We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one-nighter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Newport Beach

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Newport Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Newport Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2274 Newport Blvd, Highway 55, Exit #3, Costa Mesa, CA 92627   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Costa Mesa
Pasadena, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great one-nighter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We needed a place to stay for a friends birthday bash in Newport Beach. The price couldn't be beat for the location and quality of this motel. Close enough the the bars... Our Uber ride was only $12 to get to Baja Sharkeez. The modern bright decor and "wood" floors is a nice change from the usual drab, icky, gag-inducing comforters and carpet of most motels. I had no idea that the rooms had a mini fridge with a microwave (plus a snack machine around the way). What a nice surprise! They only have enough parking space for 1 car per room (especially when fully booked) but additional cars can park literally around the corner. No parking restrictions. The staff was very pleasant upon check-in and also kind when they had to tell us to quiet down at 3:00 am (so sorry!). This place is great if you're looking for a decent place to stay in the Newport/Costa Mesa area. Just be aware that this may be a popular place for a crash pad for partiers like me and my friends. When I pulled up I saw another group pre-gaming in their room as well. Like other reviewers said, ask for a "quiet room." ;)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    53
    28
    7
    7
See reviews for
18
45
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

This is the budget travellers option and for the $60 USD we paid it was well worth it. We had a great welcome for the front reception and were even given a free car park for our stay ($60 value). Free tea and coffee in the morning and central to the freeway if you have a car. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Had to go to a convention in Irvine, this was close and much cheaper than the convention hotel. Easy check in, easy parking, clean, very large room. Microwave and fridge. Plan to go to same convention next year and will stay at this location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and was satisfied with our room for the price we paid. Easy access right next to freeway which sound wise was not a problem for us at all. The hallway could have been cleaned a little better but the room was clean. Daughter was a little concerned about "sketchy" area but once in room was comfortable. The front desk was very nice and when we requested an extra pillow gave us one immediately. Did not use the pool because by time we returned from our activities it was closed. Front desk informed me on check in it closed at 9:30. They do not have any breakfast items but I'm ok about that for price. Plenty of places in area to eat. Could have used a couple more towels but not a deal breaker. For only $60 this was a deal with such a close proximity to the beach areas.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

A no frills budget friendly one nighter for when you are on the road. Don't expect much of a welcome from the manager or if you are from overseas to be able to pay with a travel card. Rooms are fine, basic but adequate. Not really anymore you can say.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

A friend & I stayed in room 120 from 4/30-5/6/14 at a cost of $421. Pros: Clean spacious rooms with 2 double beds, good closet size, good size fridge, no noise, no nasty carpets as it has wood floors, felt safe at this location, close to freeway, 24 donut shop next door.. Cons: there are no dressers to put your clothes in, the SHARP TV was horrible as all shows looked like bad bootleg movies, towels were limited and were VERY small and rough to the skin, toilet didnt flush so good, Wifi was not very consistent. rooms do not have hair dryers but the front desk will loan you one if you bring it right back (we kept ours all week), parking can be challenging if you get in late, you will have to park further away and walk to room, the printer in the lobby was not working during the entire wee of our visit.

Overall: it was a good deal for the price paid, especially if you aren't really spending much time in the room. I was impressed by the decent size of the room and the size of the fridge. Housekeeping did a good job and cleaning the room during our stay. The neighborhood looks a little sketchy but had no problems, especially walking over to the 24 donut shop in the middle of the night! I would return to this Motel 6 in the future. Good deal and worth the price!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Motel 6 allowed easy access to Newport beach and local amenities. The friendly and knowledgable staff member behind the desk gave us advice on where to go eat and we got a free room upgrade. The room was sizeable and clean - got a decent nights sleep and enjoyed the free morning coffee; refreshed ready to hit the beach.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport Beach

Address: 2274 Newport Blvd, Highway 55, Exit #3, Costa Mesa, CA 92627
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Costa Mesa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Costa Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport Beach 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in June 2009 with a modern, European boutique-style flair , modern guestroom design that features bright accent colors. The room includes ambient lighting, wood-effect flooring rather than carpet, and a 32-inch flat-screen TV. The flat screen TV is displayed on the entertainment unit which conceals the door-less wardrobe behind it, thus combining two needs into one unit. Also included on the entertainment unit is a cubby for personal items and a multi-media panel allowing guests to plug in their mp3 players, CD players and laptop computers – this feature allows guests to listen to their favorite tunes or use the flat-screen TV as their computer monitor while enjoying Wi-Fi internet access in their room. The room also features pedestal beds with a new taupe-colored coverlet and pillow-top platform mattress. Guests will also notice the clean style and the upscale touch of the colored bed scarf that matches the accent wall color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Motel 6 Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Newport Beach Hotel Costa Mesa
Motel 6 Newport Beach Costa Mesa, CA - Orange County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Newport Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.