this is for you. The motel was quiet other than the guests above us who moved around a lot all hours of the night. The location was fine, right off of the 55. It was 10 min. to the beach and to the airport. I personally couldn't sleep here again because for me, the bed was way too hard. Otherwise I would.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I've stayed at the Cozy Inn several times over the years, most recently in early June. I have to say that - for the price and location - it really can't be beat! The property is a little bit outdated, but generally well-maintained, and the rooms are large and clean with extra amenities including microwave and refrigerator. The pool is small, but totally sufficient. The motel certainly has more charm than a Motel 6 or something else in a comparable price range, and is 10 minute drive from Newport Beach. It's also on a quiet street, and feels fairly secure - unlike some motels on Beach Blvd or Newport Blvd.

I found the proprietors to be very friendly and helpful, and overall I think the Cozy Inn is a great option if you are budget-conscious and want to be near the beach. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We just spent a couple of nights at the Cozy Inn. Not bad for a budget motel! It is an older motel property so the rooms are large...or larger than at most newer motel properties. The room featured a mini fridge, a micro wave, a good sized flat screen TV and a reasonably comfortable bed. The bathroom was on the small side, and...being in a budget motel, don't expect luxurious towels, shampoo and similar extras. No breakfast was offered. There is a coffee maker in the room, but the brand of coffee didn't look all that "hot".

The room including the bathroom and carpeting was clean, and the walls had a fairly fresh coat of paint. Parking is free, and there is a small (mini) pool right in the middle of the parking lot...a somewhat strange location for a pool...!! Zero privacy.

The location is just off the 55 freeway on a reasonably quiet side street. You can't get much closer to Newport Beach and the ocean without having to pay much higher rates. You are within easy walking distance of the Costa Mesa Courtyards, a shopping center with a number of restaurants, stores and a movie theater.

There are certainly more upscale, and more expensive, motels and hotels in the area, but...considering the price, we would stay at the Cozy Inn again!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I have stayed here several times over the past years but have found this place to be going downhill lately. My last stay, 2/04/2012 was so disappointing that I will not stay there again. The bathroom had small towels, no soap, shampoo, etc., nice bathtub but no plug to take a bath. Water had to run a long time to get hot and only one kleenex left in the box. Panic set in when I found the blowdryer to be broken! Wanted to leave a note but had nothing to write with. As a business traveler, I will be staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Dont stay in room 30
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

My husband and brother in law were booked to stay here during the Orange County fair as they were working the during the whole month of the OC fair 2011. The company they were working for booked the room, so it was not their choice to stay here in the first place.

To start, the owner, I believe, her name is Nida and a man whom I believe was her husband were very rude. When asked any questions regarding their stay, she was very short with them and non customer service oriented. I actually stayed a few nights there as well as I was working the fair also. The beds were very hard and the the carpet was filthy. It is definitely a one star hotel. The pool is small and very uninviting.

If you go against my advice and decide to stay here, please make sure to bring your own towels. They provide very small, and very abrasive cheap, cheap towels for you to use. They also have a strange odor. Seeing as though they were there for the month, they brought a George Foreman grill in order to make dinner in the evenings. My husband used one of their cheap crappy washcloths to put underneath the grill. Apparently grease from the chicken got onto the washcloth, which could not have cost more than 25 cents. He threw the towels down underneath the sink with the other used towels and the maid apparently decided to make the greasy washcloth into a big deal. Nida, the owner, came and rudely told my husband that he better not ruin anymore of her (crappy) towels. If anything, she could have requested that the washcloth, which already needed to replaced anyways, be paid for. However, instead, knowing that everyone from the company was working the fair all day, she or someone she sent, went into my husbands room and removed the showerhead from the shower. Ridiculous!!! She then proceeded to blame them for the removal of the showerhead and charged them for a new one!!!! I still cannot believe that she did that! Not only was the showerhead a old crappy showerhead that no one would want, but they did not have the tools nor the time or reason to remove the showerhead. Of course there was absolutely no way to prove that they did not take the showerhead, so they were ultimately responsible for the cost. My husband confronted her about the incident and she rudely continued to accuse him of taking the showerhead. This was the most unprofessional way to deal with her damaged washcloth. This incident happened the very day after she confronted my husband about the washcloth. He would have gladly paid for the cheap washcloth, but a showerhead that he did not take or damage? I strongly recommend staying away from this place, not only due to their rudeness and unprofessionalism, but also because the place is dirty, has horrible towels, and the bed is very difficult to sleep on. The only good thing I can say about the place is that it is cheap and close to the fair.

Room Tip: Go stay on the otherside of the 57 at the Holiday Inn Express, we stayed there last year and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cozy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozy Inn

Address: 325 West Bay St, Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cozy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cozy Hotel Costa Mesa
Cozy Inn Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cozy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.