We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian done right at Ciao Deli.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao! Deli & Pizzeria

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ciao! Deli & Pizzeria
891 W. Baker St., A-18, Costa Mesa, CA 92626
714-979-8669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 427 Restaurants in Costa Mesa
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: Ciao! Deli & Pizzeria is the quintessential mom-n-pop, with homemade recipies, great service, and a fun atmosphere. Stop by for dine-in or take out. We also offer free delivery within 3 miles and a $20 minimum.
Restaurant details
Description: Ciao! Deli & Pizzeria is the quintessential mom-n-pop, with homemade recipies, great service, and a fun atmosphere. Stop by for dine-in or take out. We also offer free delivery within 3 miles and a $20 minimum.
Woodside, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Italian done right at Ciao Deli.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

There is an East Coast attitude here...the service is brisk and the attitude is too. But, if you love Italian Food that comes from San Francisco this is your place. A mere 14 seats but food that is done just right. Locals love it and now we do too. Pizza is great but the sandwiches are the real find here....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“I want more!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We were in the area and hungry for pizza. I love Trip advisor because this is how I found Ciao! The place is small but has character. Owners are a husband and wife who were both friendly and made us feel welcome.

The pizza!! I love trying Pizza while away from home and this place is why. This is one of the best in 20 years of traveling. We had the XL Chicago Italian Beef. The suggestion is to add pepperoni. Do it!! It was incredible. Spicy, fresh, crispy, and so flavorful. 2 of us ate the entire thing. No box required!! See ya next time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Real Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were not sure where to find a place to eat as we were from out of town and thought we would try this place. So glad we did. It's in a little strip mall but don't let that scare you. We had a great server and everyone working there wanted to make sure we enjoyed our food. I had Penne with meat sauce $8.95, and it was so good. Someone else had Baked Ziti and another pizza. We all enjoyed our food and the portions were generous. Don't expect a fancy restaurant, just really good food and service. THANKS!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saronno, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great pizza, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I stay in Costa Mesa for long periods of time for business reasons. I stay at the Marriott residence which is 30 feet from the Ciao!. When I get back from the office and I'm really tired I know I can count on Ray and his wife to bring one of the best pizzas around. I come from Italy and even though this is not the traditional italian pizza, I enjoy it so much that I come here at least once for every trip I take.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best meatballs in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We walk here and enjoy the quaint atmosphere, and great Italian food

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao! Deli & Pizzeria also viewed

Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 
Costa Mesa, Orange County
Costa Mesa, Orange County
 

Been to Ciao! Deli & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao! Deli & Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.