We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful performance venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orange County Performing Arts Center

Orange County Performing Arts Center
600 Town Center Drive at Bristol, Costa Mesa, CA
714-556-2787 ext. 833
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 attractions in Costa Mesa
Type: Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the region's premier performance venues.
San Clemente, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful performance venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I've been to see several performances at the OC Performing Arts Center and also at the adjacent Segerstrom Center for the Arts. I love both. There isn't a bad seat in the OC Performing Arts Center. Parking is convenient and easy. You can park for free across the street in South Coast Plaza and also grab a meal/snack before/after the performance there. The acoustics in the Segerstrom Center for the arts are amazing. Love the Pacific Symphony conducted by Carl St. Clair. Season tickets are an especially good buy. I have season tickets to the 3 p.m. Sunday performances. Mr. St. Clair does an interview with the performer before the show, and then takes audience questions with the performer after the show. I saw Andre Watts there in September and it was so great to get to know more about this amazing pianist. There are also great family programs.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    15
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“watched Exit Stage Left”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Funny play and great for kids and adults. Loved the energy displayed by the whole cast. The theatre was extremely nice and clean in all areas.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Woods, CA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An exciting venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have had season symphony tickets to the Segerstrom for approximately 5 years. Each time we visit I am impressed with the architecture and the acoustics. I understand that there are tours available of the facility and definitely plan to take one. This weekend we saw Andre Watts in concert with the Pacific Symphony performing Strauss (Jonathan and Richard) and Brahms. While these are old standard classics the performance was lively and entertaining -- just watching Watts on the piano is fun and there was a definite energy shared with Carl St Clair.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“See A Show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

OCPAC is a great place to take in a show. The concert hall has great acoustics, though the seating is a bit uncomfortable. The Opera House is better, but with the demise of the LA Opera, you're just going to see special events there. The theatre is a great place to see a play. Plenty of parking and eating nearby.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for shows and concerts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just saw American Idiot and loved it. I like going here for plays and concerts. Make sure you check out the smaller Samueli Theater where they do jazz and smaller club shows. Really good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orange County Performing Arts Center also viewed

Anaheim, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Orange County Performing Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orange County Performing Arts Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Orange County Performing Arts Center to your Saves list