We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Little Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maggiano's Little Italy

Maggiano's Little Italy
3333 Bristol St, Ste 6759, Costa Mesa, CA 92626-1859
714-546-9555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Maggiano's Little Italy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 395 Restaurants in Costa Mesa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Altadena, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Taste of Little Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We recently had the opportunity to dine at this fine restaurant and were not disappointed. The Food and Service was Outstanding. Everyone enjoyed their selections and the setting. I would recommend Maggiano's Little Italy for Special Occasions as well as an opportunity to get away for a few hours and enjoy a great meal. if you have a chance be sure to visit Magiano's.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    85
    35
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great food - service was poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Ate here Saturday, Nov 9. Made reservations for 7:30 p.m. and were seated not too long after that. We had eaten at Maggiano's on Post Oak in Houston while on vacation and had a wonderful time - good food and great service. Saturday night we had the good food but service was poor. Our server seemed to be covering too many tables. We asked for a couple of minutes more to look over the menu and she didn't return for 10-12 minutes. She said she was busy delivering a special cake for another table. I wonder, did she have to plate the cake or what? To pick up a cake from the kitchen and bring it to the table should take 5 minutes. Meanwhile, we sat (without bread) completely ignored. I finally stopped a bus person and asked for bread which he was kind enough to bring immediately. We received no apologies from Kelsey, just the comment about the special cake. I suspect since we were a couple she knew our order and tip wouldn't be as large as the other group and we didn't deserve any more attention.
I recommend Maggiano's Salad ($11.95) which we split. My friend had Salmon Oscar ($25.50) which was delicious. I had one of the Flatbreads ($9.50) also good. We were amazed at the difference in the two restaurants. This Maggiano's was loud, servers didn't try to be quiet, and bus boys were not quiet in clearing or re-setting tables. This Maggiano's didn't have the elegance we felt in Houston.
Also, the lobby area is congested. At first, we couldn't see where to check in because of the people waiting to be seated and those people from the bar standing (because there was nowhere to sit) watching the TVs.
The food is great but don't eat here if you are looking for outstanding service or up-scale ambiance. I agree with the reviewer who said the restaurant has the feel of an Italian kitchen. We found it loud and noisy with a peculiar smell that was off-putting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

A group of us went here for a birthday lunch. The staff was very nice at surprising the birthday girl with us! The food here is great but we did have some issues with getting our order correct...the service was a little slow but food was worth the wait time. The restaurant was nicely lite and decor very inviting. Over all we did have a nice time and will go back again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Nice Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was my 1st time coming to the restaurant -- the ambiance is very nice once you walk in, but towards the back (where the main eating area is) you start to feel like you're in an italian kitchen. The waitstaff was very attentive; always checking to see if we needed anything. The food? Divine. This goes without saying. They give nice portions for the amount you spend, so you won't be disappointed. I gave this 4 starts only because the it does tend to get very crowded (even during lunch time), so make sure you plan accordingly or make reservations.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had a great dinner here.. Perfect for date night..without breaking the bank..Will come here again...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maggiano's Little Italy also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Been to Maggiano's Little Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maggiano's Little Italy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.